English and Theatre Studies

Focuses on the general canon of British literature from the fifteenth-century to the present. There is also some coverage of non-fiction such as biographies, memoirs, and science, as well as inclusion of major American and Commonwealth writers.

Fundamental issues and concepts in world literature; how literary production is affected by forces such as imperialism and globalization; original analyses of genres and forms, ranging from tragedy to the novel and graphic fiction, lyric poetry to the short story and world cinema.

An essential guide to literary studies now in its sixth edition, this textbook successfully illuminates complex ideas by engaging directly with literary works. In addition to further reading sections at the end of each chapter, contains a comprehensive bibliography and a glossary of key literary terms.

A concise and accessible discussion of central issues in English and world literature. Includes analysis of major genres, major periods, and key theoretical approaches to literature. Covers the practicalities of finding and referencing literature and writing a research paper.

The gold standard anthology for anyone who wants to understand the development and current state of literary theory. Comprehensive and varied, it offers 191 pieces by 157 authors.

Based on the bestselling Oxford Companion to English Literature, this is an indispensable, compact guide to all aspects of English literature. Over 5,500 new and revised A to Z entries give unrivalled coverage of writers, works, historical context, literary theory, allusions, characters, and plot summaries.

The most-trusted and best-selling anthology continues to set the bar with a vibrant revision of the Major Authors Edition. Major Authors offers new complete major works, new contemporary writers, and new dynamic and convenient digital resources.

This comprehensive handbook presents the major perspectives on the relations, overlaps and tensions between philosophy and literature. It is an ideal volume for researchers and students in philosophy, literary studies, cultural studies, classical studies and other related fields.

This award-winning multi-volume series is dedicated to making literature and its creators better understood and more accessible to students and interested readers, while satisfying the standards of librarians, teachers and scholars.

This award-winning multi-volume series is dedicated to making literature and its creators better understood and more accessible to students and interested readers, while satisfying the standards of librarians, teachers and scholars.

This award-winning multi-volume series is dedicated to making literature and its creators better understood and more accessible to students and interested readers, while satisfying the standards of librarians, teachers and scholars.

This award-winning multi-volume series is dedicated to making literature and its creators better understood and more accessible to students and interested readers, while satisfying the standards of librarians, teachers and scholars.

Contains brief biographies of important authors, plot summaries of individual works, descriptions of important literary movements, and information on other aspects of American literary life and history from the Colonial period to the modern era.

A diverse range of voices and major works representing the enormous variety of American literature. Teaching clusters in every volume enable instructors to focus on a dynamic theme while exploring a group of short, related texts.

Aiming to offer a comprehensive view of how an author's work fits within the context of the author's life, historical events, and the literary world, this set includes some 500 writers.

This work details practical topics such as directing, acting, design, lighting, sound, voice, wig and prop-making, to historical surveys raging from black theatre to gay and lesbian theatre; from pantomime, experimental theatre, theatre-in-the-round to architecture, funding, drag and circus.

v. 1. American, British, Irish, German, Austrian, and Swiss dramatists. v. 2. Norwegian, Swedish, French, Belgian, Italian, Spanish, Russian, Czech, Hungarian, and Polish dramatists.

an accessible yet authoritative A-Z with particularly strong coverage of actors, playwrights, directors, and designers, as well as the styles, organizations, and movements.

What we think of as 'performance' and 'drama' has undergone a transformation in recent decades. Patrice Pavis's Dictionary provides an indispensible roadmap for this complex and fascinating terrain; a volume no theatre bookshelf can afford to be without.

This collection of essays by world-leading scholars redefines the field by expanding the canon of recognized plays concerned with travel. Re-assessing the parameters of the genre, the chapters offer fresh perspectives on how these plays communicated with their audiences and readers.