Library Guides: European Union information sources: Recommended books

Recommended books

European Documentation Centres

European Documentation Centres are a network of information centres specialising in European Union information, established by the European Commission. The University of Melbourne Library is one of the 6 full European Documentation Centres in Australia and New Zealand, receiving the complete range of documentation issued by EU institutions.

It was granted the status of full EDC in 1995 with the aim of -

Helping the University promote and consolidate teaching and research in the field of European integration
Making information on the European Union and its policies available to the public, both in the University and elsewhere. (Artilce 4, EDC. Rules, annexed to agreement, 1995).

The EDC collection is mainly located in the Baillieu, Law and Giblin- Eunson (Economics and education) libraries, and can be found by searching the Library catalogue under -

Title - individual title of EU publication.
Author - e.g. European Commission, Commission of the European Communities, Office for Official Publications of the European Communities.
Subject - e.g. European Union countries.

List of subject headings

LCSH - EU

Many libraries use the Library of Congress (LC) subject heading system. The select list of subject headings in the linked file (below) can be used in subject searches to find useful materials on various topics relating to the European Union. Check also any variants listed under the main subject headings (eg European Union - public opinion - statistics; European Union - foreign relations - Australia). The subject headings in the list below are fairly generic, so for a more specific topic, start off with a keyword search, and then view the allocated subject headings listed on any relevant records retrieved. They will be hyper-linked to other records with the same subject heading.

