Skip to Main Content

Italian Studies and Language

Your guide to Italian resources at the University of Melbourne Library.

Introduction

This subject guide highlights some key discipline resources to get you started with study and research. 

Language resources

Below are some dictionaries and grammar works to get you started. For further resources, also check the following subject headings in the Library catalogue:

Dictionaries:

Dizionario dei sinonimi e contari (Thesaurus)
Easy to use synonym search for Italian words provided by Corriere della sera.

Reverso Dictionary 
Collins Italian » English online dictionary with thousands of words and phrases.
 

Grammar and workbooks:

Italian verbs conjugator
Useful site for working with Italian verbs.

Encyclopedias

Books

You can access print and eBooks via the Library Catalogue. To find books on a particular subject, try a keyword search:

 

 

 

To improve your searching skills, see the Research Essentials Library Guide. Note that you can search the catalogue in non-Latin scripts (including Arabic, Chinese, Hebrew, Japanese and Korean). 

For information on access and loans, including material from other libraries, see the borrowing from the library page. The eBook Guide provides information on eBook access.

Databases and journals

Use databases to search across many academic resources (including peer-reviewed journals) at the same time. 

Refer to the A-Z Ejournals and Databases page for a comprehensive list of available resources. 

Core Arts and Humanities databases:

The selection of multidisciplinary databases below will retrieve results from different subject areas. 

Italian Studies-specific databases:
For more focused results try searching in one of these subject-specific databases.

Websites

You can find relevant information and resources for your research on the websites of professional organisations and bodies, institutes, NGOs, government departments, etc.

This guide gives a few suggestions to get you started and to give you an idea what to look for. It is by no means comprehensive. If you are a coursework student, check your LMS to see if your lecturer has provided website recommendations.

Tip: if you want to limit your Google search results to organisational, governmental, or educational websites, use Google's advanced search option to limit the site or domains to .org, .gov, .edu

Some website suggestions to get you started:

News

Referencing and citing

Contact us