Australian Indigenous Arts

Kanopy offers more than 26,000 films globally and provides access to film collections including:
The CAAMA Anthropology Collection
The Australian Institute of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Studies Ethnographic Collection
Australian National Film & Sound Archive Special Collection
Australian Biography Complete Collection
The Dreaming Series

A video streaming service of over 50,000 programs from free-to-air (NITV, SBS, SBS World Movies, SBS Viceland, ABC) and pay TV channels (Premiere, Fox Classics, Fox Showcase, BBC First, National Geographic, BBC World News, CNN) in Australia. Coverage commences with 2006 and includes over 20,000 TV and documentary clips and over 5000 films.

First Australians chronicles the birth of contemporary Australia as never told before, from the perspective of its first people. First Australians explores what unfolds when the oldest living culture in the world is overrun by the world's greatest empire.
Over seven episodes, First Australians depicts the true stories of individuals - both black and white - caught in an epic drama of friendship, revenge, loss and victory in Australia's most transformative period of history.
The story begins in 1788 in Sydney, with the friendship between an Englishmen (Governor Phillip) and a warrior (Bennelong) and ends in 1993 with Koiki Mabo's legal challenge to the foundation of Australia. First Australians chronicles the collision of two worlds and the genesis of a new nation.

Utopia is an epic production by the Emmy and Bafta winning film-maker and journalist John Pilger. Utopia is a vast region in northern Australia and home to the oldest human presence on earth. 'This film is a journey into that secret country,' says John Pilger in Utopia. 'It will describe not only the uniqueness of the first Australians, but their trail of tears and betrayal and resistance - from one utopia to another'. Utopia is both a personal journey and universal story of power and resistance and how modern societies can be divided between those who conform and a dystopian world of those who do not. Utopia draws on people and places Pilger filmed 28 years ago during his long association with the indigenous people of his homeland. The evidence he produces is often deeply moving and shocking.

A series which shows the diversity and uniqueness of Australian flora and fauna. This program focuses on the development of our seas and marine life from Gondwanaland to today.

The nation’s living archive – collecting, preserving and sharing our rich audiovisual heritage. Includes an indigenous collection.

This search tool provides experimental access to what used to be ACMI’s lending collection. It contains roughly 38,000 items dating back to the 1890s across a wide range of styles – feature films, shorts, documentaries, student works, instructional and experimental films.

Founded by Luke Pearson in 2012, @IndigenousX now provides "an opportunity for 52 other Indigenous people per year to share their knowledge, opinions and experiences with a wide audience of interested tweeps".

INFOKOORI is an index to the Koori Mail, a national fortnightly newspaper published in Lismore, NSW, that focuses on the Indigenous people of Australia, from May 1991 to date. It is also an index to biographical information from various magazines including: Our Aim (1907–1961), Dawn (1952–1969), New Dawn (1970–1975) and Identity (1971–1982).

This service provided by the National Library of Australia enables full-text searching of newspaper articles. Includes newspapers published in each state and territory from the 1800s to the mid-1950s.

Useful for news from the 1950s-1970s, however it is not complete.

Aboriginal media, communications and events management agency situated in Darlinghurst, Sydney.