Library Guides: Australian Taxation Law: Journals, Reports & News

Journals and Journal Articles

We recommend using the following legal, business and tax databases to find scholarly journal articles on Australian tax law, irrespective of the journals in which they are published. These databases include articles from hundreds of journals, and are an efficient and comprehensive way to find articles on your topic.

Australian Journal Article Databases

AGIS Plus Text (Informit)
AGIS Plus Text covers all aspects of law and is produced by the AGIS Section of the Lionel Murphy Library, Commonwealth Attorney-General's Department in Canberra. It covers the period 1999 to present for FullText and from 1975 to present for Index
ACCOUNT
ACCOUNT, formerly called Australian Accounting & Taxation Database (AATD), is prepared by the Institute of Chartered Accountants in Australia’s Knowledge Centre. Subjects covered are: accounting, auditing, taxation, insolvency, corporate law, superannuation, retirement planning, financial planning, practice management and human resources and is produced by the Institute of Chartered Accountants in Australia. It covers the period from 1982 to present.
Business Collection
An essential reference for business studies and research, the Informit Business Collection covers a range of subjects within a business context including management, e-business, economics, commercial law, marketing and human resources. This full text Collection contains journals, books, conference proceedings and reports. It covers the period from 1993 to present for both Full text and Index.

Australasian Legal Scholarship Library
For Australian content (public access)

Multijurisdictional Journal Article Databases

The following databases provide access to articles in hundreds of tax and tax-related journals. They include many articles on Australian tax law.

ProQuest
The Accounting, Tax & Banking Collection (on the Proquest Complete platform) contains articles from scholarly and professional journals. Coverage:1971 to current. (UniMelb staff & student access)
Business Source Complete (EBSCO)
(on the EBSCO platform) includes indexing and abstracts for over 1300 scholarly business journals. Coverage: 1886 to current. (UniMelb staff & student access)
IBFD - Tax Research Platform
provides an extensive index to tax journal literature. Some articles are available in full text. The IBFD Library has the largest collection of international tax publications in the world. (UniMelb staff & student access)
Index to Legal Periodicals & Books Full
(on the EBSCO platform) (UniMelb staff & student access)
note that ILP can be searched simultaneously with Business Source Complete
Westlaw UK
Legal Journals Index (UniMelb staff & student access)
Gale OneFile: LegalTrac
(UniMelb staff & student access)
SSRN eLibrary
includes the Accounting Research Network and the Legal Scholarship Network - global coverage. This is the best database for finding very recent pre-publication articles and book chapters (open access).

