Library Guides: Deafness and Communication: Featured books

Featured eBooks

Creative Learning to Meet Special Needs [electronic resource] : Creative approaches to meet special needs in the classroom/ edited by Edward Sellman, 2013
Evidence-Based Practice in Educating Deaf and Hard-of-Hearing Students [electronic resource]/ Elizabeth Spencer, 2010.
Handbook of Effective Inclusive Schools [electronic resource] : Research and Practice/ edited by James McLeskey, 2014.
Inclusive and Adaptive Teaching [electronic resource] : Meeting the challenge of diversity in the classroom/ edited by Peter Westwood, 2013.
Making Special Education Inclusive [electronic resource] : From Research to Practice/ edited by Peter Farrell, 2013
Psychological Processes in Deaf Children with Complex Needs [electronic resource] : An Evidence-Based Practical Guide/ Lindsey Edwards, 2007.

Featured books for deaf education

Featured reference books

Reference books can be an excellent starting point for locating quick, background information and developing an understanding of a topic.

The majority of our reference sources are available online via the library catalogue and Discovery.

Gallaudet encyclopedia of deaf people and deafness
Call Number: UniM Bail f 362.42032 GALL
v. 1-3
Encyclopedia of Deafness and Hearing Disorders by Carol Turkington; Allen E. Sussman
Call Number: UniM Giblin Eunson REF 617.8003 TURK
Auslan dictionary : a dictionary of the sign language of the Australian deaf community
Call Number: UniM Giblin Eunson 419.0321 JOHN
Dictionary of Auslan : English to Auslan with regional sign variations
Call Number: UniM Giblin Eunson 419.03 DICT
ISBN: 0646435396
Encyclopedia of Child Behavior and Development by Sam Goldstein (Editor); Jack A. Naglieri (Editor)
Call Number: Online resource
Publication Date: 2011
Encyclopedia of Special Education by Cecil R. Reynolds; Elaine Fletcher-Janzen
Call Number: UniM Giblin Eunson REF 371.903 ENCY v.1-3
Encyclopedia of education. 8 vols.
Call Number: Online Resource
Publication Date: 2003
International encyclopedia of education
Call Number: Online resource
Publication Date: 2010
Macquarie Dictionary and Thesaurus
Call Number: Online Resource
The concise Oxford English dictionary by Catherine Soanes and Angus Stevenson (eds.)
Call Number: Online Resource

Featured books on inclusion

A selection of titles about teaching students with diverse learning needs and inclusive classroom practice.

Assessment in Special and Inclusive education - John Salvia; James Ysseldyke; Sara Bolt. Belmont, Calif. : Wadsworth/Cencage Learning, c2013.UniM Giblin Eunson 371.260973 SALV
more...less...
CONTENTS: Assessment in social and educational contexts -- Assessment and decision making in schools -- Laws, ethical codes, and professional standards that impact assessment -- Test scores and how use them -- Technical adequacy -- Assessing behavior through observation -- Teacher-made tests of achievement -- Curriculum-based approaches to measuring student progress -- Managing classroom assessment -- Web chapter preview: how to evaluate a test -- Assessment of academic achievement with multiple-skill devices -- Using diagnostic reading measures -- Using diagnostic mathematics measures -- Using measures of oral and written language -- Using measures of intelligence -- Using measures of perceptual and perceptual-motor skills -- Using measures of social and emotional behavior -- Web chapter preview: using measures of adaptive behavior -- Web chapter preview: using measures of infants, toddlers, and preschoolers -- Web chapter preview: assessment of sensory acuity -- Using test adaptations and accomodations -- Cultural and linguistic considerations -- Using technology to help make assessment decisions -- Multi-tiered system supports (MTSS) and response to intervention (RTI) -- Web chapter preview: using portfolios in assessment -- Making instructional decisions -- Making special education eligibility decisions -- Making accountability decisions -- Collaborative team decision making.
Creative learning for inclusion : creative approaches to meet special needs in the classroom / edited by Edward Sellman. New York : Routledge, 2012. UniM Giblin Eunson 371.9 CREA
Diversity, inclusion and engagement / edited by Mervyn Hyde, Lorelei Carpenter and Robert Conway.South Melbourne, Victoria : Oxford University Press, [2013]
Education for inclusion and diversity / Edited by Adrian Ashman and John Elkins. Frenchs Forest, N.S.W. : Pearson Education Australia, c 2009, [2008].UniM Giblin Eunson 371.9 EDUC
Ideas, teachers and individual education plans / Teresina Palmieri.Saarbrücken : LAP LAMBERT Academic Publishing, 2013. UniM Giblin Eunson 371.90460994 PALM
Inclusion in action / edited by Phil Foreman. South Melbourne, Vic. : Cengage Learning Australia, c2011. UniM Giblin Eunson 371.90460994 INCL
Sustainable learning : inclusive practices for 21st century classrooms / Lorraine Graham, Jeanette Berman, Anne Bellert. Cambridge : Cambridge University Press, 2015.UniM Giblin Eunson 371.102 GRAH
Vygotsky and Special needs education : rethinking support for children and schools / edited by Harry Daniels and Mariane Hedegaard. London : Continuum International Pub. Group, c2011. UniM Giblin Eunson 371.901 VYGO