Skip to Main Content

Authorised Law Reports

A guide to authorised law reports for Australia, its states and territories, and other jurisdictions.

Australia Federal

Court	Title of reporting series	Abbreviation of reports series	UniMelb online holdings	UniMelb print holdings	Example citation (AGLC4 style)
High Court	Commonwealth Law Reports 1903-	CLR	v.1 1903 - Westlaw Australia	v.1 1903 -	Wirth v Wirth (1956) 98 CLR 242
Federal Court	Federal Court Reports 1984-	FCR	v.1 1984 - Westlaw Australia	v.1 1984 - v.304 2024	Hicks v Ruddock (2007) 156 FCR 574
Administrative Appeals Tribunal	Administrative Law Decisions 1976-	ALD	v.1 1976 - Lexis+ Australia	v.1 1976 - v.85 2005	Re Tolo and Commonwealth of Australia (1985) 9 ALD 225
Australian Industrial Relations Commission / Fair Work Australia / Fair Work Commission	Industrial Reports (Authorised Reports of the AIRC/Fair Work Australia are included from vol 154 (2006) onwards. Decisions of other courts and tribunals contained in the IRs are NOT authorised.)	IR	v.1 1981 - Westlaw Australia	v.1 1981 -v.324 2023	Hill v Downer EDI Mining (2008) 179 IR 119

Westlaw Australia

Westlaw Australia
Westlaw Australia provides Australian legal resources with selected New Zealand content.

See relevant cases, commentary and authorised reports in a single search. Uses natural language search and a database of case law and journals, legislation and commentary to precedents, encyclopaedia and news.

AustLII

Australasian Legal Scholarship Library
AustLII publishes public legal information including primary legal materials (legislation, treaties and decisions of courts and tribunals) and secondary legal materials created by public bodies for purposes of public access (law reform and royal commission reports, for example) and a substantial collection of law journals. Includes full-text Acts of Australian and State Parliaments.

Lexis+ Australia

Lexis+ Australia
Australian online legal information source, offering a range of subscription services for legal reference and research. It is a full text database of Australian law, including some legislation and case law. It also includes two case citators and a legal encyclopaedia.

Last Updated: Oct 13, 2025 12:39 PM
URL: https://unimelb.libguides.com/authorised_law_reports
Print Page

Subjects: Law

Tags: case law, legal research