Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Theses

Find out how to locate and access Australian and international theses

Home

Find theses online and in print

This guide shows you how to find Masters and PhD theses, online and in print, from:

  • The University of Melbourne
  • Other Australian universities
  • Outside Australia

 

Why use theses?

 

Theses can be a valuable source of information, especially for topics where there are fewer published works available.
The references or works cited in a thesis can also be useful to find further published sources on a topic.

If you are currently writing a thesis (Honours, Masters or PhD) you may want to:

  • check if anyone has recently completed a PhD thesis in your area of research internationally
  • look at PhD theses from your faculty (or supervised by your supervisor) to get an idea of how to format your thesis.

University of Melbourne theses

Most recent theses are available through Minerva Access, the University's institutional repository. 

Minerva includes PhD and Masters Research theses, as well as a smaller number of Honours and Masters Coursework theses.

 

Accessing Full-Text in Minerva Access

 

Open Access Theses
  • Many theses are open access, which means anyone is able to read the full text online, and no subscription or login is required.
  • Use the download link on the left to access a PDF of the thesis.

screenshot of open access thesis with access status and download link highlighted

 

Restricted access theses
  • Some theses are currently only available to University of Melbourne staff/students
  • Use the login link and access with your unimelb username and password

 

Embargoed theses
  • These theses have been embargoed and there is currently no full-text available

  • You will be able to view an abstract only

 

Finding theses from your faculty in Minerva Access

 

You can limit your results in Minerva Access to view only theses from your faculty.

1. Select the Communities and Collections link from the Browse menu in the right column

homepage of Minerva Access with Communities & Collections link highlighted

 

 

2. Click on the + button next to Minerva Access to see a menu of faculties

 

 

3. Choose your faculty from the list

4. There may be further options to refine by School or discipline. Use the plus (+) buttons to see more options.

5. Select the link for Theses 

 

 

6. To further refine the list, (for example, to just PhD theses) scroll down to use the Type menu on the far right menu bar.

Finding University of Melbourne print theses

 

University of Melbourne theses not available online are held in the Cultural Collections Reading Room on level 3 of the Baillieu Library, or in offsite storage. While you cannot physically browse the thesis collection, you can submit a request to view a thesis using the online form.

You can search the Library Catalogue to find our print collection of University of Melbourne theses

  • To restrict your search to just theses, select University of Melbourne Theses from the drop-down menu to the right of the search bar

For more information on requesting to view print theses see the Special Collections website.

 

Australian theses

Australian theses from other universities can be found via Trove.

1. Select Advanced search on the Trove homepage, and choose Research and reports

 

2. Type your search terms into the first box (Keyword search box)

3. Check the box next to Australian content

4. Click the green Search button

 

5. On the results page, select the Show more option under Format

 

6. Select Thesis to limit your results to theses

 

7. To access, check the purple link at the bottom of each record. Theses available online will either:

  • have a link to where they are held

 

  • have an Access conditions apply link

 

8. Click on the title of the thesis to view the record, and select the Read button to access the full text

 

  •  If the thesis is not available online through Trove, please complete a Thesis request form on the Request Forms page. We will then try to obtain a copy of the thesis for you via inter-library loan. 
  • For more information on using the Advanced Search to create more specific searches, see Trove's Australian theses page. 

  International theses

These are the top four international theses databases that include full-text:

Other useful theses databases

Referencing theses

Need help with referencing theses?

 

Visit the Re:cite guide to referencing

 

Further help

Contact us, or ask a question on Library chat

 

Visit us on social media

 

Facebook iconfacebook.com/unilibrary

Twitter icontwitter.com/unilibrary

     Instagram iconinstagram.com/unilibrary