Film and Television

This database contains over 20,000 videos from the world’s most prominent filmmakers and production houses. Specially curated collections cover a wide range educational disciplines including literacy, mathematics, history and issues in society. Kanopy offers a large range of Australian content and videos can be searched using the library catalogue.

A video streaming service of over 50,000 programs from free-to-air (NITV, SBS, SBS World Movies, SBS Viceland, ABC) and pay TV channels (Premiere, Fox Classics, Fox Showcase, BBC First, National Geographic, BBC World News, CNN) in Australia. Coverage commences with 2006 and includes over 20,000 TV and documentary clips and over 5000 films.

This library contains digital movies uploaded by Archive users which range from classic full-length films, to daily alternative news broadcasts, to cartoons and concerts.

Open Culture brings together high-quality cultural & educational media for the worldwide lifelong learning community.

Large educational resource of avant-garde material in the fields of visual, concrete and sound poetry. It also includes film and sound archives.

Sourced from the British Film Institute (BFI), Socialism on Film documents the communist world, from the Russian Revolution to the end of the Cold War. This unique collection of documentary films, features and newsreels reveals all aspects of life behind the Iron Curtain, as seen by filmmakers from the USSR, Vietnam, Cuba, China, East Germany, Eastern Europe and more. The footage was originally sourced from communist states, then versioned into English language for private distribution in Britain and the West. The films have been conserved, digitised from the original 16mm and 35mm reels, and are fully transcribed and searchable.

The nation’s living archive – collecting, preserving and sharing our rich audiovisual heritage. Includes an indigenous collection.

This search tool provides experimental access to what used to be ACMI’s lending collection. It contains roughly 38,000 items dating back to the 1890s across a wide range of styles – feature films, shorts, documentaries, student works, instructional and experimental films.