Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Selected reference sources
Dictionaries and encyclopedias are often a useful starting point. They can supply basic factual information and definitions. The University of Melbourne Library holds a large collection of reference works in print and electronic formats including subject specific dictionaries and encyclopedias.
Some online resources are available only to University of Melbourne staff and students. You will be prompted to enter your University email username and password. Once you have logged in go to Find a Database and type in the title of the resource.
Bibliography of Asian Studies
This on-line version of the Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) contains records on all subjects (especially in the humanities and the social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide from 1971 to the present. The BAS is updated regularly, with batch posting of thousands of new entries in each upload.
ASIANRES - ASIAN Resources: A Select Directory of Databases (Informit)
A Select Directory of Databases (ASIANRES), contains information on selected Asia/Pacific related databases and services. The primary focus here is research, the social sciences and humanities, and smaller, less commercial, databases that are being developed in the Asia/Pacific region. It covers the period up to 2001.