Library Guides: Youth Citizenship and Identity: Books & ebooks

Library Catalogue Search

Access print and ebook resources

Why use the Library catalogue? Get an overview of this search pathway

Search the library catalogue (full collection)

Search the library catalogue for ebooks

Are you new to using ebooks? Check out the Ebooks library guide

Finding eBooks

Use a keyword search to find books and ebooks on a topic. Once you have completed a search you can limit your search to a specific collection such as, Giblin Eunson Library or format such as online books (login with your username and password to view e-books)
Only want an eBook? Choose the option 'Online books' in the catalogue. To read an e-book, open the catalogue record and then select the link: Connect to electronic book.
Interested in requesting library books by mail? Check out the 'sourcing online and print resources' page
Searching in Discovery will also retrieve books and ebooks

Library Guide on eBooks

Search strategies

Keywords

Enter the keywords from your topic e.g. youth and citizenship

Subject headings - Library catalogue

Adolescent psychology.
Youth -- Australia.
Peer pressure.
Child care -- Government policy
Citizenship -- Study and teaching -- Great Britain.
Identity (psychology) in adolescence
Youth -- Political activity.
Youth, Aboriginal Australian
Youth -- Attitudes.
Youth -- Australia -- Social conditions.
Youth -- Counseling of.
Youth -- Cross-cultural studies.
Youth -- Employment -- Australia
Youth, Aboriginal Australian
Youth and violence.

Getting started with reference books

Reference titles can be an excellent starting point for locating quick, background information and developing an understanding of a topic.

The majority of our reference sources are available online via the library catalogue and Discovery.The print reference collection is housed in the compactus on the ground floor of the Giblin Eunson Library. Here are some recomended titles.

Encyclopedia of child behavior and development by Goldstein and Naglieri
Call Number: Online resource
Youth, education, and sexualities : an international encyclopedia by Sears
Call Number: UniM Giblin Eunson REF 371.826603 YOUT
Youth activism : an international encyclopedia by Sherrod
Call Number: UniM Giblin Eunson REF 320.083503 YOUT
Encyclopedia of Children, Adolescents, and the Media by Arnett
Call Number: Online resource
International encyclopedia of adolescence by Arnett
Call Number: UniM Giblin Eunson REF 305.23503 ARNE

Browsing the collection

As well as searching the library catalogue, you might like to browse the library shelves of the general book collection at the Giblin Eunson Library.

Try exploring at the following call numbers.

301 Sociology & anthropology
305 Social groups

305 235 adolescence

305.235 youth culture

306 Culture & institutions

323.6 citizenship

331.340994 youth employment

364.360973 Homelessness

362.87809945 Refugee youth

364.360973 Juvenile justice

372.21 early childhood education

Further borrowing options

Can't find the book you want?

Staff and students can request books and articles we don't own via interlibrary loans Requested books are delivered to the University of Melbourne Library for collection.
Find copies of books held in Australian libraries using TROVE.
Borrowing from other Victorian Universities - Get a CAVAL card and then you can visit and borrow books from other university libraries in Victoria.
Live Interstate? Borrowing options - Use the ULANZ borrowing scheme to borrow in person from any other participating Australian and New Zealand university libraries.
Want us to buy a book? Fill in the Orders Request form.