Skip to Main Content

Map Resources of Victoria

A guide to Victorian spatial map resources

Guide Introduction

The guide lists and discribes many useful spatial/map resources for education, study and research.  This includes the highly authoritative resources available from the Victorian Department of Sustainability and Environment and the Victorian Department of Primary Industries.

Other Maps Collection Guides -

Need more assistance?

Victorian Land Channel Interactive tool

Victoria

Victoria

Additional UniMelb related services

Some historical maps in the Library Map Collection
This is not an exhaustive list and these maps are not online, but are hardcopy only located for use in the Map Collection.  For further assistance contact the Map Collection

Environmental Mapping of Victoria

Weather

Most weather data and information is recorded and processed by the Bureau of Meteorology (BOM). Other government departments that conduct specialised research use weather data.

Weather observations from the roof of McCoy Building, School of Earth Sciences

Historical

Hard copy topographic maps

To search the holding of the Map Collection use the library catalogue limiting to titles in the Map Collection.
Hardcopy material from the collection can be requested and viewed at the Special Collections Reading Room, Baillieu Library.


 

Requests for duplication or copying services should be discussed with Map Collection staff.

This is not an exhaustive list and these maps are not online, but are hardcopy only located for use in the Map Collection.  For further assistance contact the Map Collection

Historical Maps of Melbourne

Statistics & Environment

Maps from ABS

University of Melbourne

Maps of the University of Melbourne

Additional UniMelb campus related services

Cartographic referencing and citation

Need help with referencing and citing resource material?

Contact Us


Library Twitter

Library Instagram

Library Blogs

Library Contacts