Encyclopaedias
Kluwer Law's International Encyclopaedia of Laws: Environmental Law has an encyclopaedic entry for international environmental law (University of Melbourne staff & student access only).
The Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law IEL category provides a comprehensive and authoritative overview of all aspects of IEL and is a great starting point for your research. Each entry in the Encyclopaedia is linked via the Oxford Law Citator to other relevant entries in the Encyclopaedia and to relevant decisions in international courts in the Oxford Reports on International Law. (University of Melbourne staff & student access only).
Oxford Bibliographies Online - International Law provides authoritative research guides combining encyclopaedic entries and annotated bibliographies on all aspects of international environmental law. (University of Melbourne staff & student access only).
Print & eBooks on International Environmental Law
IEL print books are located on Level 5 of the Law Library at KC 243.
International Marine Environmental Law and Policy by Call Number: E-bookPublication Date: Routledge, 2019
Human Rights and the Environment: Key Issues by Call Number: E-bookPublication Date: Routledge, 2019
Authority and Legitimacy of Environmental Post-Treaty Rules by Call Number: E-bookPublication Date: Hart, 2019
The International Law on Climate Change by Call Number: KC 243.5 MAYEPublication Date: Cambridge University Press, 2018.
Principles of International Environmental Law by Call Number: LAW High Use KC 243 SANDPublication Date: CUP, 4th ed, 2018
International Environmental Law by Call Number: KC 243 DUPUPublication Date: Cambridge University Press, 2018.
Environmental and Energy Law: international dimensions by Call Number: E-bookPublication Date: Edward Elgar, 2017
Climate Change, Migration and Human Rights: Law and Policy Perspectives by Call Number: E-bookPublication Date: Routledge, 2017
Clean energy law and regulation: climate change, energy union and international governance by Call Number: UniM Law KB 207 CLEAPublication Date: Wildy, Simmonds & Hill Publishing, 2017
Research Handbook on Climate Change, Migration and the Law by Call Number: E-bookPublication Date: Edward Elgar, 2017
The Oxford Handbook of International Climate Change Law by Call Number: E-bookPublication Date: OUP, 2016
Research Handbook on Climate Change and Trade Law by Call Number: E-bookPublication Date: Edward Elgar, 2016
International Environmental Law Disputes & Judicial Remedies
There is no international court for the environment. Environmental disputes have been litigated before a wide range of adjudicative bodies - global and regional, judicial and arbitral. Many multilateral environmental regimes have 'non-compliance procedures' which are typically non-judicial. (Source: Cesare Pr Romano, 'The Shadow Zones of International Judicialization' in Oxford handbook of international adjudication (OUP, 2014) 105-6)
Disputes between States concerning international environmental law can be heard in the International Court of Justice (provided the dispute is between States that have declared that the ICJ has compulsory jurisdiction). The ICJ is a court of general jurisdiction that provides Advisory Opinions and decides contententious cases. Full text ICJ IEL decisions can be found on ECOLEX (open access). Inter-State litigation is based on the remedial principle of 'State Responsibility' or international tort law. THE ICJ is only able to determine disputes between States: individuals and other non-state actors are not able to be parties to a dispute.
Environmental protection disputes between States and non-state actors such as individuals, communities and corporations can also be heard in international human rights courts such as the European Court of Human Rights and the African Commission of Human and Peoples' Rights. IEL decisions from human rights courts are available on ECOLEX.