Skip to Main Content

Library

Optometry and Vision Sciences

Discover information resources for students and researchers in Optometry and Vision Sciences

What is EBSCO?

EBSCO is a platform that hosts databases across a range of disciplines. Key databases for health and medicine are:

EBSCO Databases

See EBSCO databases in other discipline areas.

 


All EBSCO databases have the same layout.

Click the  buttons below for more information.

 


 

  • Above the search box will identify which database you are searching
  • To change click on the name of the database
    Screenshot of search box with the text "searching: CINAH" directly above box highlighted.

    Screenshot of list of databases with tickboxes to the left
  • A pop-up list will appear
  • Select the tickboxes next to the database(s) you desire​​​​​​
  • Click Select button

Searching

EBSCO has options for quick searches or comprehensive line-by-line searches

 

It helps to understand how databases work to construct a successful search strategy.

How do EBSCO databases search?

A keyword search:

looks for exact words in the database record

 does not look in the full text.

Full-text search is possible in some databases, however not all items are covered.

A google search:

corrects your spelling

interprets your search (tries to guess what you want)

 

This means you need to think carefully about your words:

Words can have different:

1. Meanings
 

  • mobile phone application
  • application of the ointment
  • job application

2. Spelling


fetus VS foetus

 

3. Terminology


physiotherapy (Australia)
physical therapy (US)
 

 

 

If you have a simple search you can type the keywords in the search box. 

EBSCO will search for each word within 5 words of each other.

Screenshot of search box with the text "pressure ulcer AND phototherapy AND (aged OR elderly) typed in

You are able to use search connectors (AND, OR) and search techniques (truncation, proximity) in the basic search but it may be easier to go the guided form in Advanced search

 

Search techniques and connectors

For guidance on using the search connectors AND, OR as well as the techniques of truncation and proximity, see Search techniques below

 

Advanced search: guided form

  • Type each alternative search term in a search box, connected with OR
  • Connect each concept with AND from the drop down menu

Screenshot of search for with three search boxes. 1st search box has "pressure ulcer* OR pressure sore*" 2nd search box phototherapy OR "light therapy" 2rd search box aged OR elderly OR "older people" OR geriatric. Search boxes are connected with a drop down box which has AND selected.

  • If you have more than three concepts click on +Add row below search form

 

Advanced search: line-by-line

Systematic reviews and other complex searching

We recommend line-by-line searching for systematic reviews, or other reviews where you need to search comprehensively. This is often required for publication.

Searching line-by line may be useful for a complex search as it gives you the power to check the impact of each search term and modify or troubleshoot individual terms.

 

 Video: Line-by-line searching

Watch this video (4 minutes) on how to do line-by-line searching in EBSCO.

 

Instructions: Line-by-line searching

  • Type in your search terms from your concept one at a time in the search box

 

  • When you have finished all the terms in the concept go to Recent activity on the left side navigation menu

 

  • Select all the terms in your concept using the tick box to the left of the term
  • Select the Combine searches button
  • Select Combine with OR

  • Repeat for each concept 
  • Select the tickbox for each concept
  • Select combine with AND

 

Search Modes

 EBSCO has the option of different search modes

  • Proximity - will automatically search each word entered separated by up to five words
  • Smart Search - will interpret your search. You can enter natural language sentences without constructing a search. This will reduce your ability to control the search and won't be suitable for advanced searching needed for many assessments.

More on search modes


A filter refines your search. It checks your chosen criteria in each result, for example

  • the date published
  • if an article is peer-reviewed

and excludes results which don't meet the criteria.

 

Filters can be applied before or after your search

Before you search:

  • Underneath the advanced search box the default tab on the left is Filters
  • Select the tickboxes for all filters you want applied

 

After you search:

  • There is a button All Filters directly under the search box
  • A menu will appear on the right-hand side of the screen. Select the tickboxes for the filters you wish to apply.

 

You have personal account created automatically in EBSCO.

We recommend saving searches for assessments and major projects to ensure you don't have to re-type.

  • Click the save button in the desired search line in Recent history
    The button is on the right-hand side of the screen above the search and looks like a favorites ribbon.

 

  • You can retrieve saved searches in the left navigation menu Saved

Search techniques

AND
 

 phototherapy AND aged join concepts together with AND

All of these terms must be included in each result

OR
 

 (elderly OR aged) join similar search terms together with OR

Any of these terms can be included in each results

phrase 
 

 "pressure ulcer" put search terms together in quote marks

Words in in exact order included in results
 

truncation
 

 genetic

use the asterisk to retrieve variations on a word

genetic* = genetic, genetics, genetically

 

proximity

 "middle ear" N2 infection 

words within a specific number

 "middle ear" N2 infection* = infections in the middle ear, middle ear infections

Truncation

Searches for variation of word endings.

