Library Guides: Standards: Introduction

Introduction

What are standards?

Standards are official documents that outline specifications and protocols aimed at guaranteeing the safety, reliability, and consistent performance of products, services, and systems as per their intended design. They create a shared framework that defines criteria for quality and safety. Standards encompass a wide range of areas, including consumer goods and services, construction, engineering, business practices, IT, social services, energy, water utilities, environmental considerations, and beyond.

Important information about Intertek Inform (previously known as SAI Global)

After the acquisition of SAI Global by the Intertek Group, the platform has been rebranded as Intertek Inform. While there have been some slight modifications to the website's appearance, the interface and functionality for accessing standards in the database remains unchanged.
Only 4 concurrent users for Australian standards and 1 concurrent user for international standards. Once you have viewed/downloaded your standard please log out to allow other people to use the database.
Users may be prompted to self-register the first time they attempt to open or download any Standards Australia, or ISO and IEC content. Searching and viewing search results will not require registration. The self-registration process will request your first name, last name, and University of Melbourne email address, and ask you to create a password. Once registration is verified, no further action is required. This information is stored by Intertek Inform and not shared unless a potential infringement is uncovered.
Downloaded PDFs expire after five days. When you have downloaded the standard you need, you will need to print it.

How to register with Intertek Inform

Intertek Inform now operates on a new platform called i2i. All users will need to self-register (even if they have an account with the previous system). The self-registration process will request your first name, last name, and University of Melbourne email address, and ask you to create a password. Once registration is verified, no further action is required.

You can use - University of Melbourne - for Company and Business Unit

To activate your account and use your new credentials, you will need to access your email and confirm your identity, by following the instructions in the email. code will be sent to your university email address. Enter the code and click Submit

You will be prompted to create a password. This should differ from your university password and should be unique. Create your password and click 'Continue'.
You then will be prompted to log in with the details you set up. Your username = your university email address.

Downloading standards

All AS, ISO and IEC documents will have Digital Rights Management (DRM). Intertek Inform has integrated Vitrium as the digital rights management solution to meet the requirements of these publishers. This ensures your access to Standards remains compliant with licensing requirements.

Vitrium uses Adobe Acrobat Reader, Adobe Acrobat Pro and PDF-XChange Editor to download standards, so ensure you have this software installed on your computer.

**Compatible PDF Software**
Windows	Mac
Adobe Acrobat Reader DC	Adobe Acrobat Reader DC
Adobe Acrobat Pro	Adobe Acrobat Pro
PDF-XChange Editor

The video below details the necessary adjustments to your device settings that are essential for Vitrium to safeguard the documents.

Search & request standards

Searching and requesting standards

How to search for standards

You can search for standards by number, document title, or keyword.

If the standard has more than one version you can select the one required by clicking on the hyperlinked code.

If the standard is available you can view it or download it. Refer to the instructions on how to download standards in this guide.

The video below shows more about how to search for standards with Intertek Inform.

If the standard is not available

If the standard is not available a 'request price' button will be shown. It is advised not to use that button but to contact the Science, Engineering and IT Library team which will investigate how to obtain the standard from a vendor.

View, compare, stay updated

Getting more information about the Standard

The product page on Intertek Inform provides comprehensive information on engineering standards, facilitating efficient retrieval and reference. Key details available on the product page include the document number, current status, title, publisher, latest version, and a succinct summary of the standard. Additionally, users can access information regarding the country of origin, technical committees involved, page count, and International Classification for Standards (ICS) codes. The product details section offers a deeper understanding of the standard, including types of versions, equivalent standards, and any superceded standards. With the convenience of bookmarking standards, users can easily track and revisit relevant documents for their purposes. More information on what is available on the product page is shown in the video below.

Viewing and sharing Standards online

Intertek Inform now has a facility to view and share standards. Watch the video for more information. Discover the features available to all users within the 'View Online' functionality, to help with collaboration and efficiencies.

Comparing standards

The Compare feature on i2i gives you the ability to instantly view the differences between two versions of a Standard by comparing the differences between versions of Standards through a side-by-side view. The video below details how to use this feature.

Watchlists and Alerts

The video below explains how you can set up a personalised watchlist of standards and be alerted of any updates.

Other resources

Other standards databases

Access to ASTM Standards now available through ASTM Compass

Access to IHS Workbench has been discontinued and access to ASTM standards is now available through the ASTM Compass platform.

If you have any questions please contact the Science, Engineering, and IT Library team.

IEEE Xplore Standards
The IEEE Xplore Standards collection contains thousands of approved and published IEEE standards in key technology fields. Note: the Library's subscription does not include access to the Draft standards.
Australian Building Codes Board Codes & Standards
ABCB Codes & Standards database provides a nationally accepted and uniform set of technical requirements for all areas of building, from design to construction. The National Construction Code (NCC) was developed by the Australian Building Codes Board (ABCB) on behalf of the Commonwealth, State and Territory Governments, and is referred to as the building regulation in all States and Territories of Australia. This service provides access to the National Construction Code (NCC), which consists of the Building Code of Australia (BCA) + the Plumbing Code of Australia (PCA), and the Australian Standards referenced by the codes.

ASTM Standards are now available through ASTM Compass

Access to IHS Workbench has been discontinued. ASTM standards are now available through the ASTM Compass platform.
If you have any questions please contact the Science, Engineering, and IT Library team.

ASTM Compass
Provides access to the American Society for Testing and Materials (ASTM) Book of Standards which is made up of over 80 volumes and more than 12,000 standards.
ASABE Standards
The American Society of Agricultural and Biological Engineers (ASABE) standards collection contains standards, journals, magazines, meeting papers, conference proceedings, textbook and teaching materials, monographs, special publications, lecture series and design topics.

SAE Mobilus
Society of Automotive Engineers (SAE) Mobilus provides access to research in mobility engineering including ground vehicle, aerospace, off-highway, and manufacturing technology.

Websites

Standards Australia
Standards Australia is the nation's peak non-government, not-for-profit Standards organisation.
The Australian Design Rules for Road Vehicles
The Australian Design Rules are standards for vehicle safety, anti-theft and emissions for new road vehicles, whether manufactured in Australia or imported as new or second hand vehicles.
This link connects to the Australian Design Rules website, as well as the latest amendments on the Australian Government Cow website.
Vehicle Standards Bulletins
Publications in the Vehicle Standards Bulletin (VSB) series provide information on the design, manufacture, sale, modification, maintenance, import and repair of road vehicles for industry and other clients.
Australian Dangerous Goods Code
The Australian Dangerous Goods Code sets out the technical requirements for transporting dangerous goods by road or rail.
Australia New Zealand Food Standards Code
The Australia New Zealand Food Standards Code lists requirements for foods such as additives, food safety, labelling and GM foods within Australia and New Zealand. Individual standards can be downloaded for free from the website. A copy of the Code is available from the Intertek Inform database.