Skip to main content

Chinese Studies and Language

Your guide to Chinese Studies and Language resources at the University of Melbourne Library.

Introduction

Welcome to the Chinese Studies and Language Subject Research Guide

Your subject librarians have designed this guide to highlight online resources at the University of Melbourne Library that are relevant to Chinese Studies and Language. 

This guide is intended to be a starting point for your research. For a more comprehensive list of Library resources for this subject please visit the A-Z eJournals and Databases website.

Quick start menu

Chinese Language Learning

Expand the following sections to view some resources you may find useful in your Chinese language studies.

 

 

Encyclopedia & Dictionaries

 

 

Journal Articles

Chinese studies-specific databases:
First of all, try searching in one of these subject-specific databases.
Core Arts and Humanities databases:

The databases below are multidisciplinary so you can expect lots of results from different subject areas.

Browse eJournals on Browzine:

For Chinese language journals, please visit the China Academic Journals full-text Database, and browse journal titles by clicking the Journal Navigation button.

You can view a selection of online Chinese Studies eJournals (English language) that the Library holds by clicking on the button below (this will open in a new window). For a more comrehensive list of eJournals please visit our A-Z eJournals page.

 

Books

Contemporary eBooks databases:
Classical texts databases:
Books in the East Asian Collection

Chinese language materials are a part of the East Asian Collection, which consists of both print and electronic research materials in Chinese, Japanese and Korean languages. This collection mainly covers the areas of arts and humanities, social sciences and architectural history. Print materials are kept on the 4th floor of the Eastern Resource Centre (ERC) Library.

Tips on searching for books within East Asian Collection:

When using the UniMelb library Catalogue:

  • search for Chinese language materials by using Chinese characters (simplified and traditional) or Pinyin Romanisation. If you search with Pinyin Romanisation, please refer to the Library of Congress' Chinese romanization guidelines.
Tips on searching for books in English language
 

To find English language books for your topic in library Catalogue, use a keyword search. For example:

 

Chinese cinema

Cultural Revolution

Confucianism

legal reform

 

Keyword searching often retrieves a large number of results. These four techniques can help you focus your search:

 

AND

Narrows your search

E.g. Chinese AND cinema

OR

Expands your search

E.g. legal OR law OR judicial

 

" "

Searches for an exact phrase

E.g. "Cultural Revolution"

*

searches for variant endings

E.g. Confuci* = Confucius, Confucianism, Confucianist

 

The video below (3:47 mins) explains how you can use these advanced search techniques to quickly find relevant books and ebooks in the catalogue:

 

You can also find books on similar topics through the subject headings in item records. Click on  these headings to view related subjects around your area and the all the books that the library has related to that subject. The image below shows where you can find subject headings.

 

 

Screenshot of how to use subject headings in the library catalogue. Features a list of subject headings, including

Looking for a book but we don't have it or it's not on our shelves?

 

Logo of BONUS+

Request books from other universities through the BONUS+ catalogue and collect them from any Unimelb branch library.

Visit the BONUS+ webpage for more info.

Inter-library Loans

University of Melbourne staff and students can request resources through the Library’s inter-library loans service. For more information visit the ILL web page, or you can access the request forms.

 

Logo of CAVAL

A CAVAL card allows you to borrow from other Unis and TAFES. Visit the CAVAL website to find out how to sign up for a CAVAL card.

You can then use the Trove website to see which library has the book you want.

 

Theses

 

 

Statistics / Yearbooks

Chinese statistics and yearbook databases

You can also utilize the following website:


Search tips: How to find more on statistics and yearbooks
For print sources, try keywords search in our library Catalogue with the following:

Click on the button below to view more statistical resources that the Library holds/has access to (this will open in a new window). 

Newspapers

For more information about finding news, click on the button below (this will open in a new window).

Visit the News and Newspapers Library Guide

Chinese Historical Newspapers in Microform

Visit the Baillieu Library for on-site access to the University of Melbourne Library's Chinese Historical Newspapers in Microform Collection (this will open in a new window).

 

 

Primary Sources

Selected Primary Source Databases:

Below are selected China-related primary source databases, you can find more by visiting the A-Z eJournals and Databases website.

Chinese Cultural Collections and Microforms

The Chinese rare and cultural book collection comprises more than 7,000 volumes of oriental-style works dating from the 1600s to 1935 including:

  • scrolls of painting and calligraphy
  • magazines published in the 1930s
  • Chinese herbal medicine books published in 1900s
  • primary school textbooks from early 1930s 
  • primary sources from the Cultural Revolution period.

Items can be requested for viewing in the Special Collections Reading Room at Baillieu Library, Level 3. Featured collections include: 


The University of Melbourne Library holds a significant Chinese Microform Collection containing a wealth of primary and secondary source material. For example, 红卫兵资料 OR 申報大公報. For more information about accessing the microforms collection, click on the button below (this will open in a new window).

Chinese Legal Research

Click on the button below to view a selection of resources on Chinese legal research that the Library holds (this will open in a new window). 

To find more Chinese language resources on Chinese legal studies, try a keyword search in our library Catalogue with:

 

 

Citing and Referencing

The Library has a referencing tool Re:Cite which provides easy-to-follow instructions on citing and referencing in popular citation styles, ie. APA, Chicago, etc. The instructions are based on the style manual.

However, citing sources in languages other than English could be tricky, which may not be covered by Re:Cite. In that case, you need to check the more comprehensive style manual.

For example, if you need to cite a Chinese language source (or a translated edition of a Chinese source / a Chinese translation of a foreign language source, etc.) in Chicago style:

  1. Try a keyword search in our library Catalogue with Chicago style Manual
  2. Connect to this eBook The Chicago manual of style;
  3. In this eBook, search with Languages Other than English Bibliography, check the entries and find the one that suits your context.

For other citation styles, the above strategies are also applicable.

 

Contact us

Contact your subject librarian

Xiaoju Liu

Chinese and Asian Studies

xiaoju.liu@unimelb.edu.au


Talk to a Librarian, Academic Skills adviser, or get help with Maths and Stats at a Study and Learning drop-in session:

Ask a question on Library Chat

Visit us on social media