Library Guides: Indian Law: Journals and books

Finding journal articles on Indian law

Journal article databases allow you to search hundreds of journal titles at the same time and are the most effective way to find relevant articles. These databases provide indexes/abstracts and/or full-text articles.

Multijurisdictional law journal article databases

Articles on Indian law are not only written in Indian journals, so we recommend you use the following multijurisdictional legal databases. These contain mostly journals from 'western' common law jurisdictions such as the US, Canada, UK, Ireland, Australia and New Zealand, but include much written about Indian law.

Informit
Contains many multidisciplinary indexing and abstracting services, with predominantly Australasian and Asia/Pacific content. AGIS is the most comprehensive tool for finding Australasian legal articles.

AustLII Journals (Australasian)
Index to Legal Periodicals
Combines the Index to Legal Periodicals with over 1,200 full text journals to provide coverage of the most respected scholarly law journals from the US, Canada, Great Britain, Ireland, Australia, and New Zealand.

Asian Law Online
Created and maintained by the Melbourne Law School Asian Law Centre. Searchable database of citations.
Gale OneFile: LegalTrac
Provides indexing for major law reviews, legal newspapers, bar association journals and international legal journals. Article title index only - no abstracts.
HeinOnline
Contains full-text articles from thousands of journals, all back to the first issue. It is the best source to use if you want to find older articles.
SSRN eLibrary
Includes university research papers and forthcoming articles and book chapters accepted for publication, and is the best source of very recent scholarship.
Westlaw UK
Includes full-text access to more than 100 legal journals and an index to over half a million article abstracts from hundreds of journals

Multidisciplinary Indian journal articles

ProQuest
~ India Database (Proquest)
~ ~ Full-text scholarly journal articles published in Indian journals. Covers major areas of study, including business, history, language and literature, health and medicine, science, technology, social sciences and humanities. Coverage: from 1998 to current.
~ East & South Asia Database (Proquest)
~ ~ Full-text scholarly articles locally published in various East Asian and South Asian countries.Covers major areas of study, including business, science, technology, engineering, social sciences, education and humanities.
Bibliography of Asian Studies
Provides indexing coverage of many important journals, particularly ones published in Asia, which are not indexed anywhere else. It also contains citations to English-language book chapters, conference proceedings and more. Covers all subjects, especially in the humanities and the social sciences, pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide. Coverage: from 1971 to the present.

Individual journal titles

The following list of journals is a selection of those held either in print or online by the Law Library.

Annual Survey of Indian Law by Indian Law Institute
Call Number: UniM Law K 1 ANNU
1965-2009 in print on Level 5
2011+ online via Lexis+ Australia
Banaras Law Journal by Banaras Hindu University, Law College
Call Number: UniM Law P BANA
v.1-9, 1965-73
Indian Journal of Constitutional Law
Publication Date: 2007 +
Indian Journal of Intellectual Property Law
Publication Date: 2008 +
Indian Journal of International Law by Indian Society of International Law
Call Number: UniM Law P INDI
v.1-39, 1960-1999
Indian Journal of Law and Technology by National Law School, India University, Bangalore
2005 +

Indian Journal of Tax law
vol 1 (2014) to current

International Journal of Legal Research
Call Number: UniM Law P INTE
v.1-7, 1966-1972
Jindal Global Law Review by Jindal Global University
vol 6, 2015 +
Journal of Intellectual Property Rights
Publication Date: 2002 +
Journal of the Indian Law Institute
Call Number: UniM Law P JOUR
v.1-51, 1958-2009
Kerala Law Journal
Call Number: UniM Law P KERA
v.3-17, 1959-1973
Kurukshetra Law Journal by Faculty of Law, B. N. Chakravarty University
Call Number: UniM Law KD 700 KURU
v. 1- 1971-

National Law School of India Review
vol 1 (1998) to current
Note: title varies:
Vols. 1-13 (1988-2001) - Student Advocate
Vols. 14-19 (2002-2007) - Student Bar Review

National Law University, Delhi (NLUD) Law Research Series
Call Number: 2010 +
NALSAR University of Law, Law Review
Publication Date: 2003-2004; 2006; 2011 +
NALSAR Media Law Review
Publication Date: 2010 +
NALSAR Student Law Review
Publication Date: Online on LII of India - open access: 2005; 2007-2008; 2011 +

NLS Business Law Review
vol I (2015) to current

NUJS Law Review
Publication Date: vol 1 (2008) to current

Selected print and ebooks on Indian law

Print books on Indian law are held on Level 5 of the Law Library at KT 1501 - 1650.

