Library Guides: European Languages: French studies

Resources for French Studies

Databases provide a systematic method of searching for articles, and other documents, on your topic. Listed below are a selection of databases to start your research in:

Cairn Open Access Journals
Cairn.info is a French-language social sciences and humanities portal. Anyone can view the abstracts and plans of the publications free of charge, as well as, in some cases, their full text.
Erudit Journals
Érudit is the leading provider of Francophone and Canadian peer reviewed journals in North America. The platform gathers in the one place Canadian scholarly and cultural publishers, including the most prestigious French-language Canadian university presses. Rooted in the scholarly Francophone community of North America, they also offer space to research results and cultural documents written in English or published by international researchers.
Erudit Open Access Journals
Érudit is the leading provider of Francophone and Canadian peer reviewed journals in North America. The platform gathers in one point nearly 150 Canadian scholarly and cultural publishers, including the most prestigious French-language Canadian university presses. Free full text - managed by publisher, holdings subject to change.
Google Scholar
(With University of Melbourne authentication) Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. Search across many disciplines and sources in many languages: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. To search for articles in another language other than English, go to Settings in the Hamburger menu.
JSTOR
JSTOR is a digital library of thousands of academic journals, books, and primary sources from a wide range academic publishers and university presses. Titles span across disciplines, including core areas such as business & economics, social sciences, education, history, language & literature and science. Current journals are linked and cross-searchable with archival journals and ebooks on JSTOR, helping patrons discover, use, and build upon a constantly expanding range of academic content.
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts : LLBA (Proquest)
This database abstracts and indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. The database covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Documents indexed include journal articles, book reviews, books, book chapters, dissertations and working papers.
Literature Online (LION) (ProQuest)
Literature Online is the leading online resource for the study and teaching of literature in English. The collection contains more than 350,000 works of poetry, drama and prose, over 350 full-text literature journals, and key bibliographies, biographies, reference works and student guides.
Literature Online also contains the following bibliographic database: ABELL, with records covering monographs, periodical articles, critical editions of literary works, book reviews, collections of essays and doctoral dissertations published anywhere in the world. ABELL is compiled under the auspices of the Modern Humanities Research Association (MHRA)
MLA International Bibliography (EBSCOhost)
Produced by the Modern Language Association the International Bibliography is the definitive index for the study of language, literature, linguistics, rhetoric and composition, folklore and film, covering scholarly publications from the early 20th century to the present. It includes citations to content published in journals, books, series, translations, scholarly editions, websites and dissertations. The database also includes the Directory of Periodicals and the Thesaurus.
Persee
The main goal of the Persée project is to widely disseminate the scientific output of French language specialists in the humanities on the internet. Considered part of France’s heritage, the collections are at the disposal of all, without charge, in an optic of free and non exclusive access and dissemination.
Project Muse Journal Collection
Project MUSE offers full-text current and archival articles from scholarly journals published by major university presses covering literature and criticism, history, performing arts, cultural studies, education, philosophy, political science, gender studies, and more. Search results can be limited by langauge, such as German, French, Spanish and Latin. Updated continually.
ProQuest Central
Covering more than 160 subjects areas, ProQuest Central is the largest aggregated database of periodical content. This award-winning online reference resource features a highly-respected, diversified mix of content including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, newspapers, reports and videos.

Le Monde
1987-

Factiva
Factiva provides access to the latest business and industry news. It is a valuable research tool for many disciplines, including political science, media studies, business, technology studies, social science, journalism, the arts, and more. The database allows users to browse through a collection of global content sources from 200 countries, in 26 languages – including newspapers, continuously updated newswires from Dow Jones and Reuters, journals and magazines, websites, blogs, and multimedia.

Finding News: library guide

Fabula

The Fabula website was created in order to provide maximum resources to francophone literary researchers. You will also find information from some English-language publications.

What resources are offered by Fabula?

Information in the field of literary theory and criticism, and also the debates in the academic world.
Job offers and scholarships offered by universities worldwide.
Scientific resources: Literary Theory Workshop, magazines Acta Fabula and LHT.
Various collaborative tools (newsletter).