Library Guides: Nursing: Databases

Key Databases

CINAHL Complete (EBSCO)
CINAHL is an authoritative resource for nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators and researchers. It has broad content coverage including 50 nursing specialties, speech and language pathology, nutrition, general health and medicine. This database provides indexing for thousands of journals with selected titles available in full text. Coverage commences with 1937.
ClinicalKey for Nursing
ClinicalKey for Nursing (Australian edition) provides the most clinically relevant answers from nursing content to the top of your results pages, including evidence-based monographs, books, journals and practice guidelines. In addition to the most trusted international nursing content, the database includes the Australian Medicine Handbook drug monographs, local Australian books, journals and practice guidelines.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
The Cochrane Library is a collection of six databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making, and a seventh database that provides information about groups in The Cochrane Collaboration. They are the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials, Cochrane Methodology Register, Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects, Health Technology Assessment Database, NHS Economic Evaluation Database, and About The Cochrane Collaboration.
Emcare This link opens in a new window
Emcare is a nursing and allied health database which indexes over 3,700 international journals, with coverage commencing 1995 onwards. The database is integrated with the EMTREE thesaurus and has easy linking to full-text journal content. Emcare enables users to search scholarly nursing and allied health bibliographic data with convenient limits to systematic reviews, clinical trials, and the other functionality of the Ovid platform.
EMBASE
The Excerpta Medica database (EMBASE), produced by Elsevier, is a major biomedical and pharmaceutical database indexing over 3,500 international journals in the following fields: drug research, pharmacology, pharmaceutics, toxicology, clinical and experimental human medicine, health policy and management, public health, occupational health, environmental health, drug dependence and abuse, psychiatry, forensic medicine, and biomedical engineering/instrumentation. There is selective coverage for nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, psychology, and alternative medicine. Coverage is from 1947 up to the present, and is updated weekly.
Health Collection (Informit)
The Informit Health Collection covers a range of subjects within a health context including therapeutic, diagnostic and preventative health, mental health, complementary therapies, and health services management. This full text Collection contains journals, books, conference proceedings and reports. It covers the period from 1977 to present for both full text publications and index.
Joanna Briggs Institute Evidence Based Practice Database This link opens in a new window
The Joanna Briggs Institute EBP Database is a comprehensive database which covers a wide range of medical, nursing, and health science specialties and includes a unique suite of information that’s been analyzed, appraised, and prepared by expert reviewers at JBI. It allows you to search simultaneously a wide range of summarized and appraised evidence to inform your practice. This comprehensive range of resources includes records across seven publication types: Evidence Based Recommended Practices, Evidence Summaries, Best Practice Information Sheets, Systematic Reviews, Consumer Information Sheets, Systematic Review Protocols, and Technical Reports. The database is updated weekly.
Medline (Ovid)
MEDLINE is the United States National Library of Medicine's premier bibliographic database providing information from the following fields: Medicine, Nursing, Dentistry, Veterinary medicine, Allied health, Pre-clinical sciences. The Ovid MEDLINE database contains bibliographic citations and author abstracts from more than 5,500 biomedical journals published in the United States and in 70 other countries. The database contains well over 25 million citations dating back to 1950, and is updated daily.
APAIS-Health - Australian Public Affairs Information Service – Health (Informit)
Australian Public Affairs Information Service - Health (APAIS-Health), produced by the National Library of Australia, is a bibliographic database that indexes articles from published material. APAIS-Health covers health and medicine in Australia and in particular the legal, social, economic and ethical aspects of health. Clinical articles are not indexed for APAIS-Health. APAIS-Health is a subset of the APAIS database. It covers the period from 1978 to present.

General Databases

Scopus
Scopus covers scientific, technical, medical and social science literature. Coverage is worldwide, with more than half of Scopus content originating from outside North America. Note: Embase records are covered by Scopus, and Scopus will search Emtree headings (the Embase thesaurus) but there is no explosion of Emtree terms.

Web of Science
Web of Science consists of seven databases containing information gathered from thousands of scholarly journals, books, book series, reports and conferences. Databases include Science Citation Index Expanded (1899+), Social Sciences Citation Index (1956+) and Humanities Citation Index (1975+).

Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete is a scholarly, full text database providing coverage to 1800 publications in most academic fields of study.

Google Scholar
Google Scholar is a database which covers a broad range of disciplines and provides articles, papers and chapters from various sources. Easy to search using plain text, also offers Advanced Search functionality.