Legalizing Sex: Sexual Minorities, AIDS, and Citizenship in India by Chaitanya Lakkimsetti
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: New York Univ Press, 2020
The Conflict of Laws in India by VC Govindaraj
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: OUP, 2nd ed, 2019
Discourse on Rights in India: Debates and Dilemma by Bijayalaxmi Nanda and Nupur Ray
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: Routledge, 2019
Gendered Citizenship: Understanding Gendered Violence in Democratic India by Natasha Behl
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: OUP, 2019
Conflict in the Shared Household: Domestic Violence and the Law in India by Indira Jaising & Pinki Mathur Anurag (eds)
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: OUP, 2019
Extradition Laws in the International and Indian Regime: focusing on global terrorism by Ananya Chakraborty
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: Palgrave Macmillan, 2019
Divorcing Traditions: Islamic marriage law and the making of Indian secularism by Katherine Lemons
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: Cornell University Press, 2019
India's Constitutional Identity: Ideological Beliefs and Preferences by Bidyut Chakrabarty
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: Routledge, 2019
Law and Democracy in Contemporary India: Constitution, Contact zone, and Performing Rights by Tatsuya Yamamoto & Tomoaki Ueda (eds)
Call Number: KT 1581 LAW
Publication Date: Palgrave Macmillan, 2019
A People's Constitution: the Everyday Life of Law in the Indian Republic by Rohit De
Call Number: KT 1577 DE
Publication Date: Princeton University Press, 2018
Costs of Democracy: Political finance in India by Milan Vaishnav & Devesh Kapur (eds)
Call Number: KT 1583 COST
Publication Date: OUP, 2018
Governing Islam: Law, Empire, and Secularism in Modern South Asia by Julia Stephens
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: CUP, 2018
Rethinking Indian Jurisprudence: an Introduction to the philosophy of law by Aakash Singh Rathore & Garima Goswamy
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: Routledge, 2018
Rule of Law in India: A Quest for Reason by Harish Narasappa
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: Oxford University Press, 2018
Triple Talaq by Salman Khrushid
Call Number: KT 1617.4 KHUR
Publication Date: OUP, 2018
Homosexuality in the Jurisprudence of the Supreme Court of India by Yeshwant Naik
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: Springer, 2017
The Indian Yearbook of Comparative Law 2020 by Mathew John et al (eds)
Call Number: Ebook
Publication Date: 2023
Law and Economics in India by Bimal N Patel, Ranita Nagar & Hiteshkumar Thakkar (eds)
Call Number: KT 1627 LAW
Publication Date: Taylor & Francis, 2017
Refugee Law in India: the road from ambiguity to protection by Shuvro Prosun Sarker
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: Palgrave Macmillan, 2017
Restorative Justice in India: Traditional Practice and Contemporary Applications by R. Thilagaraj & Jianhong Liu (eds)
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: Springer, 2017
Water Law in India: An Introduction to Legal Instruments by Philippe Cullet & Sujith Koonan (eds)
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: OUP, 2017
When Crime Pays: Money and Muscle in Indian Politics by Milan Vaishnav
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: Yale Univ Press, 2017

Ebooks on law databases

The following databases are a good source of ebooks on Indian law.

Manupatra : India Legal Law Database
Provides access to a large collection of full-text practitioner and academic ebooks.
Foreign Law Guide (Brill)
Provides commentary and lists of useful books and articles. The books and articles are not available in full text, but the bibliographies are useful starting points for your research into particular legal topics.

Ancient Indian legal texts

Manusmriti
Manusmriti - Known in English as the Laws of Manu. A translation into English by Georg Bühler published in 1886 in the Sacred Books of the East (Vol. XXV) (Oxford University Press). Available as a physical copy through the Library.