Ecolex - the Gateway to Environmental Law. This open-access online database provides full-text access to treaties and environmental law cases in international courts, and an index to books and journal articles on international environmental law topics. It also includes domestic legislation and cases. The sophisticated search engine allows searching on multiple criteria.
This collection of documents comprises ‘grey literature’ in English. It includes PDF replicas of documents in any discipline of law which addresses climate change, including corporate law, environmental law and human rights law. Literature in the collection originates from a worldwide range of organisations and institutions. The collection is edited by the Human Rights Internet in Ottawa. It contains documents from 2015 onwards and is updated annually.
The collection can be searched or browsed by broad topic, and then narrowed by eg: place and date.
Tip: the database works best in Google Chrome.
FIELD (Foundation for International Environmental Law and Development) – Reports of FIELD projects, papers, annual reports, and books and other publications.
International Institute for Environment and Development (IIED)
International Law Association - Committee on International Law and Sea Level Rise
OECD Environment Directorate – Statistics, publications & documents, and information by country for topics in international environmental law.
UN Division for Sustainable Development (DSD)
UNESCO Water Portal – Resources for international water law and links to news, events, and recent publications.
World Resources Institute – Resources for environmental law by research topic, data tables from EarthTrends, and other publications by research area of interest.
The CITES Trade Database (CITES is the Convention on International Trade in Endangered Species of Wild Fauna and Flora) contains information about trade-in CITES-listed wildlife and wildlife products since 1975. The database holds over 13 million records of trade and includes information such as the year of the shipment' the scientific name of the plant or animal, the type and quantity of the item being traded, their purpose and source, and the country of origin, export, and export. The full dataset can be downloaded, and there is detailed information on using the database. citesdb is an R package for analysing the full CITES Trade Database. See here for more information on downloading the data and using the R package.
CITES Contracting Parties provide annual reports to the Convention, including full details of all export and import permits and certificates issued during the previous year. The CITES Trade Data Dashboards are an interactive way to view the trade data submitted in these annual reports. The Global dashboard displays global trade trends, arranged by taxonomic group, and the National dashboard shows information by country.
For more global environment datasets and online tools, see the UN-WCMC Resources & Data website.