Library Guides: Chinese (PRC) and Hong Kong Law: Introduction

Country information

The following resources provide information about China's history, politics and government, geography, demographics and economy.

A Brief Introduction to China
A Brief Introduction to China from LawInfoChina provides a summary of the history of China from the earliest times to the modern period, including the a summary of the structure of the government, and the sources of law.
CIA - The World Factbook China
Information about China including geography, history, economy, military, and transnational issues.
US Department of State Background Notes - China
Australia Department of Foreign Affairs & Trade - country brief - China
Includes country & trade information, travel information, and China's relationship with Australia
The State Council of The People's Republic of China
Provides links to pages with information about the National People's Congress, the Presidency, details about Central and Local leadership, and various government bodies at both a national and municipal level. Also provides general information relating to business and economics, culture, demographics, the environment, and transportation in China.
Chinese Studies and Language

The Ricci Dictionary of Chinese Law Online
A trilingual dictionary of legal terminology in Chinese, English and French.

Chinese Legal Research by Paul Kossof
Call Number: Law KL 155 C54 KOSS

Publication Date: 2014

China ABC
The China ABC section of the English part of the The State Council of the People's Republic of China website contains information on the Supreme People's Court, the legislative and legal systems, the government, and Ministry documents.
Chinese Legal System
LawInfoChina provides a detailed overview in English of the Chinese Legal System (open access).
Foreign Law Guide (Brill)
The Foreign Law Guide is a database that contains information on over 170 jurisdiction and includes citations and links (where possible) to publications such as major codes, official gazettes, compilations or official codifications, session laws, and court reports. You can browse laws by country and by subject across jurisdictions.
Juriglobe
Further information on the mix of civil and traditional laws.

World Justice Project
Check the latest available Rule of Law Index for the Country Profile for China.

See Thomas E Kellogg, 'Rule of law in Asia: The Case of China' (Chapter 29).

Corporate Counsel's Guide to Doing Business in China
This work aims to provide guidance on entering the Chinese market. It provides laws and regulations of the Chinese marketplace, and is updated annually.
International Comparative Legal Guides - China
Describes the law in 41 practice areas relevant to doing business in China - including employment law, tax, cartels, arbitration, finance and dispute resolution.
Lex Mundi's Guide to Doing Business in China
Lex Mundi Guides to Doing Business provides up to date general information about legal and business infrastructures in jurisdictions around the world. Lex Mundi is a network of independent law firms.
Lexology
Lexology is the number one global legal intelligence platform for mitigating risk, staying abreast of change, and finding expert counsel, built on insights, forward-looking analysis, and expert guidance from the world’s leading law firms.
The State Council of the People's Republic of China - Doing Business