Digital resources for teaching science
Are you preparing lessons for your school placement?
The following digital resources are provided by the Library and can be used in the classroom.
Our teacher librarians have created a guide for each resource to enable you to quickly integrate them into your teaching.
- TigTagTigtag is an online resource for teaching primary school science. The database contains: Curriculum films matched to specific curriculum points; Context films that show science in action; Ready-made lesson plans as well as 'build your own' tools; Hundreds of images and diagrams to print out or use on an interactive whiteboard; Clear and targeted topic background information; Practical and extension activities, as well as student worksheets; Topic quizzes and review questions; Fun facts, word jumbles and video clips.
- TWIGTwig is an online resource with thousands of tailor-made films, lesson plans and worksheets to support secondary school teaching in science, maths and geography. Twig has been recognised for excellent quality, pedagogy and usability.
Streamed video for the classroom
Streamed videos from the Library can be incorporated into your lessons during placement or used for your own learning. The videos play immediately and are accessible 24/7
How to find streamed videos
-
Search the Library catalogue and limit results to online videos
-
Alternatively, search these databases for streamed videos:
- Kanopy This platform provides diverse streamed video content including award-winning documentaries, training films and theatrical releases from leading distributors and film-makers. It includes content suitable for K-12 lessons and teacher education development resources.
- Education in Video (Alexander Street Press) is a collection of streaming video developed specifically for training and developing teachers. The collection includes teaching demonstrations, lectures, documentaries, and primary-source footage of students and teachers in actual classrooms.
- Alexander Street Video offers video, audio and text-based resources covering an extensive range of subjects. This site allows users to cross-search the content purchased by the University of Melbourne Library (including Education in Video).
- EduTV provides access to broadcast programs from free-to-air and pay TV channels in Australia.
New to streaming media?
Want to know how to create short clips for your classroom?
Featured streamed science videos
Size Matters (click image to view video)
The following selection of streamed videos can either be integrated within lessons in different subject areas or used to contribute toward professional development for science teachers.
Other new Science steaming videos
An expanded list of Science titles aligned to VELS curriculum areas can be found here.