Attending conferences
Attending conferences helps with staying current and provides networking opportunites with peers and colleagues in your research field. Have you considered submitting an abstract for a conference you'd like to attend? Many conference papers lead to publications in conference proceedings.
This page provides links to some conference listings. Many of the listings provide an alerting service.
Conference websites
WikiCFP
A wiki for Calls For Papers in science and technology - lists around 15,00 CFPs
University of Pennsylvania Arts CFP
Calls For Papers website compiled by University of Pennsylvania (Dept of English)
Conference Alerts: Academic Conferences Worldwide
Browse Conferences by Topic or subscribe to this free service to keep informed about upcoming conferences
Higher Education Conferences
Conferences in higher education and related fields
IEEE Conferences & Meetings
Innovation and technology
H-Net: Humanities and Social Sciences Online
News lists, including conferences
Find academic announcements and calls for papers
Physics World- events
Institute of Physics
Conference directories
There are vetted tools to help researchers identify recognised conferences in their respective fields. Further there are conference portals and -directories (created by commercial companies with interests in promoting the conferences).
Always evaluate information sources used to make strategic decisions carefully.
Directories and databases (Library subscriptions)
-
PubsHub : Journals & Congresses PubsHub : Journals & Congresses is a database of submission criteria for peer-reviewed medical journals and congresses. The database contains information on nearly 6,000 medical journals and congresses. It gives users the ability to quickly evaluate, compare and analyse relevant journals and congresses submission and placement criteria, making it easier to find the most appropriate journal or congress.
-
UlrichsWeb : global serials directory (ProQuest) UlrichsWeb is an easy to search source of detailed information on more than 300,000 periodicals of all types: academic and scholarly journals, e-journals, peer-reviewed titles, popular magazines, newspapers, newsletters, and more. Ulrichsweb covers more than 900 subject areas. Ulrich's records provide data points such as ISSN, publisher, language, subject, abstracting & indexing coverage, full-text database coverage, tables of contents, and reviews written by librarians.
Commercial conference directories
Databases with conference material
-
A+ Education (Informit) A+ Education covers curriculum, educational research, information science, librarianship, management, policy administration, psychology, sociology, teaching and training and is produced by the Cunningham Library at the Australian Council for Educational Research (ACER). It covers the period 2000 to present for Full text articles and 1978 to present for Index.
-
ABI/INFORM Collection This database comprises ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry, and ABI/INFORM Dateline. It features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals such as the Economist, country-and industry-focused reports, and downloadable data. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world.
-
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) Academic Search™ Complete is a multidisciplinary full-text database, providing access to more than 8,600 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,500 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text it offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
-
ACM Digital Library Complete The ACM Digital Library (DL) is a comprehensive collection of full-text articles and bibliographic records covering the fields of computing and information technology. This full-text database includes the complete collection of ACM's publications, including journals, conference proceedings, magazines, newsletters, and multimedia titles.
-
ASME Digital Library conference proceedings ASME sponsors approximately 30 conferences per year and publishes about 100 proceedings volumes annually, encompassing the entire spectrum of topics of interest to mechanical engineers and associated industries. Individual conference papers from 2002 onwards are available through the ASME Digital Library.
-
Bibliography of Asian Studies Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) is a comprehensive western-language resource for research on Asia. BAS provides indexing coverage of many important journals, particularly ones published in Asia, which are not indexed anywhere else. It also contains citations to Western-language chapters in edited volumes, conference proceedings, anthologies, Festschriften, and more. BAS covers all subjects (especially in the humanities and the social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide from 1971 to the present.
-
Compendex (Elsevier) Compendex is a comprehensive bibliographic database of engineering research in the broad subject areas of engineering and applied science including: nuclear technology; bioengineering; transportation; chemical and process engineering; light and optical technology; agricultural engineering and food technology; computers and data processing; applied physics; electronics and communications control; civil, mechanical, materials, petroleum, aerospace, and automotive engineering. Compendex combined with the Ei Engineering Index Backfile provides coverage from 1884 to the present day. The database is updated weekly.
-
Dimensions Dimensions is a linked research data platform, including information on publications, research funding, patents and clinical trials - all on an international scale. Dimensions is designed to help anyone involved in research to get better knowledge about what is going on in their research area, and how this is changing over time.
-
Engineering Collection (Informit) The Informit Engineering Collection covers a range of subjects within an engineering context including civil engineering, mining, environmental engineering, road and rail, and municipal engineering. This full text Collection contains journals, conference proceedings and reports. It covers the period from 1973 to present for both full text publications and index.
-
Humanities & Social Sciences Collection (Informit) The Informit Humanities & Social Sciences Collection covers a range of subjects within an arts and social science context including education, history, media, political science and technology. This full text Collection contains journals, books, conference proceedings and reports. It covers the period from 1940 to present for both full text publications and index.
-
ICONDA (Ovid) ICONDA, The International Construction Database, covers worldwide technical literature relating to all aspects of planning and construction. ICONDA contains references taken from sources in more than 20 different countries. Each reference has abstracts and detailed keywords in English. Information is sourced from periodicals, books, research reports, conference proceedings, business reports, theses, and non-conventional literature that is normally outside the public domain. Coverage is from 1976 to the present, and the database is updated monthly.
-
Inspec Inspec is a leading bibliographic database providing access to the world's scientific literature in: electrical engineering; electronics; physics; control engineering; information technology; communications; computers; computing; manufacturing and production engineering. Inspec combined with the Inspec Archive provides coverage from 1898 to the present day. The database is updated weekly.
-
Scopus (Elsevier) Scopus is an abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, Scopus features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research.
-
Sociological Abstracts (ProQuest) This database abstracts and indexes the international literature of sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from thousands of serials publications and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, conference papers and working papers. Cited references are included for many journal articles.
