Library Guides: Australian law: Free online resources: Treaties

Treaty making process

A treaty is an agreement between States (countries) which is binding at international law. Treaties can be bilateral (between two States) or multilateral (between three or more States). Treaties can also include the creation of rights for individuals. The Australian Government Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade Treaty making Process includes details on treaties and how they are made.

Australia's Treaty-Making Process

Treaties to which Australia is a party

As treaties can either be bilateral or multilateral, there are a range of sources that host treaties to which Australia is a party:

Australian Treaties Database
can be searched by subject and lists all bilateral and multilateral treaties to which Australia is a party, as well as information about the treaty process and adoption into domestic law.
Australian Treaty Series
lists all treaties to which Australia is a party and links to the full text. It also includes other treaty resources such as links to treaties not yet in force, treaties under negotiation, and information about the adoption of treaties into domestic law - both the process and binding nature of the rights and obligations created by the treaty.
International Treaties Collection
includes multilateral and bilateral treaties from numerous countries. Please note that coverage can vary depending on the parties of the treaty, and the legal information institute (LII) that has provided the material.
United Nations Treaty Series Online
the collection of treaties that have been deposited with the United Nations. These treaties tend to be multilateral, and include treaties to which Australia is a party.