Library Guides: Ebooks: Ebooks by subject area

The Library has well over half a million eBooks which you can access anywhere you have an internet connection. Use the lists below to jumpstart your search for eBook titles recommended for your subject area.

Cambridge Core Books publishes a wide range of research monographs, academic reference, textbooks, books for professionals, and large numbers of books aimed at graduate students. There are thousands of ebooks available across a wide range of disciplines in Humanities and Social Sciences
Oxford Scholarship Online is a vast and rapidly expanding cross-searchable library which offers quick and easy access to the full text of Oxford University Press ebooks in disciplines such as Business and management; Economics and finance; Law; Philosophy; Political science; Public health and epidemiology.
JSTOR is a digital library of thousands of academic journals, books, and primary sources from a wide range academic disciplines, including core areas such as business & economics, social sciences, education, history, language & literature and science. Current journals are linked and cross-searchable with archival journals and ebooks on JSTOR.
Taylor & Francis Ebooks - Provides DRM-free e-book access for students and researchers working in the humanities, social and behavioural sciences, education, built environment, and law.

JSTOR is a growing digital library covering academic disciplines, including business & economics, education, history, and language & literature and science. Current journals are linked and cross-searchable with archival journals and ebooks on .
Oxford Scholarship Online is a vast and rapidly expanding cross-searchable library which offers quick and easy access to ebooks in Business and management; Economics and finance; Law; Philosophy; Political science; Public health and epidemiology.
Cambridge Core Books publishes a wide range of research monographs, academic reference, textbooks, books for professionals, and graduate students. There are thousands of ebooks available across a wide range of disciplines including law, politics, history, language and literature, mathematics and astronomy
Taylor & Francis Ebooks provides DRM-free e-book access for students and researchers working in the humanities, social and behavioural sciences, education, built environment, and law. .
Peter Lang eBooks The Peter Lang Academic Publishing Group specializes in the humanities and social sciences, covering disciplines include acres the Humanities, Arts and Social Sciences.
ProQuest Ebook Central provides access to thousands of e-books from trusted publishers in all academic subject areas.
SpringerLink Books contains journals, books, series, protocols and reference works all aimed at supporting the research and academic community across all disciplines.
Wiley Online Library Books is a collection of online resources covering life, health, and physical sciences as well as social science and the humanities.
eBook Collection (EBSCO) offers a selection of scholarly, frontlist and award-winning eBook titles from leading publishers. These titles cover a broad range of academic subject matter and topics.
Project MUSE Book Collection offers peer-reviewed books from over 65 university presses and scholarly publishers. Over 550 humanities and social science books from several distinguished university presses are available as fully open access (OA).

ProQuest Ebook Central provides access to thousands of e-books from trusted publishers in all academic subject areas.
Cambridge Core Books publishes a wide range of research monographs, academic reference, textbooks, books for professionals, and graduate students. There are thousands of ebooks available across a wide range of disciplines including law, politics, history, language and literature, mathematics and astronomy with hundreds of new titles added each year
Oxford Scholarship Online is a vast and rapidly expanding cross-searchable library which offers quick and easy access to the full text ebooks in disciplines such as Business and management; Economics and finance; Law; Philosophy; Political science; Public health and epidemiology.
SpringerLink Books contains journals, books, series, protocols and reference works all aimed at supporting the research and academic community across all disciplines.

ProQuest Ebook Central provides access to thousands of e-books from trusted publishers in all academic subject areas.

SpringerLink Books contains journals, books, series, protocols and reference works all aimed at supporting the research and academic community across all disciplines.

