Skip to main content

Construction Law Guide

Introduction


Welcome to the Construction Law guide.

This guide will help you with research for the following courses of study offered by the Melbourne Law School: 

Quick Links 

Building and Construction Contracts in Australia (Dorter and Sharkey)

Online commentary on construction contracts
JustisOne UK legislation and cases, plus the JustCite case citator
Lexis Advance

Australian journals (including ACLB), cases, legislation and commentary (includes the case citator Casebase)

Lexis PSL Construction Includes practice notes, checklists, precedents, cases, and access to certain FIDIC, JCT and other internationally-used forms.
SAI Global on-line premium - Australian and international building, construction and general standards (including AS contract forms)
Westlaw AU (Thomson Reuters) Cases, Legislation, Commentary & Journal Articles (including BCL)

What's New

New book available: Collaborative Construction Procurement and Improved Value 

The Library has recently purchased David Mosey's Collaborative Construction Procurement and Improved Value. This book is available as an ebook, see the catalogue record for details and a link to the full text of the book. 

2019 edition of the National Construction Code (NCC) now available

The 2019 edition of the NCC has just been published and is accessible via the ABCB Codes and Standards platform.

Commentary

Building Contracts Australia

Commentary and precedents & Construction Law Handbook (Lexis Advance > All Publications)
Building and Construction Contracts in Australia (Dorter and Sharkey) Online commentary on construction contracts.
Construction Law Made Easy (Minter Ellison) Online encyclopaedia and 'constructionary' of construction law terms.
Lexis PSL Construction

Includes practice notes, checklists, precedents, cases, and access to certain FIDIC, JCT and other internationally-used forms.

i-Law


 

i-law is the portal for the Informa suite of construction law products and includes: 

There is a two-step process to access i-law resources, below are the instructions: 

1. Once you have clicked on a link to an i-law publication, you will need to login with your University of Melbourne username and password

 

1. Once you have clicked on a link to an i-law publication, you will need to login with your University of Melbourne username and password                              
2. You will then be taken to the i-law resource. Login with your unimelb.edu.au email address: 

Journals & Cases

Australian Alternative Dispute Resolution Bulletin

Australian Construction Law Bulletin
Australian Construction Law Newsletter (see the instructions for accessing this newsletter)
Building and Construction Law Journal
Buildlaw
Building Dispute Practitioners Society Newsletter  check the catalogue for availability.
Building Law Reports (once you have clicked on the link, you will need to login with your unimelb.edu.au email address)
Construction Industry Law Letter (once you have clicked on the link, you will need to login with your unimelb.edu.au email address)
Construction Law International
Construction, Economics and Building (formerly Australasian Journal of Construction, Economics and Building) 
The Construction Lawyer
Construction Law Journal (after logging in to Westlaw UK, select Journals at the top and search for Construction Law Journal in the Journal Title field)
International Construction Law Review (once you have clicked on the link, you will need to login with your unimelb.edu.au email address)
International Journal of Law in the Built Environment
Journal of the American College of Construction Lawyers via Westlaw  - (no direct link to this title, once in Westlaw, select Secondary Sources. Under the heading 'By Topic' select 'Construction Law' and then select 'Journal of the American College of Construction Lawyers'. Use the search bar at the top of the screen to search this journal. 
Journal of the Canadian College of Construction Lawyers via Westlaw and Westlaw Next Canada (no direct link to this title, when you have connected to Westlaw, search for the journal using the journal-title in the search box at the top of the screen)
Lloyds Maritime and Commercial Law Quarterly (once you have clicked on the link, you will need to login with your unimelb.edu.au email address)

Accessing the Australian Construction Law Newsletter


Material published in the ACLN is selected from a variety of sources, including academic journals, conference papers, judicial speeches, professional associations and law firms, to name a few. It includes a mixture of articles, case notes, book reviews and up-to-date analyses on important developments in construction law. 

Law Firm Publications

Professional Bodies

American College of Construction Lawyers                                       Journal access, information for members, general and events information.
Building Dispute Practitioners Society, Australia  Event information, news, links/resources and member services.
Canadian College of Construction Law   Information about the college, industry news and articles.
Society of Construction Law, Australia   News, member services, resources and information.
Society of Construction Law, Hong Kong  

Industry papers, information for members, general and events information.

Society of Construction Law, New Zealand  News, member services, presentation papers, SCL rules.
Society of Construction Law, North America   News, member services, resources and information.
Society of Construction Law, United Kingdom  Papers, events, news, member services and information. Those studying or teaching at academic institutions can access papers for free. This webpage has more information about access for students and teachers. 
Technology and Construction Court, England and Wales  Court forms, daily list and judgments.

Accessing the Australian Construction Law Newsletter


Material published in the ACLN is selected from a variety of sources, including academic journals, conference papers, judicial speeches, professional associations and law firms, to name a few. It includes a mixture of articles, case notes, book reviews and up-to-date analyses on important developments in construction law. 

Standards, Codes & Contract Forms

ABCB Codes & Standards This service provides access to the National Construction Code (NCC), which consists of the Building Code of Australia (BCA) + the Plumbing code of Australia (PCA) and the Australian Standards referenced by the codes.
Australian Building Industry Contracts (ABIC) Available on the Acumen database, ABIC are jointly published by the Australian Institute of Architects and Master Builders Australia. 
HIA Forms  The suite of Housing Industry Association contract forms for use around Australia are available via this link. Once you have registered on the site, go to ‘Create’ on the ‘Contracts Online’ page, select the contract you want, then click ‘create contract’ (not ‘create template'. Then click ’save and exit’ without filling it in (if you fill in the contract, it will prompt you to pay for it). Back at your ‘My Contracts’ list, click on the contract and then click ‘preview’. This will generate a sample contract to view for student purposes (watermarked ‘draft only, do not sign’). 
Lexis PSL Construction Includes practice notes, checklists, precedents, cases, and access to certain FIDIC, JCT and other internationally-used forms.
NEC 4 Contracts 

A suite of contracts covering various aspects of the project management life cycle, such as planning, defining legal relationships and procurement of works, project management, and project completion. For further information about NEC 4 and descriptions of each of the contracts see the NEC 4 website.

CMS Cameron McKenna's publication NEC 4: A Closer Look at the Changes in the ECC discusses the changes in NEC4.

Standards Online Australian and international building, construction and general standards (including Australian Standards contract forms AS4000, AS4902 etc)

 

Texts and e-books

i-Law


i-law has e book versions of:

 Construction Law by Julian Bailey

   

Remedies in Construction Law by Roger and Camilla ter Haar

Construction Law and Management by Nicholas Gould and Victoria Russell

Construction Contract Variations by  Michael Sergeant and Max Wieliczko

Once you have clicked on the link to the i-law publication, you will need to login with your unimelb.edu.au email address. For instructions on how to do this, go to the Commentary page of this guide. 

General Texts

Project Procurement

Standard Form Contracts

International Projects

Specific Contracting Issues

Associated Issues

Other Links

MTECC Papers Publications and papers from the leading specialist counsel at the Victorian Bar dealing with technology, engineering and construction law.
Construction Law Research Guide University of Toronto Construction Law Resources page from the University of Toronto - North American resources.
Infrastructure Australia Infrastructure Australia publication links.

International Building Quality Center publications

The IBQC is hosted by the University of Canberra. Its focus is on ‘best practice’ in building regulatory systems.

Contact Us

If you need assistance finding and using any of the books, journal articles, databases and resources in this guide, please contact a law librarian.  You can use the 'Ask a Librarian' chat service for quick questions, or for more in-depth enquiries, please email: law-library@unimelb.edu.au