Skip to Main Content

Online graduate courses - Master of Psychiatry

eBooks Support

Finding ebooks

Guides to support your use of eBooks

The eBooks guide provides support for using the eBooks the Library makes available on many platforms.

Finding eBooks

  • To find eBooks in the Library Catalogue, limit your search to Online Books

  • To get started with using an eBook, open the catalogue record and then select> Connect to ebook (login with your University of Melbourne password)

Psychiatry eBook Collections

Use your University of Melbourne portal username and password to access these resources.

PsychiatryOnline is a web-based portal featuring textbooks and journals published by American Psychiatric Publishing. PsychiatryOnline includes the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-V-TR) and American Psychiatric Association (APA) practice guidelines.

PsycBOOKS is a full-text database of books and book chapters from the American Psychological Association plus important titles from other publishers. The database includes over 1700 books, including some out-of-print titles.

iG Library is comprehensive collection of peer reviewed electronic books published by American Psychiatric Publishing.

Clinical Resource Collections

NB: Use your University of Melbourne username and password to connect to resources.

These resources can get you answers in a flash with combinations of texts, drug guides and journal articles ready to go.

AccessMedicine provides students, residents, clinicians, researchers, and all health professionals with access to more than 65 medical titles from the best minds in medicine, updated content, thousands of images and illustrations, interactive self-assessment, case files, time-saving diagnostic and point-of-care tools.

Oxford Medicine Online is an interconnected collection of online medical resources. The Library has access to selected collections within OMO.

 

Drugs

NB: Use your University of Melbourne username and password to connect to resources.

DSM Library

NB: Use your University of Melbourne username and password to connect to electronic book.

The DSM is a standard diagnostic tool used by mental health professionals. Each psychiatric disorder with its corresponding diagnostic code is accompanied by a set of diagnostic criteria and descriptive details.

The Handbook helps clinicians and students learning the process of psychiatric diagnosis improve their skill in formulating a comprehensive differential diagnosis by providing a variety of approaches.

The Cases exemplify the mental disorders categorized in the DSM-5. Cases are cross-referenced with DSM-5 and help with understanding diagnostic concepts.

Previous editions of DSM are available for reference and archival purposes.

Finding eBooks in the Library Catalogue

Borrowing print copies of books within Australia

Borrowing print copies of books within Australia

Borrowing from the University of Melbourne physical collections.

  • If you live in Melbourne you can visit the campus and borrow from the University of Melbourne Library.  You will need to ask your Graduate Online Support Consultant to organise a borrowing card for you. We are unable to mail out books.

CAVAL

  • A CAVAL card will allow you to browse the collections and borrow from other universities within Victoria. Ask your Graduate Online Support Consultant to organise a borrowing card for you.

ULANZ

  • Live interstate? Find copies of books held in Australian libraries using TROVE. Use the ULANZ borrowing scheme to borrow in person from any other participating Australian and New Zealand University libraries. Check the institutional requirements for borrowing and contact your Graduate Online Support Consultant if you need assistance with meeting the identification requirements.

eBook Recommendations