Library Guides: Health and Physical Education: Classroom learning resources (digital)

Streamed video for the classroom

Streamed videos from the Library can be incorporated into your lessons during placement or used for your own learning. The videos play immediately and are accessible 24/7

How to find streamed videos

Search the Library catalogue and limit results to online videos
Alternatively, search these databases for streamed videos:

Kanopy This platform provides diverse streamed video content including award-winning documentaries, training films and theatrical releases from leading distributors and film-makers. It includes content suitable for K-12 lessons and teacher education development resources.
Education in Video (Alexander Street Press) is a collection of streaming video developed specifically for training and developing teachers. The collection includes teaching demonstrations, lectures, documentaries, and primary-source footage of students and teachers in actual classrooms.
Alexander Street Video offers video, audio and text-based resources covering an extensive range of subjects. This site allows users to cross-search the content purchased by the University of Melbourne Library (including Education in Video).
EduTV provides access to broadcast programs from free-to-air and pay TV channels in Australia.

New to streaming media?

Want to know how to create short clips for your classroom?

Streamed video for physical education and sports skills

These videos focus on a range of approaches taken by schools and teachers to increase participation in Physical Education (PE) and promote activity and skill development.

Rules of the game. / Electronic reproduction : Alexander Street Press, 2012. (Education in video) Brettenham Primary School in north London has structured playtime activity which have dramatically improved standards of behaviour and academic achievement.Under the guidance of deputy head Deborah Hall, the school has invested in a wide range of equipment and trained staff to provide pupils with a diverse, sports-led programme of play. It's a programme that teaches children tactics, strategies and sporting ethics.
Taking the lead. / Electronic reproduction : Alexander Street Press, 2012 (Education in video) At Langer Primary School in Felixstowe, Year 6 pupils act as playground activity leaders. They run lunchtime sessions to increase physical activity and skills for younger pupils. The Year 6 pupils develop leadership skills, and, because they also devise and test new playground activities, there are cross-curricular applications too. At Brundall Primary School in Norfolk, there's been a successful collaboration with the local Specialist Sports College, Thorpe St Andrew. Students doing the BTEC National Diploma in Sport are regular and popular visitors to Brundall, where, with supervision from teachers, they run PE lessons. The BTEC students gain valuable leadership experience whilst passing on their specialist sports skills to the primary pupils. The primary school's teachers also learn new practices and are able to pass them on to subsequent classes. Golden Hillock Sports and Arts College in Birmingham trains students as potential sports leaders. It has found that every student can lead, irrespective of age or sporting ability. The experience of leading enables students to develop skills that will be useful not just in the sporting environment, but in life.
Active lunchtime. /Electronic reproduction: Alexander Street Press, 2012 (Education in Video). Lunchtimes can be difficult for schools, with aimless students sometimes behaving badly. The Deanes School in Essex has decided to make lunchtime a positive experience for all by introducing a number of zoned areas within its playground, known as Activity City . Activity City is a structured environment. The wide range of activities offered helps to develop skills in sport and PE. Some of these are for SEN groups, some for the talented. As well as getting the students active during lunchtime, the school has noticed a marked improvement in students attitudes to study in the afternoons. The programme also briefly features Rawmarsh Community School near Rotherham. The school offers a range of lunchtime activities--the most unusual being a radio station that broadcasts music, requests and school announcements over a school-wide system at break time and lunchtime. The students love having music to perform to, and levels of physical activity and engagement have increased.
School year. 5, Sports day. /Electronic reproduction : Alexander Street Press, 2014 (Education in video). The pendulum has swung back and forth in recent years regarding 'competitive' and 'co-operative' games, but schools now seem to have reached the happy medium of securing wide participation within a competitive framework. Like several events within 'The School Year', Sports Day provides an opportunity for the whole school to come together and celebrate achievement in an increasingly important part of the curriculum.
Boy, you can dance. / Electronic reproduction : Alexander Street Press, 2012 (Education in video) Ricardo Green, a newly qualified PE teacher at Cumberland Specialist Sports College, uses the theme of free-running to introduce his Year 9 boys to the world of dance.