Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Gender Studies

Your guide to Gender Studies resources at the University of Melbourne Library.

Introduction

Welcome to the Gender Studies Subject Research Guide

Your subject librarians have designed this guide to highlight online resources at the University of Melbourne Library that are relevant to Gender Studies. 

This guide is intended to be a starting point for your research. For a more comprehensive list of Library resources for this subject please visit the A-Z eJournals and Databases webpage.

Quick start

Encyclopedias and handbooks

Databases

Core Arts and Humanities databases (try these first):

The databases below are multidisciplinary so you can expect lots of results from different subject areas.

Gender studies-specific databases:
For more focused results try searching in one of these subject-specific databases.

eJournals

Click on the button below to view a selection of online Gender Studies eJournals that the Library holds (this will open in a new window). For a complete list of eJournals please visit our A-Z eJournals page.

Books

To find books on a particular subject, do a keyword search in the Library Catalogue. Alternatively you can search by title, author, etc.
You can also find books on similar topics through the subject headings in item records. Click on these headings to find related subjects and titles. 

Screenshot of how to use subject headings in the library catalogue

Looking for a book we don't have or is not on our shelves?

 

Logo of BONUS+

Request books from other universities through the BONUS+ catalogue and collect them from any Unimelb branch library.

Visit the BONUS+ webpage for more info.

Inter-Library Loans

University of Melbourne staff and students can request resources through the Library’s Inter-Library Loans service. For more information visit the ILL web page, or you can access the request forms.

 

Logo of CAVAL

A CAVAL card allows you to borrow from other universities and TAFEs. Visit the CAVAL website to find out how to sign up for a CAVAL card.

You can then use the Trove website to see which library has the book you want.

Theses

Looking for theses? Click on the button below:

Research methods

General advice on looking for research methods and methodology:

Many disciplines rely on research methods to guide the process of conducting primary research. 

To find methods for your discipline, do a keyword search in the Library Catalogue and add your discipline, e.g. sociology AND "research method*".

To get started, try some of the resources below:

Streaming videos and media

Websites

General advice on looking for websites

You can find relevant information and resources for your research on the websites of professional organisations and bodies, institutes, NGOs, government departments, etc.

This guide gives a few suggestions to get you started and to give you an idea what to look for. It is by no means comprehensive. If you are a coursework student, check your LMS to see if your lecturer has provided website recommendations.

Tip: if you want to limit your Google search results to organisational, governmental, or educational websites, use Google's advanced search option to limit the site or domains to .org, .gov, .edu

Some website suggestions to get you started:

Referencing and citing

Need help with your referencing? Click on the button below:
Learn how reference management software can help you with referencing:

Contact us

Contact your subject librarians:

 

Monica Raszewski

monicar@unimelb.edu.au


Talk to a Librarian, Academic Skills adviser, or get help with Maths and Stats at a Study and Learning drop-in session:

Ask a question on Library Chat

Visit us on social media