TRUNCATION

same word,
different ending

pressure ulcer* =
pressure ulcer
pressure ulcers
pressure ulceration

Instructions:

  • Use the asterisk symbol * directly after the root of the word you are searching on.

Useful for:

  • saving space, making your search easier to read

Example:

  • search = pressure ulcer*
  • results =   
    • pressure ulcer
    • pressure ulcers
    • pressure ulceration

Don't truncate too far!

Think carefully about possible words you are searching for, this is a common cause of irrelevant results.

pandemic* = pandemic, pandemics

pandem* = pandemic, pandemics, pandemonium

pande* = pandemic, pandemics, pandemonium, pander, pandering

Proximity searching

Checks how closely search terms appear from each other..

PROXIMITY

words within a
specific number

"middle ear" N2 infection
=
infection in the middle ear
 middle ear infection

Instructions:

Use N or W and number of words you would like in-between the 2 search terms. 

Near Operator (N)

N1 Next to each other, in any order, up to 1 word in between
N2 Next to each other, in any order, up to 2 word in between

Within Operator (W)

W1 Next to each other, in order they are entered, up to 1 word in between
W2 Next to each other, in order they are entered, up to 2 word in between

Useful for:

  • concepts expressed by multiple phrases.
  • focus on a particular meaning of a word when you have irrelevant results.

Example:

  • search = "middle ear" N2 infection*
  • results = infections in the middle ear, middle ear infections

 

 

Proximity not working as hoped?

If proximity searching is back irrelevant results, you can

  • try and tweak the adjacency numbers
  • change to AND search
  • change to phrases
Subject headings are standard descriptions used by databases to help with searching. They help retrieve articles on a topic, even if different words are used in the text.

 Video: Basics of Subject Headings

Watch this video (4 minutes) on the basics of subject headings (not specific to EBSCO).

 

 Video: Adding a subject heading in CINAHL

Watch this video (4 minutes) on how to add a subject heading to a CINAHL search.

The steps are the same in other databases.

 

Instructions: Adding a Subject Heading in CINAHL

 

Find Headings
  • Select tab with Name of subject headings list. in this example we are in the CINAHL database so we will click CINAHL Headings

Check meaning
  • Check the Scope Note for a definition and more information.

 

 

Add to search
  • Click on the words of your desired Subject Heading

 

This will take you to the tree, showing where your heading sits in the hierarchy.

 

  • Select relevant subject heading 
  • Select only your subject heading - tickbox to left hand side of the title
  • Explode - this selects all subject headings underneath the current one - tickbox to far right of the title
  • Major concept - this selects articles which have identified this subject as the major focus - tickbox to immediate right of the title

 

 

  • Subheading list will appear. If suitable select Subheadings to narrow your search, Click Continue

Subheadings describe an aspect of the main heading to narrow the focus. 
More on subheadings.

  • The subject heading will now be added to search box above. 
  • Click blue search button at bottom of search form

 

Export to Reference Management Software

 

  • In results list:
  • After selecting tickboxes for result(s) the menu appears above the 1st result
  • Cite is 5th option across in menu and looks like quote marks.

 

  • A pop-up will appear
  • Move to second tab across Export citation
  • Click Export in RIS format

  • RIS file will download

 

 

  • In results list:
  • After selecting tickboxes for result(s) the menu appears above the 1st result
  • Cite is 5th option across in menu and looks like quote marks.

 

  • A pop-up will appear
  • Move to second tab across Export citation
  • Click Export in RIS format

  • RIS file will download

Find full text

 

  • At the bottom of each result is a button to obtain full text options
  • Look for 
    • PDF
    • Online Full text
    • Find it @ Melbourne

Tips for hard to find full text

If you are having trouble accessing full text using instructions above try the following.

  1. Look for the name of the journal in the library catalogue
    Navigate to where the article should be (using volume and/or date info)
     
  2. Still can't find it? 
    Although we subscribe to many journals, you may find items in EBSCO databases we do not have access to
    Try our Inter-library Loans service.

Online resources

Online resources for EBSCO

Canvas skill-building modules

Canvas modules are available on the LMS, you just need to enrol using the links below. They feature instructions and activities to build your skills.


Library Guides

Curated information from University of Melbourne librarians. No login required.


Health Sciences & Medicine:


Library Instagram
Library Blogs
Library Contacts