Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

New Students' Library Guide

This guide will give you all the information you need to start using the Library's services and resources.

Welcome new students!

Hello there!

Welcome to the New Students' Library Guide

 

This guide contains essential information for new students to get set up and connected to the Library's services and resources.

 

Libraries and opening hours

Visit the Library website to discover our collections of online resources, including eBooks and journal articles, and get help from Library staff.

 

Visit our Library online

 

Did you know the University of Melbourne has 11 libraries for students? Find the libraries that hold collections in your specific areas of study and research below.

 

Architecture Library

Architecture, Building and Planning

Architecture Library

Baillieu Library

Humanities, Arts and Social Sciences

Baillieu Library

Browless Biomedical Library

Health and Life Sciences

Brownless Biomedical Library

Burnley, Creswick and Dookie libraries

Plant, Ecosystem and Forest Sciences

Burnley and Creswick Libraries

Eastern Resources Centre (ERC)- Opening Semester 2 2021

Sciences, Engineering and East Asian

Eastern Resource Centre

Giblin Eunson Library

Business, Economics and Education

Giblin Eunson Library

Law Library

Law

Law Library

Southbank Library

Fine Arts and Music

Southbank Library

Veterinary and Agricultural Science Libraries

Veterinary and Agricultural Science Libraries


Library opening hours

 

 

Opening hours vary throughout the year. Some libraries also have After Hours Study Zones which you can access with your student or staff card.

 

Tools to save you time when researching

Are you using Google to find things for your assignments? Get quick and easy access to Library resources by using our browser extensions: Lean Library and LibKey Nomad.

 

 

Find your readings on Canvas

Find your subject readings by clicking on the Readings Online tab in Canvas.

 

undefined

 

Explore the Library links in Canvas

Click on the Library tab in Canvas to view a handy list of quick links to Library resources.
 
These links are great for when you're working on an assignment and need an eBook for information on your topic, or to quickly check your referencing.
 

Find the best resources for your area of study

Library Guides are made by Librarians to show you the most useful search tools and research resources for your assignments.

 

Develop your researching and writing skills

Develop your researching and writing skills with the resources below:

 

Research Essentials Guide

Level up your researching skills, including tips and tricks on how to get the most out of your time when searching, reading, and writing.

Academic Skills Hub

Academic Skills can help you develop your reading, writing and referencing skills with their range of helpful online resources.

 

Learn how to reference

 

 

Re:cite is the University's online hub for referencing resources and provides guides for referencing styles used at the University of Melbourne, with examples to help you cite and acknowledge sources.

 

Find and access eBooks

Two ways to find eBooks held by the Library:

 

eBooks via the Library Catalogue

When you use the catalogue, eBooks will be included in the results of an ordinary search, but the method below limits your search to eBooks.

 

  1. Go to the Library Catalogue
  2. Enter your search terms and select Online Books from the drop-down menu, then Submit 
  3.  

  4. In your results, click on the "Connect to eBook" (University of Melbourne only) link to access the ebook online

 

Top tip: Using the Library Catalogue to search for eBooks will ensure you have easy access to full-text through your University of Melbourne login. Alternatives such as visiting a publisher’s website or searching an eBook platform directly will not give you access to the full-text of a book.   

 

eBooks via Discovery

You can also find eBooks by filtering your search results in Discovery by following the steps below. 

  1. Do a search using Discovery
  • Go to the Library website
  • Enter your search terms in the Discovery search box
  • Login using your University username and password, if you are prompted to do so

 

  1. Refine your results to eBooks
  • In the Refine your results section to the left, tick the full-text checkbox and click the 'Update' button
  • In the Source Types section, tick the checkboxes: 'Books' and 'eBooks' and click the 'Update' button
  • Any eBooks that match your search query will be listed in the search results

 

  1. Read or download ebooks

To access the full-text of an e-book, click the link in each result, which may appear as a:

  • PDF full-textDownload (Offline), HTML full-text, or 'View this record from...' link
  • Find it @ unimelb link
  • See Library Catalogue link

If you would like  more information on how to find and use eBooks please visit our eBooks Library Guide.

