Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Company, Industry & Country Information

This guide will help you find company, industry and country information in business databases.

undefined  Databases covering Australian companies only 


  Databases covering global companies 


  Which database? 


Each database includes different information.

Use the drop down box to see which database contains what you are looking for.

Company Information
Financials & Ratios

Database Regions What is included? How to find?
DatAnalyisis Australia - ASX listed Previous 12 years Annual financials OR Interim financials
then select Ratio Analysis
Orbis International Previous 5 years Financials
then select Global Ratios
Hoovers International Previous 10 years financials, basic ratios  
Company360 Australia Previous 10 years Financials
then select Ratios
 

Company Information
Ownership

 

Database Regions What is included? How to find?
Orbis International   In company report select Ownership Tree then Subsiduaries
Company360 Australia   In company report select Family Tree
DatAnalyisis Australia - ASX listed   In company report select Controlled Entities
 

Company Information
SWOT Analysis

 

Database Regions What is included? How to find?
MarketLine International For large companies  
Passport International Many profiles contain competitive positioning analyses  
Hoovers International   Core then select SWOT
 


Company Information
Annual reports

 

Database Regions What is included? How to find?
Orbis International   Select Original Documents
DatAnalyisis Australia -
ASX listed
mid-1990s - present
(some earlier - 1980s)
 
Annual Reports Collection
(Connect 4)
Australia - ASX listed 1992 - present  
Edgar Search United States 1993 - present Search by name, the limit by filing type 10-K
ProQuest Historical Annual Reports United States 1884 - 2008

800 companies included
 
Annual Report File

Australia

New Zealand

mid-1950s - mid-1990s microform in Baillieu Library
 

Company Information
Competitors

 

Database Regions What is included? How to find?
DatAnalyisis Australia -
ASX listed
  Select Peer Analysis to compare financial performance of companies in the same GICS Industry Group
Company360
Australia
  In company profile select Competitors
then select Peer Analysis from drop-down menu
then select desired variables to compare
Hoovers International   In company report select Competition
Orbis International   In company
Passport International Rankings of leading companies by market and brand shares  
 
 



  What type of company are you researching? 



Public


 

Trade stocks or securities on an exchange (e.g. the ASX).

Must disclose operations and performance to shareholders.

 

Most likely to have detailed information available in databases.


Private


 

An entity with private ownership. No public stocks.

Not obliged to disclose information, may be harder to research.
 

Some information is available in the databases, particularly on larger companies, also check news reports.


Government


 

Publicly accountable, obliged to disclose information.
 

For Australia check for a website, APO, IBISWorld.


Not-for-profit



Fall under a variety of company structures.
 

Check databases and
ACNC for financials


Subsidiary


 

A subsidiary is owned by a parent company.
 

If financials not available, check parent company.

  Ticker Symbols 


undefined

SEARCH TIP

Trouble with a company name?  
Try the ticker code.

A ticker or stock symbol is used to identify a company on a stock exchange.

Most databases search by company name or ticker code.

Check ASX website to find ticker codes.

  Rankings