Recommended books

Politics in the European Union by Ian Bache; Stephen George; Simon Bulmer
ISBN: 9780199544813
Publication Date: 2011-04-08
(Publisher description) With new chapters on the Lisbon Treaty, environmental policy, and freedom, security and justice, the third edition of Politics in the European Union is fully up-to-date, and remains an essential textbook for students of EU Politics. Four sections on the theories of integration, the history, institutions, and policies of the European Union, provide a comprehensive and well-balanced introduction to the subject to suit all course structures. Theoretical concepts are covered in particular detail, and integrated throughout the textto encourage students to draw links between the EU in theory and in practice. An accessible writing style, combined with a variety of helpful learning features make this the ideal textbook for all students of European Union Politics, including those coming to the subject for the first time.
The European Union: How does it work? by Elizabeth E. Bomberg (Editor); John Peterson (Editor); Alexander Stubb (Editor)
ISBN: 9780199206391
Publication Date: 2008-03-15
(Publisher description) The new edition of this concise introductory text de-mystifies the European Union's structures and operation. Blending scholarly expertise and practitioners' experience, the authors introduce and analyse the EU's key actors, processes and developments. The book's overall aim is to provide anaccessible, lively introduction to how the EU works and why it matters.
The ABC of European Union Law by Klaus-Dieter Borchardt
ISBN: 9789278405250
Publication Date: 2010
(Publisher description) The ABC of European Union Law by Professor Klaus-DieterBorchardt. The Lisbon Treaty entered into force on 1 December 2009, after being ratified by all 27 Member States of the European Union, and introduced changes to European law and institutions. The ABC of European Union law by Klaus-Dieter Borchardt examines the roots of the European project and its development as a legal order, and is a definitive reference work on the subject. The author offers insight into how the European Union is built, its broad principles and the legal order underpinning it, looking at this in relation to the national laws of the Member States. This book is intended for people with no specialist legal knowledge who wish to understand the implications of European law for their daily lives.
Governing the European Union by Simon Bromley (Editor); Open University Staff (Contribution by)
ISBN: 0761954619
Publication Date: 2001-05-02
(Publisher description) Governing the European Union is a completely new introductory text that is ideal for first-time students of the politics and government of the European Union (EU). Each topic is introduced thematically to provide an invaluable and accessible guide to the main issues and debates in the contemporary study of EU politics and governance. This book will enable students to: distinguish between `government' and `governance' in considering what kind of political system characterizes the EU; trace the evolution of the EU through its political and legal institutions to its contemporary processes and structures; compare and contrast the changing roles of nation states and governance at the EU level; examine major policy areas and evaluate new forms of politics and political culture in Europe; consider the role of the European legal system, the EU budget and questions of democracy, enlargement and foreign and security policy; and apply the main theoretical debates surrounding the evolving form and nature of governance in the EU.
European Union Politics by Michelle Cini (Editor); Nieves Pérez-Solórzano Borragán (Editor)
ISBN: 9780199548637
Publication Date: 2010-03-05
(Publisher description) An authoritative text that covers both EU theories and the EU institutions, alongside material on the key policies, issues and debate. This text is an invaluable resource that provides students with a solid foundation in the subject.In the third edition Michelle Cini has added to the team of international specialists. Divided into five parts: The historical context; Theories and conceptual approaches; Institutions and actors; Policy and policy-making in the EU; Issues and debates, the book provides comprehensive coverage of ademanding subject area.The new edition includes two new chapters on Enviornmental Policy and Policy-Making in the EU.
Developments in the European Union by Laura Cram, Desmond Dinan and Neill Nugent
ISBN: 0333736338
Publication Date: 1999
Europe : a history by Norman Davies
ISBN: 0198201710
Publication Date: 1996
(Publishers description) From the ice age to the Cold War, from Reykjavik to the Volga, from Minos to Margaret Thatcher, Norman Davies here tells the entire history of Europe in one single volume. The narrative zooms in from the distant focus of Chapter One, which explores the first five million years of the continent's development, to the close focus of the last two chapters, which cover the twentieth century at roughly one page per year. In between, Norman Davies presents a vast canvas packed with startling detail and thoughtful analysis. Alongside Europe's better-known stories - human, national and international - he examines subjects often spurned or neglected - Europe's stateless nations, for example, as well as the nation-states and great powers, and the minority groups from heretics and lepers to Romanies, Jews, and Muslims. He reveals not only the rich diversity of Europe's past but also the numerous prisms through which it can be viewed.
Ever Closer Union by Desmond Dinan
ISBN: 9781588266071
Publication Date: 2010-07-01
(Publisher description) In the five years since the third edition of Ever Closer Union was published, the EU has seen the ratification and implementation of the Lisbon Treaty, further enlargement, leadership changes, policy reforms, enduring Euroskepticism, an ever-growing global role, and more all of which is reflected in this fully revised and updated new edition. Unchanged, however, is the accessible, engaging nature of the text. Retaining its familiar three part structure history, institutions, and policies. Ever Closer Union clearly explains the complexities of European integration from the 1950s to the present.
The political system of the European Union by Simon Hix
ISBN: 033371654X
Publication Date: 1999
Citizenship and Identity in Europe by Leslie Holmes (Editor); Philomena Murray (Editor)
ISBN: 184014002X
Publication Date: 1999-07-01
(Publisher description) Focuses on the dilemmas of citizenship and identity in the uncertain atmosphere of Europe in the 1990s. The various chapters analyze citizenship and identity from a number of perspectives, including those of citizens themselves in both Eastern and Western Europe; of national governments; of the EC/EU; and of academic players. While most chapters are comparative, considering either the EU or various groupings of countries, one focuses on the European country that has in recent years, suffered most in terms of identity and citizenship: Yugoslavia.
The European Union : annual review of activities.
Publication Date: 1994 -
