United States Refugee Statistics
- US Office of Immigration Statistics Annual Flow ReportProvides information on the number of persons admitted to the United States as refugees or granted asylum in the United States in 2013.
- UNHCR - USALatest US refugee statistical snapshot from UNHCR.
UNHCR Resettlement Handbook - USA
US Refugee News
Loading ...
United States Refugee Associations
A great place to start....
A great place to start....
To find up to date commentary, cases and legislation on US refugee law, we recommend using American Jurisprudence on Westlaw (database identifier: AMJUR) - an encyclopedic statement of American law arranged alphabetically by topic.
Once in Westlaw, to find the Refugee entry in American Jurisprudence:
- select the United States tab. American Jurisprudence is listed on this page.
- link to the Table of Contents.
- Scroll through the alphabetical list to Aliens and Citizens and use the + signs to navigate to III: Seeking Admission to the United States: Immigrants, Nonimmigrants, Refugees and Asylees and then C: Refugees and Asylum.
- You can then either browse through the content using the + signs to get increasingly specific until you get to a hyperlink to the full-text commentary, or click on a heading and search within it.
- Here you will find commentary, cases and links to the relevant legislation in the US Code.
United States Refugee Cases
Finding Refugee Cases from all US Courts
Many refugee cases heard in all US courts and Boards are available as pdf replicas of the original unreported judgments on the UNHCR's Refworld website (open access)
Refugee and asylum cases are heard in the following courts in the United States:
- Supreme CourtElectronic versions of bound volumes of the United States Reports issued for October Term 1991 and subsequent years are posted on the Supreme Court website.
- Board of Immigration AppealsThe Board of Immigration Appeals (BIA) is the highest administrative body for interpreting and applying immigration laws. Precedent decisions going back to 1964 are offered at the website.
- Court of Appeals 1st CircuitOpinions can be searched by opinion number, case number, short title or date published.
- Court of Appeals 2nd CircuitThe last 30 days of opinions are given at this site.
- Court of Appeals 3rd CircuitAn opinions archive is available going back to 1994. The database can be searched or browsed. Most opinions are available in word, html or word.
- Court of Appeals 4th CircuitOpinions issued since January 1, 1996 appear on this system. The system can be searched by case number, case name, date posted/updated or full-text searching is available.
- Court of Appeals 5th CircuitThis site contains opinions released from 1992 to the present.
- Court of Appeals 6th CircuitOnly published opinions issued since July 1, 1999 and unpublished opinions issued since October 1, 2004 appear on this site.
- Court of Appeals 7th CircuitA database of opinions is available to search by case number.
- Court of Appeals 8th CircuitA database of opinions is available to search using various fields.
- Court of Appeals 9th CircuitA database of published and unpublished opinions can be searched.
- Court of Appeals 10th CircuitOpinions can be searched or browsed from 1995.
- Court of Appeals 11th CircuitPublished opinions can be searched or browsed going back to 1995. Unpublished opinions can be searched or browsed going back to 2005.
US Refugee Legislation
US Refugee Legislation
Commentary on the legislation - use the United States Code Annotated on Westlaw - 8 U.S.C.A. § 1158
Books
Law of Asylum in the United States by Call Number: UniM Law 177.7 G1 ANKEPublication Date: Thomson Reuters, 2017
Social Work with Immigrants and Refugees: : legal issues, clinical skills, and advocacy by Call Number: E-bookPublication Date: Springer, 2nd ed, 2016
United States Migrant Interdiction and the Detention of Refugees in Guantánamo Bay by Call Number: KM 177.35 G1 DASTPublication Date: Cambridge University Press, 2015
Immigration and Refugee Law and Policy by Call Number: KM 176 G1 LEGOPublication Date: Foundation Press, 2nd ed, 2015
