Library Guides: Secondary Sources for Law: Dictionaries, Encyclopaedias...

Dictionaries, Encyclopaedias and Bibliographies

Legal dictionaries

Legal dictionaries are used to find the meaning of a word or phrase.The authoritative, and often detailed, definitions help to place terms in their legal context. Dictionaries also often cite key cases and legislation which define terms. It is useful to take note of these additional terms, as you may be able to use them in your research as search terms to find relevant journal articles or books.

Australian Law Dictionary Online
Via Oxford (UniMelb Staff and Students) - A key reference for those who need familiarity with, and knowledge of, Australian legal terms most commonly encountered when studying law and in the profession.

Australian Legal Words and Phrases
via Lexis + Australia (UniMelb staff & students) - Provides over 100,000 words and phrases defined in legislation or judicially interpreted in the Australian superior courts and selected tribunals.
Encyclopaedic Australian Legal Dictionary
via Lexis + Australia (UniMelb staff & students) - Lexis's Australian Legal dictionary, with over 25,000 definitions covering all areas of the law. Includes legislation and case references for many defined terms.

Legal encyclopaedias

Legal encyclopaedias provide succinct summaries on legal topics. Each topic is written by an expert and regularly reviewed so the information is relevant and accurate to current law. They are arranged by subject and include citations to legislation and case law.

Halsbury's Laws of Australia
via Lexis + Australia (UniMelb staff & students) - Large online encyclopaedia covering a wide variety of Australian legal subjects. The 89 titles cover both mainstream and more specific subject areas. Commentary on the law includes references to Australian legislative and judicial authority.
The Laws of Australia
via Westlaw AU (UniMelb staff & students) - Large online encyclopaedia covering a wide variety of Australian legal principles. Covers 320+ topics and every Australian jurisdiction. Commentary on the law includes references to Australian legislative and judicial authority.

Legal bibliographies

A legal bibliography contains key books, journals, journal articles, case law and legislation on a topic. They are a useful reference tool to locate relevant information on your area of law.

Oxford Bibliographies Online
Oxford Bibliographies Online helps researchers and students find reliable sources of information to aid their research from within the enormous amount of print and online material available to them.
The Library has access to selected modules only: African studies, Atlantic history, Art history, Biblical studies, Childhood studies, Classics, Criminology, Education, International law, International relations, Islamic studies, Jewish studies, Linguistics, Management, Music, Philosophy, Political science, Psychology, Renaissance and reformation, Sociology.

For more information about looseleaf dictionaries & encyclopaedias for the subject area you are interested in, the Research Guides for each topic or jurisdiction will include essential commentary services. Alternatively, check the Research Databases by Type (Reference & Encyclopaedias section) for key Australian, Foreign and International database links.