Developments in European Politics by Erik Jones (Editor); Paul M. Heywood (Editor); Martin Rhodes (Editor); Ulrich Sedelmeier (Editor)
ISBN: 0230221882
Publication Date: 2011-05-31
(Publisher description) Rarely has European politics been so tumultuous or difficult to predict. The global economic crisis and subsequent recession have had a profound effect on Europe's political, economic and social landscape, as governments have been forced to cope with almost unprecedented levels of public debt. A pan-European analysis is essential for those seeking to understand contemporary trends and developments. Developments in European Politics brings together specially commissioned chapters by leading authorities to give an up-to-date and systematic analysis of European political developments - in institutions, processes and policy - at both national and regional levels. It provides wide-ranging and clear analysis of the factors influencing European politics, from the Europeanization of national politics to the broader forces of globalization, immigration, climate change and international terrorism.
The Oxford Handbook of the European Union by Erik Jones; Anand Menon; Stephen Weatherill (Editor)
ISBN: 9780199546282
Publication Date: 2012-10-25
(Publisher description) This is an authoritative, one-volume, and independent treatment of the history, functioning and nature of the European integration. Written by a selection of leading scholars. It covers the major institutions, policies, and events in the history of integration, whilst also providing a guide tothe major theoretical approaches that have been used to study it over time. By bringing together such a distinguished cast covering such a wide array of themes, the Handbook is intended as a one stop shop for all those interested in the European Union and its predecessors. Written in an accessiblestyle, the volume is intended to shape the discipline of EU studies, and to establish itself as the essential point of reference for all those interested in European integration, both in universities and more broadly. It represents a timely guide to an institution that is much discussed but oftenonly imperfectly understood.
Postwar by Tony Judt
ISBN: 1594200653
Publication Date: 2005-10-06
(Publisher description) Finalist for the Pulitzer Prize Winner of the Council on Foreign Relations Arthur Ross Book Award One of the New York Times' Ten Best Books of the Year Almost a decade in the making, this much-anticipated grand history of postwar Europe from one of the world's most esteemed historians and intellectuals is a singular achievement. Postwar is the first modern history that covers all of Europe, both east and west, drawing on research in six languages to sweep readers through thirty-four nations and sixty years of political and cultural change-all in one integrated, enthralling narrative. Both intellectually ambitious and compelling to read, thrilling in its scope and delightful in its small details, Postwar is a rare joy.
European Union History by Wolfram Kaiser; Antonio Varsori
ISBN: 9780230281509
Publication Date: 2010-05-06
(Publisher description) An accessible yet thorough look at how historians and social scientists have thought and written about the history of the present-day European Union, and the main themes of their research and debates. Essential reading for historians of Europe and social scientists of the European Union alike.
Understanding the European Union by John McCormick
ISBN: 9780230298835
Publication Date: 2011-08-15
(Publisher description) This best-selling textbook provides a broad-ranging but concise introduction to the EU, covering all major aspects of European integration. The revised and updated new edition takes full acount of the Lisbon Treaty and the consequences for Europe of the global economic crisis. With 27 member states and nearly half a billion residents, the European Union is a major actor on the world stage. It has changed the way Europeans live, as well as the way the rest of the world relates to Europe. Yet it remains widely misunderstood and a source of puzzlement to many: - How does the EU work, and what impact has it had on the lives of Europeans? - What difference has it made to the meaning of 'Europe'? - How has it changed the role of Europe in the world? Written for anyone who needs a short and clear introduction to the EU, John McCormick's best-selling text provides a concise yet broad-ranging survey of how the EU works. It covers the history and institutions of the EU; the underlying principles of European integration; the impact of the EU on its member states and citizens; and the evolution and effect of EU policies. Fully revised, the new fifth edition brings the European story up to date with assessments of the Lisbon Treaty, the fallout from the global economic crisis, and the eurozone crises of 2010-2011.
European Union Politics by John McCormick
ISBN: 9780230577060
Publication Date: 2011-05-15
(Publisher description) This major new text provides an authoritative introduction to all aspects of politics and policy in the European Union. Written in the author's inimitably accessible style, it brings the European Union to life, giving readers a sense of the color and flavor of European Union politics and its impact on the citizens of Europe. * A major new introductory text specifically designed for students studying the European Union for the first time * Broad and detailed coverage of all aspects of European Union politics and policy and the nature of European integration * Written in the author's inimitably lively and accessible style - an extremely student-friendly new addition to a generally dry and dusty field * Readable and relevant, and alive to the human side of the European Union and the impact it has on the lives of Europe's citizens * Packed with a wide range of maps, charts, photos, and boxed features, including profiles of key figures in the theory and practice of European integration and country profiles of member states * Companion website includes updated materials, self test questions and answers, a searchable chronology glossary of terms, weblinks, and further reading and an instructor's site providing additional teaching resources
Visions of European Unity by Philomena Murray; Paul B. Rich
ISBN: 0813389658
Publication Date: 1996-04-18
Surveying the ideals and visions held by the founders of the European Community, this timely book also assesses the concepts and theories surrounding the European Union today. This volume is the first to explore the theoretical cleavages among Monnet, Spinelli, the federalists, and the functionalists together with the views of the Socialist, Labour, Social Democratic, Conservative, and Christian Democratic parties on the challenges of a United States of Europe. The contributors combine their theoretical analyses with extensive use of archival material, party programs, and speeches to provide an authoritative and comprehensive study of value to all scholars interested in European integration.
Citizenship and Identity in Europe by Leslie Holmes (Editor); Philomena Murray (Editor)
ISBN: 184014002X
Publication Date: 1999-07-01
