Library Guides: Plant Science: Databases and Journals

Changes to CABI products

Database News!

CAB Abstracts has moved to the CABI Digital Library Platform

What is CABI Digital Library?

CABI Digital Library is a new platform that will be the home of all CABI's content including CAB Abstracts, CABI collections and CAB Global Health.

What does it mean for me?

As a MyCABI user, your saved searches within your CABI account will close when CAB Abstracts and Global Health resources fully migrate to CABI Digital Library in Dec 2023.

Unfortunately, CABI has advised that MyCABI account details and searches will not be migrated to the new platform. However, CAB Direct will remain open during the migration process giving you time to build your new searches on CABI Digital Library.
To help you move searches, as well as a variety of user guides and further information from CABI please click here.

Links to Databases

CAB Abstracts
CAB Abstracts is the main international database for agriculture, veterinary science and forestry. It includes literature indexed since 1910, covering agriculture, forestry, aspects of human health, human nutrition, animal health, and the management and conservation of natural resources.

Scopus (Elsevier)
SCOPUS is an abstract and citation database of research literature and websites in life sciences, health sciences, physical sciences, and social sciences.
Web of Science
Web of Science (ISI) provides access to scholarly literature and conference proceedings information relating to the sciences including veterinary science, agriculture, zoology and medicine, as well as to the social sciences, arts and humanities.

Kyoto Encyclopedia of Genes and Genomes
KEGG is a database resource that integrates genomic, chemical, and systemic functional information. In particular, gene catalogues in the completely sequenced genomes are linked to higher-level systemic functions of the cell, the organism, and the ecosystem
Access to data requires a password.

AGRICOLA (EBSCO)
This bibliographic database, produced by the National Agricultural Library, consists of worldwide literature citations for journal articles, monographs, proceedings, theses, patents, translations, audiovisual materials, computer software, and technical reports pertaining to all aspects of agriculture and related fields.
Australian Heritage Bibliography: AHB (Informit)
Australian Heritage Bibliography covers the natural and cultural environment, including national parks, endangered species, wilderness areas, historical sites, structures and towns and is produced by the Australian Heritage Commission. It covers the period from 1987 to present.
Garden, Landscape & Horticulture Index (EBSCO)
Provides access to articles about gardens and plants. Topics include horticulture, botany, garden and landscape design & history, ecology, plant and garden conservation, garden management, and horticultural therapy.
Global Plants (JSTOR)
Global Plants, previously titled Plant Science, is an online environment bringing together content, tools, and people interested in plant science. Covering the world’s largest database of plant type specimens which when complete will contain an estimated 2.2 million specimens, over 175,000 scientific research articles and other content dating back hundreds of years, including reference works and books, correspondence such as the Kew’s Directors' Correspondence containing hand-written letters and memorandum from the senior staff of Kew from 1841 to 1928 and more than 20,000 paintings, photographs, drawings, and other images. Users can create a "MyPlants" account, which enables you to save many of your actions on the JSTOR Global Plants site, including links to objects, image measurements, and zoomed in views.
GreenFILE (EBSCO)
GreenFILE offers information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment and is a collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles that include content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 384,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,700 records.