Skip to main content

News and Newspapers

Discover Australian and international news and newspaper resources

Home

Welcome to the News and Newspapers Library Guide

This guide will help you access news from Australia and around the world.

 

undefined

After current news?
  • = resource contains current news (throughout this guide)

 

After a specific newspaper?


Search  the Library catalogue for the newspaper title.

 

Today's News

 

Daily news - University subscriptions


These University subscriptions are easy-to-read daily news sources.
For other major newspapers check the Individual Newspapers sections in this guide.

 

Your favourite daily news

 

 Social Media

  • Use social media to follow your preferred news sources.
  • Check with your lecturers or tutors for recommendations.
  • Create separate social media accounts if you don't want news in with your personal feeds.

 

   RSS
 

Harvard Business Review

Loading ...
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Herald Sun - Technology

Loading ...
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

iTNews

Loading ...
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 

 

Australian & New Zealand News

 

undefined
Researching Australian Historic News?

The National Library of Australia's Digitised newspapers and more is one of the best resources for finding historical Australian news. Coverage varies, so it is important to check available dates.

Trove includes almost every major Australian newspaper (only limited content for The Age). You can limit your search by title, state or date range.

 

Resource includes current articles  

 

News Databases - Australia

News databases - New Zealand 


Individual Newspapers - Australia

International News

 

undefinedResearching historical news across the globe?

This list is not comprehensive for historical newspapers digitized and freely available on the internet.

 

Resource includes current articles  

 

News Databases - US & Canada
Individual Newspapers - US & Canada
News databases - UK & Ireland
Individual Newspapers - UK & Ireland
  • Europeana (1618 to 1996) Search across newspapers from Netherlands, Germany, Austria, Latvia, Estonia, Finland, Serbia, Poland, Luxembourg
  • Tímarit.is newspapers and periodicals of the Faroe Islands, Greenland and Iceland.

italy flag Italy

  • La Stampa (1867-2005) Italian language daily newspaper from Turin
  • Le Gazzetti Bolognesi (1647-1796) Political-military events from important Italian and European cities, digitized by the Archiginnasio Library

france flag icon France

  • La presse quotidienne dans Gallica (1823-1846) a selection of French newspapers, including Le Figaro (1826-1942); Le Temps (1861-1939) and others from the Bibliothèque nationale de France

russian flag icon Russia

  • Pravda Digital Archive Pravda ("Truth") was the official voice of Soviet communism and the Central Committee of the Communist Party (1918-1991)

 

Fake News

What is fake news?
  • Fake news is a recent term used to cover a range of news items, particularly spread using social media.
  • For a detailed definition and examples check out this article by factcheck.org.

 

Quick tips to identify fake news
  • The following video from factcheck.org (3:22) will give you some tips on spotting fake news. 

 

  • The following graphic has 8 quick tips for spotting fake news.

undefined

From the IFLA (International Federation of Library Associations and Institutions)

What is a fact checking site?
  • To combat fake news there are websites dedicated to investigating poential fake news articles and Fact Check sections of news sites.
  • Here's some examples from 3 top sites.
  • Recognize any of these stories from your social feeds/YouTube/conversations?
     
 

The Conversation - Fact Check

Loading ...
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

ABC FactCheck

Loading ...
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

FactCheck.org

Loading ...
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Further Information

Contact us, or ask a question on Library chat

 

Visit us on social media

 

Facebook iconfacebook.com/unilibrary

Twitter icontwitter.com/unilibrary

     Instagram iconinstagram.com/unilibrary