Library Guides: Research support for Law Graduate Researchers: Publishing and promoting

Managing researcher profiles

Used well, researcher profiles can help you promote your work, easily manage your publication outputs and assist with grant or promotion applications. They may help alert you when your scholarly work is cited or being discussed online. Many profiles allow automatic updating from publisher information, depending on the permissions you choose. Other profiles are optional, but maybe useful as they are highly visible to others. Some may be auto-generated and can benefit from being claimed, cleaned up and maintained.

ORCID
All Graduate Researchers at UniMelb are required to have an ORCID (Open Researcher and Contributor ID) for submission of their thesis.
Its free, the set up process is fast, and depending on the access permissions you grant, it can be automatically updated by publishers so your current work is always showing.
Researcher Profiles, Identifiers and Social Networks: Maximise your Impact
Detailed information on establishing, maintaining and granting permissions to a range of researcher profiles on the Researcher Profiles.

How can I measure my research impact?

Research Impact
A comprehensive introduction to all things impact and includes discipline-specific advice for researchers in Law.

Submitting your thesis

What are my thesis submission requirements?

My thesis in the library
Detailed information for submitting your thesis electronically via the Thesis Examination System can be found here. This page outlines the submission process, including open access permissions, cover sheets, system log in questions and how to amend any errors
Graduate Researcher Training Policy
The Graduate Researcher Training Policy mandates that a digital copy of a completed higher degree thesis must be submitted to the University of Melbourne Institutional Repository (Minerva Access). The thesis must be deposited prior to award of the degree.
ORCID
All University of Melbourne graduate researchers are required to include an ORCID on the title page of their thesis.

Does the University have requirements around open scholarship?

The University of Melbourne is committed to disseminating its research as widely as possible in support of accelerating the pace of discovery, encouraging innovation, enriching education and contributing to the public good.

Open Scholarship
The Open Scholarship page outlines the university's expectations and priorities and addresses frequently asked questions.

Open Access Repositories & Journals

Minerva Access
Minerva Access is the University's Institutional Repository. It aims to collect, preserve, and showcase the intellectual output of staff and students of the University of Melbourne for a global audience.
SSRN
Social Science Research Network (SSRN) is devoted to the rapid worldwide dissemination of research and is composed of specialized research networks in many disciplines.
LawArXiv
LawArXiv is a free, open access, nonprofit, pre and post-print repository for scholarly legal content. It is owned and maintained by members of the legal community.

Tools

Use the following resources to identify the best Open access journals to publish in and check publishers open-access policies.

DOAJ
DOAJ is an independent community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals
SherpaRomeo
SherpaRomeo is a database you can use to check publishers policies regarding “self-archiving” so to avoid copyright infringement.
How Can I Share It?
How Can I Share It look-up tool provides an easy way to check where a journal article can be shared in line with the paper’s access and usage rights.

Publishing strategies

Where should I publish?

Scholarly Publishing
For a comprehensive overview of publishing considerations, visit the Scholarly Publishing library guide. It contains information on choosing publishers, turning your thesis into a book, choosing and evaluating journals or conferences, open access publishing and publishing models, predatory publishing and conferences, resources available from publishers and more.

Law journal ranking and information quick links

ABDC Journal Quality List 2021 (Excel/.xsls, 1.7MB)
Produced by the Australian Business Deans Council, this list assesses the quality of journals in the business and law disciplines (Excel/.xsls, 1.7MB).
Scimago Journal & Country Rank
Includes the journals and country scientific indicators developed from the information contained in the Scopus database.
UlrichsWeb: Global Serial Directory
Detailed information on more than 300,000 periodicals of all types: academic and scholarly journals, e-journals, peer-reviewed titles, popular magazines, newspapers, newsletters, and more.
Think, Check, Submit
An international, cross-sector initiative that aims to educate researchers, promote integrity, and build trust in credible research and publications.
Research Impact
For more information more about journal ranking or quality consult the Research Impact guide.

What's your publishing strategy?

Dr Lauren Notini (Research Fellow in Biomedical Ethics at the Melbourne Law School and Biomedical Ethics Research Group, Murdoch Children’s Research Institute) joined Melbourne Law School in 2018.

In this video she shares her top ten tips for getting published and the benefits of having a publishing strategy.