Architects, engineers and the law by
Constructing a building is a complex legal as well as technical project. Consequently, architectural and engineering practice increasingly demands a sound understanding of planning and commercial law issues.Architects, Engineers and the Law has become the standard reference for architects, engineers and lawyers on the legal aspects of day-to-day architectural and engineering practice. J R Cooke provides clear concise explanations of the legal responsibilities of architects and engineers, and the consequences of the many legal processes and relationships part of the construction process.Twenty-six chapters coverContracts Tenders Employment relationships Budgets and estimates Progress certificates Statutory planning and building control Restrictions on land use Consent authorities and planning appeal tribunals Moral rights legislation Standards of professional conduct and care Consequences of breaches of professional duty and care. Architects, Engineers and the Law will enable you to proceed confident that you understand the legal responsibilities and consequences of your practice.
Building and construction claims and disputes by 
Building Law Encyclopaedia by
Building Law Encyclopaedia is a concise and authoritative reference, providing information in reasonable depth on an extensive number of legal terms, principles, phrases and issues that are commonly encountered in the construction industry. Most standard contracts are referred to, including the current suite of JCT Contracts, SBC, IC, ICD, MW, MWD, as well as ACA, PPC 2000, GC/Works/1 and NEC. In addition, some contracts which are theoretically out of date, but which are still in common use, are also covered. With over 1050 entries and numerous cross references, it will be an invaluable reference for architects, quantity surveyors, project managers and contractors. With detailed reference to appropriate case law and legislation, construction lawyers will also find it of considerable value in the course of their work.
The construction and performance of commercial contracts by
Limit search to items available for borrowing or consultation
Look for full text
Search Discovery
Search Trove
Add record to RefWorks
Cover Art
PRINTED BOOKS
Author Christensen, Sharon, 1966- author.
Title The construction and performance of commercial contracts / S A Christensen, W D Duncan.
Published Leichhardt, NSW : The Federation Press, 2018.
Location Call No. Status
UniM Law KN 10 K1 CHRI DUE 21-05-20
Edition 2nd editon.
Physical description lxv, 605 pages ; 25 cm
Notes Previous edition: 2014.
Bibliography Includes bibliographical references and index.
Other author Duncan, W. D. (William David), author.
Subject Contracts -- Australia.
Commercial law -- Australia.
ISBN 9781760021757
Summary
This book analyses the principles underlying the construction and application of a number of boilerplate and other clauses commonly included in commercial contracts.The second edition fully updates all case and statute law since publication of the first edition in 2014. Several chapters have been extensively revised and updated to incorporate analysis of significant High Court and superior court decisions concerning the construction of contracts, penalties and liquidated damages, and unfair terms. This edition adopts the same chapters and internal format as the first edition so as to maintain easy reader accessibility. The authors have endeavoured to maintain the high standard of legal analysis, extensive referencing and practical relevance favourably commented upon by a reviewer of the first edition in the Australian Business Law Review.This excellent new work provides substantial practical guidance for both general issues of construction of contracts but more particularly, to issues that arise in relation to the construction of specific clauses frequently encountered in commercial contracts.Key Features of the New EditionChapter 2 which explains the general principles and approach to contract construction has been considerably revised following the High Court's 2015 decision in Mount Bruce Mining Pty Ltd v Wright Prospecting Pty Ltd and subsequent seminal cases, including Simic v New South Wales Land and Housing Corporation (2016), Ecosse Property Holdings Pty Ltd v Gee Dee Nominees Pty Ltd (2017), Victoria v Tatts Group Ltd (2016), WIN Corporation Pty Ltd v Nine Network Australia Pty Ltd (2016) and Cherry v Steele-Park (2017). The key impacts of these decisions for contract interpretation and the use of extrinsic evidence are analysed and explained in detail.The material in each chapter relating to unfair contract terms has been significantly revised following the amendment of the Australian Consumer Law to prohibit unfair contract terms in small business contracts. Case law since 2014 examining the interpretive approach to unfair terms and application to small business contracts has been incorporated.Chapter 4 on liquidated damages and penalties has been extensively rewritten to take account of the High Court decision in Paciocco v Australia and New Zealand Banking Group (2016) with analysis of further case law and commentaries that have applied the principles in Andrews v Australia and New Zealand Banking Group Limited.The commentary on consumer guarantees has been updated to incorporate an analysis of the Federal Court decision in Valve Corporation v Australian Competition and Consumer Commission (2017) and a more extensive analysis of proportionate liability.Chapter 12 on notices has been extensively revised particularly taking into account the increasing body of case law about the sending and receipt of notices by electronic communication.
