Library Guides: Chinese Studies and Language: Databases and journals

Multidisciplinary databases

Databases allow you to search across a large amount of academic resources (including peer-reviewed journals) at the same time. Using them is often more efficient than browsing or searching within individual journals separately.

To learn key differences between library databases and other search platforms, visit the Comparing Search Pathways guide.

The recommended core multidisciplinary databases below will retrieve results from many different subject areas. For a comprehensive list of all available resources refer to the A-Z Ejournals and Databases page.

Discovery (EBSCO)
Use Discovery as a starting point for your research to get an overview of the key concepts, themes, and authors of your topic. Find journal articles, books, ebooks and more. Discovery search results do not include everything that the library provides access to.
Google Scholar
Google Scholar is a popular way to find sources for study and research. Set up your Google Scholar preferences to search for journal articles that the University of Melbourne has access to. Be aware that not all resources listed in Google Scholar results are scholarly.
JSTOR
JSTOR is one of the largest databases the Library has access to. It looks in thousands of journals in over a hundred subjects, many of them related to Arts and Humanities. Highly recommended as your first or second place to search.
ProQuest Central
Covering more than 160 subjects areas, ProQuest Central is the largest aggregated database of periodical content. It features a diverse mix of content including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, newspapers, reports and videos.
Scopus (Elsevier)
Scopus is a large, multidisciplinary database which looks through journals, books, and conference papers. Scopus doesn't always have full-text PDFs but the 'times cited' and 'related articles' tools make it an excellent place to quickly identify new research.
Web of Science
Web of Science is a massive, multidisciplinary database which includes a large amount of humanities and social sciences material from as far back as 1900. Like Scopus it has some advanced features that allows you to quickly link to related research.

Chinese studies databases

China Knowledge Resource Integrated Database
Start your search of any or all CNKI databases subscribed to by Unimelb Library at this homepage of the CNKI database platform.
China Academic Journals full-text database
One of the most comprehensive Chinese academic journals worldwide, with more than 9,000 journals and covering all subject areas.
Century Journals Project
Digitised selection of the most important academic journals published in China from their very first issue until 1993 in an effort to expand the China Academic Journals Full-text Database. The earliest journal dates back to 1887.
Taiwan Electronic Periodical Services
A collection of over 900 full-text journals from Taiwan. The Library has access to the Humanities and Social Sciences collections.

Hong Kong Journals Online (Open Access)
An open access full-text image database of selected academic and professional journals published in Hong Kong (English and Chinese). Covering a range of disciplines, including law, medicine, and education. Earliest content from 1872.
National Social Sciences Database 国家哲学社会科学数据库
Free access to hundreds of high level academic journals in humanities and social sciences published in China. Register for access to full-text.

Browzine eJournals

For Chinese language journals, please visit the China Academic Journals full-text Database, and browse journal titles by clicking the Journal Navigation button.

You can view a selection of online Chinese Studies eJournals (English language) that the Library holds by clicking on the button below;(this will open in a new window). For a more comprehensive list of eJournals please visit our A-Z eJournals page

Browse Chinese Studies journals