Library Guides: Company, Industry and Country Information: Industry

Australian industry research

IBISWorld
Australia industry reports.
Key industry statistics and analysis on market characteristics, competitive landscape, operating conditions, current and historical performance, a five-year forecast, and major industry participants.
GlobalData Explorer
Industry profiles include market size, share (global or regional) and segmentation data, analysis, leading companies and 5 year market forecasts.
Fitch Connect
Contains global markets and industry sector reports.
Passport
Reports and analysis on consumer products and service industries; countries, consumers and companies.
Australian Business to Business
Search Australian companies by product categories, product codes or product keywords.
NOTE: only one user license at a time.

TRA Online
The Online Student Data Package from Tourism Research Australia enables users to interrogate data from the International Visitor Survey (IVS) and National Visitor Survey (NVS) to generate custom tables and output the tables directly into excel or export as CSV files. The Package also allows users to produce charts and thematic maps. The datasets contain the most recently available calendar year data and is annually updated in March.

Global industry research

Fitch Connect
Contains global markets and industry sector reports.
GlobalData Explorer
Industry profiles include market size, share (global or regional) and segmentation data, analysis, leading companies and 5 year market forecasts.
IBISWorld
China industry reports.
Key industry statistics and analysis on market characteristics, competitive landscape, operating conditions, current and historical performance, a five-year forecast, and major industry participants.
Statista
Contains market data, market research and market studies. Statistics are drawn from consumer survey results and industry studies.
Passport
Reports and analysis on consumer products and service industries; countries, consumers and companies.
Mintel Market Sizes
Global consumer data. Includes market size, segmentation and market share (historical and forecast data).
Mintel Global New Products Database
Covers innovations and performance of new consumer packaged goods worldwide.
Mintel Academic
Consumer industry and consumer lifestyle reports for the UK and the US, industrial reports for the UK, and global travel and tourism industry reports.
WARC
Marketing database includes case studies, best practice guides, marketing intelligence, consumer insight, industry trends and news.
NOTE: this resource can only be accessed on campus.
Business Source Complete
Large business database which includes journals, trade publications, reports and case studies across all business disciplines.
Contains MarketLine (Datamonitor) industry profiles
Gartner Core Research
Research conducted by IT industry analysts. Covers asset management, web services, emerging trends and technologies, and regulatory compliance
Cortellis Competitive Intelligence
Information on drug pipelines, deals, companies, patents, global conferences and industry news.
NOTE: Once you login in via the Library catalogue, you must register using a valid University of Melbourne email address.

Industry classification codes

SEARCH TIP

Not sure of an industry name?
Try a classification search.

Governments and businesses use industry classification systems to classify industries using numerical code.

For company searching, many databases can build a list within a specific industry.

NAICS
The North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) was adopted in 1997 to replace the Standard Industrial Classification system (SIC). Many databases in this guide allow searching by NAICS codes.
Example: 221114 Solar Electric Power Generation
SIC
The Standard Industrial Classification System (SIC) was replaced by the NAICS, which was released in 1997. Because SIC is still used by by some government bodies and in some markets, a number of databases allow searching by SIC code.
Example: 4911 Electric Services
ANZSIC
Australian and New Zealand Standard Industrial Classification (ANZSIC) was produced by the Australian Bureau of Statistics and Statistics New Zealand.
Example:2619 Solar electricity generation
GICS
Global Industry Classification Standard (GICS). GICS is a joint Standard and Poor’s/Morgan Stanley Capital International product aimed at standardising industry definitions.