Construction claims by
This book is a valuable plain English guide for everyone in the construction industry, commercial or residential, lawyers, consultants, adjudicators and students.
Construction contracts : principles and policies in tort and contract by 
Construction law, costs, and contemporary developments : drawing the threads together by 
Construction law. by 
Construction law : law and practice relating to the construction industry by 
Construction Law and Management by
Access through i-law. Construction Law and Management explains the state of design information appropriate to a given procurement route, and the need to identify risks and strategies for managing them. This handy desk side reference offers a comprehensive guide to construction law and management and is essential reading for anyone in the construction, architecture and engineering industries.
Construction Law in Australia by
Construction Law in Australia is an authoritative and accessible text on the law relating to building and construction in Australia and now appears in its fourth edition. Ian Bailey SC, working with a team of experienced practitioners, provides succinct, yet accurate, legal statements which explain the legal and practical context in which the industry operates. Key topics include: The Australian legal system Understanding the law Regulation of construction Participants in the industry Contract law Tort law Property law Procurement methodologies Key issues in construction contracts Standard forms Professional liability NEW - Insuring risk in construction projects Dispute avoidance, management and resolution Conduct of construction disputes In addition, the book outlines a wealth of resources to help readers understand the latest developments in each area. This highly respected title provides a comprehensive overview of the law and is an invaluable resource for students, legal practitioners and construction professionals including engineers, architects and builders.
Dictionary of Construction Terms by
The Dictionary of Construction Terms offers clear and concise explanations of the most commonly encountered legal and technical terms, phrases and abbreviations used throughout the construction industry. It will save valuable time when searching for an authoritative explanation of a frequently used term and will become a practical reference for construction lawyers, practitioners and students, as well as those in related industries including planning, property and insurance. Why you should buy this book: There is no other all-inclusive collection of legal and technical terms available at present Convenient source of information for lawyers, practitioners and students Includes a list of common technical acronyms (ie. DPC, DPM, FFL) Lists acronyms of common institutions such as the ICE, JCT and ACE Examples of definitions: Modular construction A modern construction method whereby the building is constructed using prefabricated or pre-assembled building sections or modules. The three-dimensional building sections are typically fabricated and assembled in an enclosed factory environment and then delivered to site, ready for installation. Modular construction is aimed at minimising construction time by standardising design components, providing consistent quality and allowing site preparation and building activities to commence concurrently with the construction of the factory-made modules. Snagging The process of formally inspecting the construction works to identify any incomplete works or defects in completed works. A snagging list (or 'punch list') is a schedule of defects resulting from this inspection. These items typically need to be rectified prior to the issuing of a completion certificate or handing-over of the works although in some cases a completion certificate will be issued with a snagging list attached.
Hudson's building and engineering contracts by 
Legal Aspects of Architecture, Engineering and the Construction Process by
The primary focus of this text is to provide a bridge for students between the academic world and the real world. This bridge is built through an understanding of what is law, how law is created, how law affects almost every activity of human conduct, and how legal institutions operate. Intended mainly for architectural and engineering students, but increasingly for those in business schools and law schools, this text features a clear, concise, and jargon-free presentation. It probes beneath the surface of legal rules and uncovers why these rules developed as they did, outlines arguments for and against these rules, and examines how they work in practice. Updated with the most recent developments in the legal aspects of architectural, engineering, and the construction processes, this text is also a valuable reference for practitioners and has been cited in over twenty-five court decisions. A new 2017 Update includes the latest changes regarding relevant industry associations, regulations, and codes of ethics. The supplement includes hard copies of AIA B101-2017; A101-2017; A101-2017, Exhibit A; and A201-2017. The book�s website has AIA A401-2017; EJCC C-520, C-700, and E-500; and the American Arbitration Association (AAA) Construction Industry Arbitration Rules.
Lessons from Grenfell Tower: The new building safety regime by
As a consequence of the Grenfell Tower fire, a building safety revolution is underway for construction and property professionals. This book analyses prior significant building fires and explains the new building safety regime including the Building Safety Act 2022 and the Building Safety Regulator.
Show Me the Bodies: How we let Grenfell happen by
Peter Apps exposes how a steady stream of deregulation, corporate greed and institutional indifference caused this tragedy. It is the story of a grieving community forsaken by our government, a community still waiting for change.
Understanding construction law (3rd edition) by
This text will also be a valuable reference for individuals working in the construction industry. It illustrates how legal principles are applied in transactions, covering all Australian jurisdictions and including information on construction industry and practice. The author team combines in-depth experience in the construction industry, legal practice and academia to present an authoritative but readable and practical text with no assumed knowledge of law
