Searching FAQs
Subject headings
Subject headings
Subject Headings are standardised descriptions used by databases to help with searching. Using a subject heading means you will retrieve everything on a topic, even if different words are used within the articles.
Example
MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) is used by PubMed and Medline (Ovid).
It is arranged in a hierarchical structure, descending from the general to the specific.
In this example, Parkinson Disease is the narrowest subject heading in the Nervous System Diseases hierarchy.
Nervous System Diseases
Central Nervous System Diseases
Brain Diseases
Basal Ganglia Diseases
Parkinsonian Disorders
Parkinson Disease
What databases use subject headings?
Many databases use subject headings and have their own specific thesaurus (collection of subject headings).
Some examples in Medicine and Health Sciences include:
| Database | Thesaurus |
|---|---|
| PubMed, Medline | MeSH |
| Embase | EMTREE |
| CINAHL | CINAHL Subject Headings |
Databases
PubMed gives quick, relevant results.
The interface and search algorithm are a bit more "google-like".
Ovid gives greater search control
Has a greater number of search fields and filters. Quick, basic search also available.
- The 2 platforms have the same MEDLINE content (indexed with subject headings). However, PubMed has extra book citations (NCBI Bookshelf) and journal citations from life sciences (PubMed Central).
- You may find different results due to how they search.
- You can search whichever platform you prefer.
- Either can be used for systematic reviews and scoping reviews, however it is not necessary to include both.
- Ovid MEDLINE is a subscription database, a University of Melbourne account is needed to access.
- PubMed is freely available to search, however subscriptions are needed to access many full text articles.
- For a detailed comparison check this presentation from Ovid.
A multidisciplinary database does not have one focus, such as medicine, but covers a range of disciplines such as health, sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities.
Here are three widely used multidisciplinary databases:
- Scopus (Elsevier)
Physical sciences, health sciences, life sciences, social sciences & humanities.
International and specialized disciplinary coverage.
Conferences: Yes
- Web of Science
Science, technology, social sciences, arts and humanities.
Good coverage of material pre-1970. Selects "journals of influence".
Conferences: Yes
- Google Scholar
All subject areas.
Limited search options.
Conferences: Yes, also tutorials, posters, presentations, newsletters (not peer-reviewed)
They can be useful for:
- Exploratory searches - finding out what is published on your topic
- Multidisciplinary research - if your topic includes another discipline eg engineering, psychiatry, education.
- Author, related item and citation searching
Searching
Not enough results?
Finding few or no results doesn't mean your search is bad. It can mean this is an emerging or new area of research. Try these checks to see what's causing your low number of results.
-
-
Check errors in your search
- Join your keywords and concepts together again, double checking AND / OR and phrases
- Double check spelling mistakes and add any alternative spellings
For example: (aetiology OR etiology) - Check you have the correct terminology for the database you are on, eg proximity searching (all databases have help pages).
-
Remove unnecessary search terms
- Some words are not useful to search on.
For example: relationship, effect of - Literature may include these words but there are other ways they can be described, or not directly described at all.
- Some words are not useful to search on.
-
Think of more search terms
- Try to think of other ways to describe your concepts and these to your concept with OR.
For example: (basal metabolism OR resting metabolic rate) - Check any relevant article you have found so far or tertiary sources such as the textbook for new words. Sometimes words used in literature are not the words we use in everyday speech.
For example: (tumor OR neoplasm)
- Try to think of other ways to describe your concepts and these to your concept with OR.
-
Go broader, or related
- Perhaps there is not literature on your exact topic but a broader or related topic.
For example: worldwide instead of Australia, the whole population instead of women. Note: worldwide and whole population are not needed as search terms. - You may want to check with your tutor for guidance on this.
- Perhaps there is not literature on your exact topic but a broader or related topic.
-
Irrelevant results?
A large number of results isn't a problem, however irrelevant results are. Unless you have a very specific term in your search you will receive some irrelevant results, however you should have a couple of relevant articles in your first 3 pages.
-
-
Investigate results
- Check the first 3 pages of your results, trying to find a pattern of why these irrelevant results have been retrieved.
-
Get specific
- Is there a specific terms that will provide better results?
For example: exercise training instead of exercise. Low back pain instead of back pain
- Is there a specific terms that will provide better results?
-
Add concepts
- Check you haven't missed any concepts
-
Check errors in your search
- Does it feel like a whole concept is missing?
- You may have used an OR instead of and AND
- Check you have used phrases (quote marks) for words used in exact order
-
>Want more details or information on other types of reviews? Check our Which review is that library guide
SYSTEMATIC REVIEW
Answer a specific question by summarising all evidence that meets set criteria.
The methods used to search for and analyse the data are published.
In order to analyse the data effectively inclusion and exclusion criteria are needed eg types of studies, number of participants in each group, age of participants.
SCOPING REVIEW
Look for all evidence that meets set criteria, but often address a broad question.
They are used to identify knowledge gaps, scope a body of literature,
clarify concepts, investigate research conduct, or to inform a systematic
review.
Inclusion and exclusion criteria are used.
LITERATURE REVIEW
Summarise history, importance, and collective thinking on a particular topic.
Up to author to decide what is included, no set criteria.
Have a question that's not here?
Please ask us!