Library Guides: Musicology and Ethnomusicology: Ethnomusicology

Tips for finding articles

Online Databases:

Discovery cross-searches a large number of databases. Use the Advanced Search for the best results.
Proquest Central is similar to Discovery, searching across multiple databases.
Google Scholar is a convenient search tool but you need to set up your Google Scholar preferences to search effectively. When linked, Google Scholar will display Find It@UniMelb links next to articles that are available online.

The most relevant subject-specific databases and journals are listed below.

Online version not available? Print journals are listed in the Library Catalogue.
If you know the name of the database or journal you want, you can search directly in individual databases or journals.
Staff and students may request document delivery through interlibrary loans.

Use the BrowZine app to follow journals and get notifications on new issues and published articles.

Key Journals - Ethnomusicology

Journals are continuous publications issued regularly (daily, weekly, monthly, or quarterly), and are the standard for scholarly communication. They can be published in print, microform and electronic formats.

Our collections include many journals relevant to the study of Ethnomusicology.

The list below is in no way exhaustive, and more can be found by searching in our catalogue, or databases. For comprehensive tips on searching for journal articles, please visit the Research Essentials guide.

Ethnomusicology
A peer-reviewed journal, and official journal of the Society for Ethnomusicology, it is considered one of the premier publications in the field.
Ethnomusicology Forum
A peer-reviewed journal that publishes scholarly essays on all kinds of music, from an ethnomusicological perspective (formerly the British Journal of Ethnomusicology).
Ethnomusicology Review
A scholarly journal that contains articles on substantive ethnographic research, and reviews of recently released books, audiovisual recordings, websites, theses and dissertations on ethnomusicology.
Journal of Folklore Research
A peer-reviewed journal that contains articles of theoretical interest to folklore and ethnomusicology as international disciplines, as well as essays that address the fieldwork experience and the intellectual history of folklore and ethnomusicology studies.
MUSICultures
A peer-reviewed journal that contains scholarly articles and reviews on ethnomusicology topics in Canada and abroad.
The World of Music
A peer-reviewed journal that promotes research and study in the field of ethnomusicology.

Key Databases - Ethnomusicology

Databases aggregate content from many journal titles, and can be an excellent place to conduct your search. Databases like Google Scholar or Discovery, do not focus on a specific topic, and can return quite broad search results. The discipline specific databases listed below, will be much more likely to return relevant results for the study of Ethnomusicology.

The list below is in no way exhaustive, and more can be found by searching in our catalogue, or databases.

Anthropological Index Online
The Anthropological Index Online (AIO) is a comprehensive, user-friendly online bibliography of anthropology-related journals held in the Anthropology Library and Research Centre at the British Museum, London. Users of the AIO can also search for RAI films via keywords, directors or area of coverage. The AIO provides an indispensable service for libraries and for individual researchers, teachers and students of anthropology and archaeology throughout the world.
AnthroSource (Wiley)
AnthroSource is the online service of the American Anthropological Association (AAA) which offers access to more than 100 years of anthropological knowledge. AnthroSource contains content from AAA's diverse portfolio of anthropological journals.
Music Index (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Formerly The Music Index Online by Harmonie Park Press, this database provides comprehensive coverage of the music field and every aspect of the classical and popular worlds of music. With coverage commencing from 1970 to the present, the Music Index contains cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts of articles about music, musicians and the music industry for more than 490 periodicals. It also provides selective coverage for more than 200 periodicals.
Music Periodicals Database (ProQuest)
This database provides indexing and abstracts for several hundred international music periodicals from over 20 countries, plus full text for more than 140 of the indexed journals. The database currently includes over 770,000 records, the majority from the most recent ten years of publication.
Oxford Music Online (Oxford University Press)
Oxford Music Online is a gateway offering users the ability to search multiple music reference resources in one location. With Grove Music Online as its cornerstone offering comprehensive coverage of music, musicians, music-making, and music scholarship. It includes updated versions of previous Grove publications as well as hundreds of articles commissioned specifically for the online edition. In addition, users can search and access the Oxford Reference titles: Oxford Companion to Music and The Oxford Dictionary of Music
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature (EBSCOhost)
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature is a comprehensive bibliography featuring citations, abstracts and subject indexing of content from the early 1800s through to the present. The database includes coverage of relevant articles from more than 10,000 journals, many of which are not specifically devoted to music, as well as music-related articles published in conference proceedings; articles in Festschriften celebrating music scholars; and articles in anniversary volumes published in honor of musicians, composers and institutions dating back to the 18th century. Updated monthly.
Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries This link opens in a new window
Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries includes the published recordings owned by the non-profit Smithsonian Folkways Recordings label and the archival audio collections of the legendary Folkways Records, Cook, Dyer-Bennet, Fast Folk, Monitor, Paredon and other labels. It also includes music recorded around the African continent by Dr. Hugh Tracey for the International Library of African Music (ILAM) at Rhodes University as well as material collected by recordists on the South Asian subcontinent from the Archive Research Centre for Ethnomusicology (ARCE), sponsored by the American Institute for Indian Studies.
Bloomsbury Popular Music
From acid house to zydeco, and from Acapulco to Zanzibar, Bloomsbury Popular Music provides scholarly coverage of modern popular music worldwide, covering the mid-20th century to the present day. It is an ideal resource for students and academics across disciplines including music, ethnomusicology, the performing arts, media and communication, cultural studies, anthropology and sociology.
Sound Studies Library
Sound Studies digital resource provides students and researchers with wide ranging, cross-cultural, and interdisciplinary scholarly content in the study of sound. Subject areas covered include art, aesthetics, architecture, contemporary music, history, philosophy, technology, and cultural studies and the growing literature of sonic and auditory theory, methodology, and practice.