(Publisher description) Focuses on the dilemmas of citizenship and identity in the uncertain atmosphere of Europe in the 1990s. The various chapters analyze citizenship and identity from a number of perspectives, including those of citizens themselves in both Eastern and Western Europe; of national governments; of the EC/EU; and of academic players. While most chapters are comparative, considering either the EU or various groupings of countries, one focuses on the European country that has in recent years, suffered most in terms of identity and citizenship: Yugoslavia.
Europe by Philomena Murray (Editor); Leslie Holmes (Editor)
ISBN: 1840140038
Publication Date: 1998-11-01
(Publisher description) This text analyzes the ever-changing boundaries and divisions of Europe. It examines the deepening and widening of the European Union, the disintegration of communist states, freedom of movement between East and West, concepts of citizenship and nationality, and civilizational boundaries.
The Government and Politics of the European Union by Neill Nugent
ISBN: 9780230241183
Publication Date: 2010-06-30
(Publisher description) A systematically updated and entirely redesigned new edition of the leading text on the European Union. The seventh edition is packed with new features, accompanied by an all-new companion website and includes new chapters on member state relations and interest representation.
Decision-Making in the European Union by John Peterson; Elizabeth E. Bomberg
ISBN: 033360492X
Publication Date: 1999-05-21
(Publisher description) Based on exhaustive research, this book explains how the European Union makes decisions in seven major policy sectors. Written in a clear, user-friendly style, it brings the EU alive for a student and non-specialist audience. The book's central themes are that informal norms often matter more than formal rules, agency often matters more than structure, and abrupt change often punctuates deadlock. It offers a theoretically-based introduction to the lively, humorous and fascinating politics of a unique experiment in modern governance.
The Institutions of the European Union by John Peterson (Editor); Michael Shackleton (Editor)
ISBN: 9780199279005
Publication Date: 2006-07-06
(Publisher description) The 'new' European Union has been constantly evolving since the mid 1980s, and it shows no sign of standing still. Virtually the only constant is the EU's institutions, which are both unique and time-honoured after 50 years of European integration.The institutions of the EU, individually and collectively, perform multiple tasks: providing the EU with political direction, managing policies and integrating interests.This new edition of The Institutions of the European Union will be the key text for any reader wishing to understand the functions, powers and compositions of EU institutions. The book has been fully updated and includes a new chapter on institutional and constitutional reform.
The Major Nation-States in the European Union by J. Richard Piper
ISBN: 0321106423
Publication Date: 2004-11-24
(Publisher description) Integrating the study of individual European nation-states within the framework of the European Union, this unique new text is essentially two books in one: a book on the EU and a comparative introduction to European politics. This text provides more value to students by combining two texts in one, but engages student interest and facilitates learning through a variety of useful features. Role-playing exercises encourage participation and test students' critical thinking skills, while an emphasis on the people behind the politics "humanizes" material and provides lively insights into contemporary European politics and society. To ensure student understanding, there is extensive material comparing and contrasting EU states to one another and to the United States, a thorough glossary at the end of the book, and an abundance of examples, tables, charts, and graphs to illustrate and extend the discussions.
Policy-Making in the European Union by Helen Wallace (Editor); Mark A. Pollack (Editor); Alasdair R. Young (Editor)
ISBN: 9780199544820
Publication Date: 2010-04-30
(Publisher description) The policies of the European Union profoundly affect the lives of people in Europe and around the world. The new edition of this highly successful textbook outlines how and why such decisions are made, as well as the key challenges faced by policy-makers in the current political and economicclimate. Policy-Making in the European Union begins by clarifying the institutional framework of the EU and the analytical approaches used to understand it. A wide range of crucial and illustrative policies are then explored in detail by subject experts. This volume includes new chapters on ways of analysing the EU's policy process and on energy policy. A central theme to the volume is how the recent expansion to twenty-seven member states has affected policy-making across the different policy sectors. The conclusion reflects on how this challengeand the protracted constitutional stalemate have affected policy-making in the EU. It also explores the impact of the financial and economic crises that have struck Europe over the past several years. The sixth edition is fully up-to-date, and is the ideal text for all those with an interest in the policy-making of the European Union.
European Union by J. J. Richardson
ISBN: 041522165X
Publication Date: 2001-07-10
(Publisher description) Written by some of the leading authorities in the field, this new edition has been significantly improved to provide the reader with even more authoritative and comprehensive coverage of how European Union policy is made.
The European Union by Senior
ISBN: 9780077129668
Publication Date: 2011-11-01
(Publisher description) Susan Senior Nello provides a multidisciplinary account of the economics, the policies and the history of the European Union.
Policy-Making in the European Union by Helen Wallace (Editor); Mark A. Pollack (Editor); Alasdair R. Young (Editor)
ISBN: 9780199544820
Publication Date: 2010-04-30
(Publisher description) The policies of the European Union profoundly affect the lives of people in Europe and around the world. The new edition of this highly successful textbook outlines how and why such decisions are made, as well as the key challenges faced by policy-makers in the current political and economicclimate. Policy-Making in the European Union begins by clarifying the institutional framework of the EU and the analytical approaches used to understand it. A wide range of crucial and illustrative policies are then explored in detail by subject experts. This volume includes new chapters on ways of analysing the EU's policy process and on energy policy. A central theme to the volume is how the recent expansion to twenty-seven member states has affected policy-making across the different policy sectors. The conclusion reflects on how this challengeand the protracted constitutional stalemate have affected policy-making in the EU. It also explores the impact of the financial and economic crises that have struck Europe over the past several years. The sixth edition is fully up-to-date, and is the ideal text for all those with an interest in the policy-making of the European Union.