 

Find full-text with Discovery

Discovery is the Library’s search engine. It searches thousands of databases the University subscribes to, and includes our collections in the Library Catalogue.

Use Discovery to quickly find full-text, peer-reviewed articles.

 

undefined

 

You can find Discovery on the Library website.

 

undefined

 

Search for books

Two ways to find books held by the Library:

 

Finding books via the Library Catalogue
  1. Go to the Library Catalogue
  2. Enter your search terms and select Search Entire Collection from the drop-down menu, then Search

 

 

  1. In your results, click on the title of the book to open the full details
  2. Look at the Location, Call Number, and Status to check which library the book is available and where it is located on the shelf

 

 

Top tip: If you are unsure of which library a book is held in, click the link under Location. This will give you the full details of where the book is located (including information on which floors each call number range is held).

 

Finding Books with Discovery

You can also find eBooks by filtering your search results in Discovery by following the steps below. 

  1. Do a search using Discovery
  • Go to the Library website
  • Enter your search terms in the Discovery search box
  • Login using your University username and password, if you are prompted to do so

 

  1. Refine your results to Books
  • In the Refine your results section to the left, tick the Catalogue Only checkbox
  • In the Source Types section, tick the checkboxes: 'Books' 
  • Any Books that the library holds that match your search query will be listed in the search results

 

 

Find books on library shelves

The University of Melbourne Library organises its collections by using Dewey Decimal Classification (with the exception of the Law and the East Asian collections).

Dewey Classification assigns a number to a specific item, often referred to as a 'call number'. This system groups subjects into ten basic categories that are further broken down to specify more detail. 

The 10 categories

000       Generalities
100       Philosophy
200       Religion
300       Social Sciences
400       Language
500       Natural Sciences/Mathematics
600       Technology/Applied Sciences
700       The Arts
800       Literature
900       History & Geography 

 

Often there is a decimal point after the first three numbers, followed by more numbers. This allows the call number to reflect a more specific or specialised subject area. Letters then usually follow the call number- usually the first letters of the author's surname or the title (if the book is an edited volume). This helps to distinguish that particular item from others at the same number.

 

EXAMPLE

To get to the subclass for the book The Planets by Carmel Reilly the Dewey number grows like this:

500               Natural Sciences and Maths
523               Specific celestial bodies
523.4            Planets

523.4 REIL   The Planets by Carmel Reilly

 

Every one of our book shelves has a number range listed on it. Here's some step-by-step instructions on how to find your book: 

  1. Get the call number by searching for the book on the the Library Catalogue
  2. Look up or ask which floor of the library the number range is on
  3. Find the shelf with that number range
  4. Move along the shelves until you find your call number by looking at the labels on the spines of the books

 

If you ever need help finding a book on the shelves, please ask a library staff member at our service desks or one of our Student Library Assistants.

 

Borrowing books from the Library

Use your student or staff card to borrow from our libraries. For more information, click the button below:

 

Get tech support from Student IT

Student IT can help you with downloading software, accessing Uniapps, connecting to Wi-Fi and the Unimelb VPN, cloud-based services, LMS accounts and more.

 

Printing, scanning and copying

You can scan, print and photocopy at our libraries. For more details click the button below:

 

Assistive technology and disability support

The Library works with Student Equity and Disability Support (SEDS) to provide support services for students, including access to rooms and computers with assistive technology. If you require accessibility support services, please start by registering with the SEDS team so that we can best organise access to the facilities you need.

 

Get to know your Librarians

Our Librarians are experts in finding resources for your area of study. They can give you advice via email on the best place to look for your research, expert tips on searching and help with referencing.
 

 

Please note: For the full list of subject Librarians, and the study and research areas they can help you with, please click the button below

Contact us

Contact the Library, or ask a question on Library chat

Visit us on social media

 

Facebook icon

Twitter icon

Instagram icon