Library Guides: Chinese (PRC) &amp; Hong Kong Law: Introduction

Country information

The following resources provide information about China's history, politics and government, geography, demographics and economy.

The Ricci Dictionary of Chinese Law Online
A trilingual dictionary of legal terminology in Chinese, English and French.

Chinese Legal Research by Paul Kossof
Call Number: Law KL 155 C54 KOSS
Publication Date: Carolina Academic Press, 2014

China ABC
The China ABC section of the English part of the The State Council of the People's Republic of China website contains information on the Supreme People's Court, the legislative and legal systems, the government, and Ministry documents.
Chinese Legal System
LawInfoChina provides a detailed overview in English of the Chinese Legal System (open access).
The Foreign Law Guide
A useful overview and history of the Chinese legal system, and information for doing Chinese legal research (UniMelb staff & student access).
Juriglobe
Further information on the mix of civil and traditional laws.
China Trade Monitor
China Trade Monitor is a news reporting and analysis service that goes beyond the headlines to provide comprehensive in-depth coverage of China-related trade issues.The goal of China Trade Monitor is to provide an objective source of information about the wide range of issues related to trade, investment, and economic relations with China more broadly.
more...less...
China Trade Monitor covers traditional trade policy issues, “trade and …” issues, and issues that have implications for trade, such as national security, human rights and competition policy/antitrust.Please note: to access this database, email support@chinatrademonitor.com to register with your name and unimelb email address.

World Justice Project
Check the latest available Rule of Law Index for the Country Profile for China.

See Thomas E Kellogg, 'Rule of law in Asia: The Case of China' (Chapter 29).

Corporate Counsel's Guide to Doing Business in China
(UniMelb staff & student access) This work aims to provide guidance on entering the Chinese market. It provides laws and regulations of the Chinese marketplace, and is updated annually.
International Comparative Legal Guides - China
(Open Access) Describes the law in 41 practice areas relevant to doing business in China - including employment law, tax, cartels, arbitration, finance and dispute resolution.
Lex Mundi's Guide to Doing Business in China
(Open Access) Lex Mundi Guides to Doing Business
provide up to date general information about legal and business infrastructures in jurisdictions around the world. Lex Mundi is a network of independent law firms.
Lexology
Lexology covers over 80 practice areas spanning competition & regulatory, dispute resolution & litigation, tax, white collar crime, IP, corporate, commercial, banking & finance, infrastructure & transport, energy & natural resources, insurance and compliance.
The State Council of the People's Republic of China - Doing Business
(Open access)