Skip to main content

Australian Taxation Law: Journals, Reports & News

Reports

Reports and other publications by the following government and professional organisations can be useful for your research. 

  • Board of Taxation publications (open access) - the Board of Taxation is an advisory body that assists the Commonwealth government in the development and implementation of taxation laws. 
  • Tax Institute Resources - most of these publications require payment, unless you are a member or subscriber. The Tax Institute is a professional association.
  • Australian Tax Research Foundation Publications - most of these publications require payment, unless you are a member or subscriber. The Foundation is an independent not-for-profit organisation which researches tax reform at the Federal, State and Local Government level. 

Law Firm Publications

Open access publications by Australian law firms specialising in tax law can be useful - they are usually concise, up to date and practical. Such firms include:

To search tax publications by all Australian law firms, use Fie Fie Foe Firm Australia (open access).

Australian Tax News

NEWS PUBLICATIONS

The following news resources include information on the latest cases, legislation, ATO rulings etc.

Checkpoint (UniMelb staff & student access) publishes regular (usually weekly) news updates on various tax topics. These are listed to the right in this box.

Australian Tax Week (CCH) (UniMelb staff & student access) 

ALERTS

The Australian Taxation Office (open access) offers news RSS feeds on a variety of topics.

In Checkpoint (UniMelb staff & student access) alerts can be set up so that you are notified by  RSS feed when a new update is released. Alerts can be set up for the publications listed to the right in this box. 

In CCH (UniMelb staff & student access) you cannot set up alerts for individual publications such as Australian Tax Week. Only topic alerts can be set up, and are delivered by email. These topics are: 

  • Australian FBT 
  • Australian GST 
  • Australian Superannuation 
  • Australian Duties & State Taxes 
  • Australian Income Tax 
  • Australian International Tax 
  • Australian Tax Alert 

For assistance with setting up alerts, contact one of our reference librarians at law-library@unimelb.edu.au

Journals & Journal Articles

JOURNAL ARTICLE DATABASES

We recommend using the following legal, business and tax databases to find scholarly journal articles on Australian tax law, irrespective of the journals in which they are published. These databases include articles from hundreds of  journals, and are an efficient and comprehensive way to find articles on your topic.

AUSTRALIAN JOURNAL ARTICLE DATABASES

MULTIJURISDICTIONAL JOURNAL ARTICLE DATABASES

The following databases provide access to articles in hundreds of  tax and tax related journals. They include many articles on Australian tax law. 

  • The Accounting, Tax & Banking Collection (on the Proquest Complete platform) contains articles from scholarly and professional journals. Coverage:1971 to current. (UniMelb staff & student access)

  • Business Source Complete (on the EBSCO platform) includes indexing and abstracts for over 1300 scholarly business journals. Coverage: 1886 to current. (UniMelb staff & student access)

  • The IBFD Tax Research Platform provides an extensive index to tax journal literature. Some articles are available in full text. The IBFD Library has the the largest collection of international tax publications in the world. (UniMelb staff & student access)

  • Index to Legal Periodicals (on the EBSCO platform) (UniMelb staff & student access) 

    • note that ILP can be searched simultaneously with Business Source Complete

  • Legal Journals Index on Westlaw UK  (UniMelb staff & student access)

  • Legaltrac  (UniMelb staff & student access)

  • SSRN - includes the Accounting Research Network and the Legal Scholarship Network - global coverage. This is the best database for finding very recent pre-publication articles and book chapters (open access).

INDIVIDUAL AUSTRALIAN TAX JOURNALS include the following: