Advanced searching - EBSCOhost databases - Library learning resources for FoE students - Library Guides at University of Melbourne

Selecting subject-specific + specialist Ebscohost databases

Cross searching multiple EBSCO databases

Ebscohost databases useful for social sciences, higher education, and educational research topics

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
Academic Search™ Complete is a multidisciplinary full-text database, providing access to more than 8,600 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,500 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text it offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Business Source Complete (EBSCO)
Business Source Complete is a scholarly business database, featuring a large collection of bibliographic and full text content. As part of the coverage offered by this database, indexing and abstracts for important scholarly business journals back as far as 1886 are included and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,300 journals.
CINAHL Complete (EBSCO)
CINAHL is an authoritative resource for nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators and researchers. It has broad content coverage including 50 nursing specialties, speech and language pathology, nutrition, general health and medicine. This database provides indexing for thousands of journals with selected titles available in full text. Coverage commences with 1937.
Education Source (EBSCO)
Education Source is an online resource for education research covering all levels of education from early childhood to higher education and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing.
ERIC (EBSCO)
The ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to educational-related literature. ERIC provides coverage of journal articles, conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, books and monographs.
Family & Society Studies Worldwide (EBSCO)
Family & Society Studies Worldwide™ is a resource providing coverage of research, policy, and practice literature in the fields of Family Science, Human Ecology, Human Development, and Social Welfare. FSSW is an anthology of 4 database files providing access to more than 1.3 million records. Coverage spans from 1970 to the present.
Philosopher's Index (EBSCOhost)
The Philosopher’s Index contains research published since 1940 and includes more than 500,000 records. With more than 1,500 journal titles from over 450 different publishers, the database covers all fields of philosophy, including aesthetics, axiology, philosophy of education, epistemology, ethics, philosophy of history, philosophy of language, logic, metaphysics, philosophical anthropology, meta-philosophy, political philosophy, philosophy of science, social philosophy, and the philosophy of religion. The publications covered in this comprehensive database hail from 139 countries and appear in 37 languages.
SocINDEX with Full Text (EBSCHOhost)
SocINDEX™ with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive and highest-quality sociology research database. Its extensive scope and content provide users with a wealth of extremely useful information encompassing the broad spectrum of sociological study. The database features more than 2.1 million records with subject headings from a 20,000+ term sociological thesaurus designed by subject experts and expert lexicographers.

Your Ebscohost profile

1. Your personal Ebscohost acount

You can use your account to save search results, persistent links to searches, saved searches, search alerts, and journal alerts.

Click the Sign In in the top toolbar of the screen. If you are a University of Melbourne student or staff member, you no longer need to create a separate password for this feature.
From time-to-time you may need to click 'Update my account' to Connect to EBSCO products through your affiliation’s subscription and sign in to your account while connected.
If desired, when you sign in to My EBSCOhost, you can retrieve Preferences settings that you selected and saved in a previous session.
You are able to 'Switch accounts' if you also use Ebscohost at another institution.

2. Loading Preferences from My EBSCOhost

Click Sign in (toolbar at the top right of the screen)
Mark the Load Preferences from My EBSCOhost check box.
Any Preferences that you set during the session are replaced with your saved Preferences settings.

If you'd like to adjust preferences, you can do it now and save the new preferences.

3.Updating your My EBSCOhost account

Click Sign in (toolbar at the top right of the screen)
Click the Update My Account link found in the personalized toolbar at the top of the screen
Use the options on the page to update your account - such as change your e-mail address.
Note: You cannot change your User Name.
Click Submit to save your changes. a message is displayed confirming that your account has been updated.

Important

Items in your personal folder during the current session will be discarded if you have not clicked 'Sign in' to retain these items.
Once a personal My EBSCOhost folder has been created, it cannot be deleted.