Library Guides: Optometry and Vision Sciences: Point of Care Resources

Point of care resources

PubMed Clinical Queries (NCBI) This link opens in a new window
Systematic reviews, clinical studies and medical genetics are extrapolated from the PubMed platform.
BMJ Best Practice This link opens in a new window
BMJ Best Practice is a easy-to-use decision-support tool that provides authoritative answers to clinical questions. It contains information relating to over 10,000 diagnoses, more than 3,000 diagnostic tests and over 4,000 diagnostic and treatment guidelines. At its core, Best Practice contains the internationally renowned Clinical Evidence. Drug information is provided by Martindale: the Complete Drug Reference. Martindale can be accessed via the Drugs menu or by selecting a drug when viewing a condition or symptom.
ClinicalKey (Elsevier)
ClinicalKey (Australian edition) is a database designed specifically to address physicians’ key search requirements and deliver answers that are more relevant than those provided by conventional clinical search engines. The ebook and ejournal content in ClinicalKey comes from Elsevier’s extensive range of medical publications. The database also has more than 20 million MEDLINE abstracts, which are updated daily.

Therapeutic Guidelines - eTG Complete
Independent and practical treatment advice for a wide range of clinical conditions. It includes explicit instructions for therapy, assisting practitioners in making decisions to ensure their patients receive optimum treatment.
UpToDate
UpToDate is an evidence-based, physician-authored clinical decision support resource which clinicians trust to make the right point-of-care decisions. It includes a collection of medical and patient information, access to Lexi-comp drug monographs and drug-to-drug, drug-to-herb and herb-to-herb interactions information, and a number of medical calculators.