Individual Australian Tax Journals

Australian GST Journal
(UniMelb staff & student access) vol 1 (1998) to current. Note: 1998-2000 issues entitled GST Today.
more...less...
This journal, on the WestlawAu platform, is a quarterly analytical journal devoted to exploring and resolving both technical and practical GST issues.
Australian Tax Forum : a journal of taxation policy, law and reform
(UniMelb staff & student access) vol 1(1984) to current
more...less...
Quarterly journal with the objective of providing discussion on issues in tax policy, law and reform amongst tax professionals.
Australian Tax Law Bulletin
(UniMelb staff & student access) vol 1 (2014) to current
more...less...
Australian Tax Law Bulletin is devoted to articles on current tax issues in practice in order to benefit legal and tax professionals, as well as tax administrators. It provides opinions and arguments on recent tax legislation (state and Commonwealth), tax administration, judicial issues and policy.
Australian Tax Review
(UniMelb staff & student access) vol 1(1971) to current
more...less...
This journal provides in-depth analysis of tax issues in the Australian tax environment. The journal has a national and international reputation which services both the academic and professional tax law markets.
eJournal of Tax Research
(Open Access) vol 1(2003) to current
more...less...
This journal aims to promote research and public discussion of tax-related issues, from both theoretical and practical perspectives. It provides a channel for academics, researchers, practitioners, administrators, judges and policy makers to enhance their understanding and knowledge of taxation. The journal emphasises the interdisciplinary nature of taxation.
InTax
(UniMelb staff & student access) 1997 to current
more...less...
inTAX is published 11 times per year. It combines regular columns and feature articles on hot tax topics and current tax issues.
Journal of Australian Taxation
(Open access) vols 1(1998) - vol 15(2013)
(UniMelb staff & student access) vols 1(1998) to current
more...less...
Focuses on all aspects of taxation in Australia, New Zealand and internationally.
Journal of the Australasian Tax Teachers Association
(Open access) vol 1(2005) to current
Revenue Law Journal
(Open access) vol 1 (1990) to current
more...less...
Established in 1989, the Revenue Law Journal is an Australian journal with an international focus on all aspects of taxation. One volume of the Revenue Law Journal is published each year. The Revenue Law Journal is circulated to law libraries throughout the world, to practitioners, academics and law students. Articles are written by leading tax thinkers and are scrutinised by experts of international standing.
Tax Specialist
(UniMelb staff & student access) vol 1 (1997) to current
more...less...
Designed for the specialist tax professional, The Tax Specialist journal is essential reading for corporate tax advisers, accountants, lawyers and academics. Featuring in-depth analysis, opinion and argument on legislative, administrative and judicial issues, it is published five times per year.
Taxation in Australia
In print on Level 4 of the Law Library - vol 1(1963) to vol 10 (1976)
E-journal (UniMelb staff & student access) vol 12 (1978) to current
more...less...
Written by practitioners for practitioners, Taxation in Australia is continually ranked as Australia's leading tax journal. This comprehensive publication features articles with a strong, practical approach to the latest tax issues and professional development. It is affectionately known as the Blue Journal.

Reports

Reports and other publications by the following government and professional organisations can be useful for your research.

Board of Taxation - Publications (open access)
The Board of Taxation is an advisory body that assists the Commonwealth government in the development and implementation of taxation laws.
Tax Institute Resources
Most of these publications require payment, unless you are a member or subscriber. The Tax Institute is a professional association.
Australian Tax Research Foundation Publications
Most of these publications require payment, unless you are a member or subscriber. The Foundation is an independent not-for-profit organisation which researches tax reform at the Federal, State and Local Government level.

Law Firm Publications

Open access publications by Australian law firms specialising in tax law can be useful - they are usually concise, up to date and practical. Such firms include:

Allens Linklaters
tax publications
Ashurst Legal Updates
tax publications
Fee Fie Foe Firm Australia
is your window to the world of law firms. Fee Fie Foe Firm is a search engine that focuses on the websites of Australian law firms. Search for legal experts bulletin articles.
Lexology
Search law firm publications worldwide. Free registration is required for some content.

Australian Tax News

The news resources below provide information on the latest cases, legislation and ATO rulings.

For assistance setting up alerts for these resources, contact one of our reference librarians at law-librarians@unimelb.edu.au

Checkpoint
(UniMelb staff & student access) Checkpoint publishes regular (usually weekly) news updates on various tax topics.
(UniMelb staff & student access) Alerts can be set up so that you are notified by RSS feed when a new update is released.
CCH Online - Australia* This link opens in a new window
Australian Tax Week (CCH) (UniMelb staff & student access)
In CCH (UniMelb staff & student access) you cannot set up alerts for individual publications such as Australian Tax Week. Only topic alerts can be set up to be delivered by email. Topics are:
~ Australian FBT
~ Australian GST
~ Australian Superannuation
~ Australian Duties & State Taxes
~ Australian Income Tax
~ Australian International Tax
~ Australian Tax Alert

Bloomberg Tax
(UniMelb staff & student access - individual registration required) Includes Daily Tax Reports featuring breaking news and developments. Australian content can be found under the 'International' tab.
Australian Taxation Office - RSS Feeds
The Australian Taxation Office (open access) offers news RSS feeds on a variety of topics.