Library Guides: Creative Arts Therapy: Find Journal Articles

Develop your search terms

Do you know which search terms to use to find great articles on your topic?
Experiment with your keywords in one of these broad search options before diving into more specialised search locations.

Discovery searches across a large number of databases. Use Advanced Search and subject filters for the best results.
Proquest Central is similar to Discovery, searching across multiple databases
Google Scholar is a convenient search tool, but you'll need to set up Find it @ Unimelb links to effectively use Google Scholar for library research.

Once you've found a few good resources, explore some subject-specific databases and journals.

Why are there so many places to search?

Visit the Comparing Search Pathways guide for a quick explainer.

Creative Arts Therapy databases

PsycINFO (Ovid)
PsycINFO is the comprehensive international bibliographic database of psychology. It contains citations and summaries of peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations, and technical reports, all in the field of psychology and the psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law. Updated weekly.
MEDLINE (Web of Science)
MEDLINE is the U.S. National Library of Medicine's premier bibliographic database, covering biomedicine and life sciences topics vital to biomedical practitioners, educators, and researchers, such as bioengineering, public health, clinical care, and plant and animal science.
Performing Arts Database (Proquest)
This database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 260 international periodicals, plus full text for more than 100 of the indexed journals. IIPA covers a broad spectrum of the arts and entertainment industry - including dance, drama, theater, stagecraft, musical theater, circus performance, opera, pantomime, puppetry, magic, performance art, film, television and more.
SocINDEX with Full Text (EBSCHOhost)
SocINDEX™ with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive and highest-quality sociology research database. Its extensive scope and content provide users with a wealth of extremely useful information encompassing the broad spectrum of sociological study. The database features more than 2.1 million records with subject headings from a 20,000+ term sociological thesaurus designed by subject experts and expert lexicographers.
International Bibliography of Art (ProQuest)
The definitive resource for scholarly literature on Western art, IBA is the successor to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA), and retains the editorial policies which made BHA one of the most trusted and frequently consulted sources in the field. Publications covered include at least 500 core journals, with an emphasis on specialist and rare titles that are not covered by other indexes, plus detailed coverage of monographs, essay collections, conference proceedings and exhibition catalogues.
CINAHL Complete (EBSCO)
CINAHL is an authoritative resource for nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators and researchers. It has broad content coverage including 50 nursing specialties, speech and language pathology, nutrition, general health and medicine. This database provides indexing for thousands of journals with selected titles available in full text. Coverage commences with 1937.
Counseling and Therapy in Video
Alexander Street Counseling provides the largest and richest online collection of video available for the study of counseling, social work, psychotherapy, psychology, and psychiatric counseling. The wealth of video and multiplicity of perspectives in these collections allow students and scholars to see, experience, and study counseling in ways never before possible.

Counseling and Psychotherapy Transcripts, Client Narratives, and Reference Works
(Alexander Street Press) a searchable collection of therapy and counseling sessions.
Joanna Briggs Institute EBP Database
Clinical Online Network of Evidence for Care and Therapeutics.
Journals@Ovid
Journals@Ovid provides access to a large collection of premium online journals in science, medicine, and healthcare, and a number of EBP tools.
Cochrane Library
Includes the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials, Cochrane Methodology Register, Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects, Health Technology Assessment Database,NHS Economic Evaluation Database, and About The Cochrane Collaboration.

Creative Arts Therapy Journals

American Journal of Art Therapy
American Journal of Dance Therapy
Arts and Health: An international journal for research, policy and practice
The Arts in Psychotherapy
Art Therapy (Journal of the American Art Therapy Association)
Art Therapy Online (ATOL)
Canadian creative arts in health, training and education
Dramatherapy: the journal of the Association for Dramatherapists
2024 access note: Access to Dramatherapy is interrupted while the journal switches publishers. In the meantime, individual articles can be requested via Interlibrary Loan (see Article Requests further down this page).
International journal of arts medicine
International Journal of Art Therapy (formerly Inscape)
Journal of creativity in mental health
Journal of group psychotherapy, psychodrama & sociometry
Psychology of Music
Psychomusicology: Music, Mind & Behaviour

Using Advanced Google Search

Use the site or domain limiter in Google Advanced Search to quickly find information on websites and online publications.

For example:

Limit search results to only show results from e-flux by including site:e-flux.com or Frieze using site:frieze.com in your search.

Searching effectively with Google

Multidisciplinary databases

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
Academic Search™ Complete is a multidisciplinary full-text database, providing access to more than 8,600 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,500 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text it offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
ERIC (ProQuest)
The ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to educational-related literature. ERIC provides coverage of journal articles, conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, books and monographs.
JSTOR
JSTOR is a digital library of thousands of academic journals, books, and primary sources from a wide range academic publishers and university presses. Titles span across disciplines, including core areas such as business & economics, social sciences, education, history, language & literature and science. Current journals are linked and cross-searchable with archival journals and ebooks on JSTOR, helping patrons discover, use, and build upon a constantly expanding range of academic content.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global
This database is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day and offering full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997.
ScienceDirect Journals (Elsevier)
ScienceDirect is Elsevier's leading platform of peer-reviewed scholarly literature. It is a large database of scientific, technical, and medical research with a wide variety of features and content.
Scopus (Elsevier)
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, Scopus features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research.
Web of Science
Web of Science Core Collection provides quick, powerful access to the world's leading citation databases. Authoritative, multidisciplinary content covers over 12,000 of the highest impact journals worldwide, including Open Access journals and over 150,000 conference proceedings. You'll find current and retrospective coverage in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, with coverage to 1900.