Skip to Main Content

Screen and Cultural Studies

Your guide to Screen and Cultural Studies resources at the University of Melbourne Library.

Introduction

This subject guide highlights some key discipline resources to get you started with study and research. 

Reference sources

Encyclopedias

Directories

Books

You can access print and eBooks via the Library Catalogue. To find books on a particular subject, try a keyword search:

 

 

 

To improve your searching skills, see the Research Essentials Library Guide. Note that you can search the catalogue in non-Latin scripts (including Arabic, Chinese, Hebrew, Japanese and Korean). 

For information on access and loans, including material from other libraries, see the borrowing from the library page. The eBook Guide provides information on eBook access.

Databases and journals

Use databases to search across many academic resources (including peer-reviewed journals) at the same time. 

Refer to the A-Z Ejournals and Databases page for a comprehensive list of available resources. 

Core Arts and Humanities databases:

The selection of multidisciplinary databases below will retrieve results from different subject areas. 

Databases relevant to Screen and Cultural Studies

For more focused results, try searching in one of these subject-specific databases.

Archives

Video streaming & DVDs

Finding films

To search for individual film titles, look up the film in the Library catalogue using the "Online Video" option.

If it is a film with a common title, try a Keyword search using the title and director.

e.g. Keyword:  fly AND Cronenberg

To see which films the library holds by a particular director, look up the director's name as an author.

You can also access database collections of videos. The following links will take you to each video streaming database:

  • Internet Archive : Moving Image Archive
    This library contains digital movies uploaded by Archive users which range from classic full-length films, to daily alternative news broadcasts, to cartoons and concerts.
  • UbuWeb
    Large educational resource of avant-garde material in the fields of visual, concrete and sound poetry. It also includes film and sound archives.

Archive & museum film collections

DVDs in the University of Melbourne Library

The easiest way to find DVDs/Videos in the Library Catalogue is to do a keyword search using the "DVD Collections" option. You can also search using title, author or subject. 

Film reviews

 

Find more sources for film reviews in the News and Newspapers guide:

Theses

Websites

You can find relevant information and resources for your research on the websites of professional organisations and bodies, institutes, NGOs, government departments, etc.

This guide gives a few suggestions to get you started and to give you an idea what to look for. It is by no means comprehensive. If you are a coursework student, check your LMS to see if your lecturer has provided website recommendations.

Tip: if you want to limit your Google search results to organisational, governmental, or educational websites, use Google's advanced search option to limit the site or domains to .org, .gov, .edu

Referencing and citing

Contact us