Skip to Main Content

Arts and Cultural Management

Your guide to Arts and Cultural Management resources at the University of Melbourne Library.

Introduction

This subject guide highlights some key discipline resources to get you started with study and research. 

Encyclopedias & directories

Art encyclopedias
Directories

Databases and journals

Use databases to search across many academic resources (including peer-reviewed journals) at the same time. 

Refer to the A-Z Ejournals and Databases page for a comprehensive list of available resources. 

Core Arts and Humanities databases (try these first):

The selection of multidisciplinary databases below will retrieve results from different subject areas. 

Databases relevant to Arts and Cultural Management:
For more focused results, try searching in one of these subject-specific databases.

Books

To find books on a particular subject, do a keyword search in the Library Catalogue. Alternatively you can search by title, author, etc.
You can also find books on similar topics through the subject headings in item records. Click on these headings to find related subjects and titles. 

Screenshot of how to use subject headings in the library catalogue

Looking for a book we don't have or is not on our shelves?

 

Inter-Library Loans

University of Melbourne staff and students can request resources through the Library’s Inter-Library Loans service. For more information visit the ILL web page, or you can access the request forms.

 

Logo of CAVAL

A CAVAL card allows you to borrow from other universities and TAFEs. Visit the CAVAL website to find out how to sign up for a CAVAL card.

You can then use the Trove website to see which library has the book you want.

Company, industry & country information

Images

Websites

You can find relevant information and resources for your research on the websites of professional organisations and bodies, institutes, NGOs, government departments, etc.

This guide gives a few suggestions to get you started and to give you an idea what to look for. It is by no means comprehensive. If you are a coursework student, check your LMS to see if your lecturer has provided website recommendations.

Tip: if you want to limit your Google search results to organisational, governmental, or educational websites, use Google's advanced search option to limit the site or domains to .org, .gov, .edu

Referencing and citing

Contact us