The ARTstor Digital Library is a nonprofit resource that provides more than one million digital images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences with an accessible suite of software tools for teaching and research. ARTstor's community-built collections comprise contributions from outstanding international museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, and artists and artists' estates.
Oxford Art Online offers access to the most authoritative, inclusive, and easily searchable online art resources available today. Through a single gateway, users can access and cross-search Oxford’s acclaimed, regularly updated art reference works: the Grove Dictionary of Art and the Benezit Dictionary of Artists. In addition, users can search and access the Oxford Reference titles: Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, Oxford Companion to Western Art, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms
JSTOR is a digital library of thousands of academic journals, books, and primary sources from a wide range academic publishers and university presses. Titles span across disciplines, including core areas such as business & economics, social sciences, education, history, language & literature and science. Current journals are linked and cross-searchable with archival journals and ebooks on JSTOR, helping patrons discover, use, and build upon a constantly expanding range of academic content.
Maintained by Chris Witcombe, this web site is highly regarded and comprehensive. It includes listings of geographic and historical periods in art throughout the world. The web site has IMAGE RESOURCES links to listings of slides, photographs, digital images, film, video
(UK) VADS 'mission is to support support research, learning and teaching, by providing visual arts digital resources through robust systems for Internet access and long term preservation.' Its visual art collections comprise over 100,000 images with in-depth collection records.
These are freely available and copyright cleared for use in learning, teaching and research in the UK
Over 20,000 images from the Guildhall Library and the Guildhall Art Gallery, London. Categories include archaeology, architecture, history, abstract ideas, leisure, military and war, natural world, politics, religion and belief, society and trade and industry