Databases - Online graduate courses - Master of Psychiatry - Library Guides at University of Melbourne

Searching Ovid Databases

Key subject databases in Psychiatry, Psychology and related areas are available on Ovid. For further assistance, consult the Ovid Database Guide.

Searching for Literature on PsycInfo (Ovid)

Databases (for finding scholarly journal articles)

Depending on your research area, you may want to search a database which focuses on a specific subject area. For psychiatry and related fields, PsycINFO and Medline are relevant search tools for locating specialist literature.

NB: Use your University of Melbourne username and password to connect to these subscription databases.

PsycINFO (Ovid) PsycINFO is an index covering literature published in psychology, psychiatry and related disciplines, including nursing, social work and pharmacology. Records are indexed using the Thesaurus of Psychological Index terms More than 3.5 million records Journal records = 80% of database; book and dissertation records = 20% Nearly 2,500 journals covered Comprehensive coverage from the 1880s
Medline (Ovid) Medline contains citations and abstracts from more than 5,500 biomedical and life sciences journals Records are indexed using the Medical Subject Heading (MeSH) terms More than 18,000,000 records 5,500 biomedical and life sciences journals indexed Coverage: 1948 - present
PsycARTICLES (Ovid) PsycARTICLES is a database of full-text articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation and the Canadian Psychological Association More than 178,000 full-text peer-reviewed journal articles 97 journals covered Coverage from 1894 – present
Embase (Ovid) Embase is a biomedical and pharmacological database containing bibliographic records with citations. Especially strong in: Drug and pharmaceutical research Psychiatry and mental health, including substance dependence and abuse Embase contains over 22 million records 7,500 active peer-reviewed journals Coverage: 1974 - present
Web of Science Web of Science is an interdisciplinary resource with 10,000 leading journals in science and social sciences, including psychiatry and psychology. Sources include journals, articles, conference proceedings and conventions.
Scopus Scopus is a multidisciplinary database indexing peer-reviewed research literature, trade publications and book series. Coverage includes science, medicine, the social sciences, arts and humanities.

Discovery Search

Use Discovery to search across the: Library Catalogue, Digital Repository and many databases, all at once.

You can also access Discovery via the library homepage.

Doing in-depth research? Also try databases listed in this guide.

What type of article?

Empirical Study: Scientific methodology based on experimentation, systematic observation, or measurement, rather than theoretical formulation

Longitudinal Study: The process of conducting observations or measurements of the same individual or group over an extended period

Treatment Outcome/Clinical Trial: Systematic, planned studies to evaluate the safety and efficacy of drugs, devices, or diagnostic or therapeutic practices

Literature Review / Systematic Review: The process of conducting surveys of previously published literature

Meta Analysis: The process of conducting a statistical analysis of a large collection of integrated findings

Google Scholar

Access: Advanced Scholar Search

How to access articles for free from the Library when you are searching Google Scholar

If you are searching from home or somewhere other than a computer at the campus, you need to set preferences in Google Scholar to activate access to full text for free via the Library.

Follow these steps to make the Find it @ UniMelb links visible in Google Scholar.

Go to Google Scholar http://scholar.google.com
Select the menu button in the top left corner of the page
Select the Settings option in the menu.
On the next screen, select the Library links option on the left.
Type, University of Melbourne Library in the search box > then select the search button.
Tick the checkbox next to the option: University of Melbourne Library - Find It@UniMelb
Select the Save button (Cookies must be enabled for your browser to remember your settings for future use)

The Find it @ UniMelb links will now appear in Google Scholar search results - use these to connect to the full-text