eBook Collection (EBSCO) offers a selection of scholarly, frontlist and award-winning eBook titles from leading publishers. The Library has access to selected titles, as well as the thousands of public domain titles that are included in the database.
Project MUSE Book Collection offers peer-reviewed books from over 65 university presses and scholarly publishers.Over 550 humanities and social science books from several distinguished university presses are available as fully open access (OA).
ProQuest Ebook Central provides access to thousands of e-books from trusted publishers in all academic subject areas
Cambridge Core Books publishes a wide range of research monographs, academic reference, textbooks, books for professionals, and graduate students. There are thousands of ebooks available across a wide range of disciplines including law, politics, history, language and literature, mathematics and astronomy
Wiley Online Library Books - is a collection of online resources covering life, health, and physical sciences as well as social science and the humanities.
SpringerLink Books contains journals, books, series, protocols and reference works all aimed at supporting the research and academic community across all disciplines.
JSTOR is a growing digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources in core areas such as business & economics, education, history, and language & literature and science.
Taylor & Francis Ebooks Provides DRM-free e-book access for students and researchers working in the humanities, social and behavioural sciences, education, built environment, and law, to well-known imprints including Routledge, Psychology Press, Focal Press, Earthscan, Eye on Education, Longman, Heinemann, Acumen, and Ashgate.
Oxford Scholarship Online is a vast and rapidly expanding cross-searchable library which offers quick and easy access to the full text of ebooks in disciplines such as Business and management; Economics and finance; Law; Philosophy; Political science; Public health and epidemiology.
Peter Lang eBooks - The Peter Lang Academic Publishing Group specializes in the humanities and social sciences, covering the complete publication spectrum from monographs to student textbooks in disciplines spanning the Humanities, Arts and Social Sciences.
Bloomsbury Collections Ebooks offer online access to scholarly books across the humanities and social sciences, including Law. The Hart Publishing collection includes titles covering a range of legal topics, such as European law, criminal law, legal history, contract law, legal philosophy and human rights.

Cambridge Core Books publishes a wide range of research monographs, academic reference, textbooks, books for professionals, and graduate students in disciplines including law, politics, history, language and literature, mathematics and astronomy with hundreds of new titles added each year
Edward Elgar Publishing Books is a leading international publisher of academic books and journals in economics, finance, business and management, law, environment, public and social policy.
Oxford Scholarship Online is a vast and rapidly expanding cross-searchable library which offers quick and easy access to the full text ebooks in disciplines such as Business and management; Economics and finance; Law; Philosophy; Political science; Public health and epidemiology.
Brill Online Books is a publishing house with a rich history and a strong international focus. Brill’s publications focus on the Humanities and Social Sciences, International Law and selected areas in the Sciences.
The Library has access to the Human rights and humanitarian law collection, the International law collection, and other selected titles.
ProQuest Ebook Central provides access to thousands of e-books from trusted publishers in all academic subject areas.
Bloomsbury Collections Ebooks offer online access to scholarly books across the humanities and social sciences, including Law. The Hart Publishing collection includes titles covering a range of legal topics, such as European law, criminal law, legal history, contract law, legal philosophy and human rights.

ClinicalKey (Elsevier) is a database designed specifically to address physicians’ key search requirements and deliver answers that are more relevant than those provided by conventional clinical search engines. The database also has more than 20 million MEDLINE abstracts, which are updated daily.
Books@Ovid - Over 200 scientific and medical ebooks. Subjects covered include behavioural & social sciences, clinical medicine, health professions, life & biomedical sciences, nursing, patient education, pharmacology and chemistry.
McGraw-Hill eBook Library - contains a range of titles published by McGraw-Hill Education. The Library has access to selected Medical collections only.

SpringerLink Books
SpringerLink contains journals, books, series, protocols and reference works all aimed at supporting the research and academic community across all disciplines. The Palgrave Connect ebook collections were integrated into the Springer eBook collections during 2016.
SpringerReference offers living editions of Springer's eReferences well in advance of their print editions. This collection covers a broad range of subjects including Biomedical and life sciences, Chemistry and material science, Computer science, Earth and environmental science, Engineering, and Mathematics and statistics.
Knovel
Knovel offers an unmatched depth and breadth of validated engineering content, selected from the most trusted sources and delivered to engineers quickly and with extreme precision. Knovel's comprehensive content collection includes material properties, process and design information, best practices, equations and formulations for specific industries and engineering disciplines. Knovel’s content includes over 4,000 leading reference works and databases from more than 100 leading technical publishers and professional societies including AIAA, AIChE, ASHRAE, ASM, ASME, DIPPR and NACE.
AccessEngineering (McGraw Hill) is an engineering reference tool for professionals, academics, and students which provides access to critical, regularly updated engineering reference information.
CAB eBooks
CAB eBooks provides a unique opportunity to access CABI’s prestigious titles in an easy-to-use format. Books are indexed and retrievable as chapters, ensuring that a search of available titles will render the most relevant results. CABI publish ebooks in Agriculture, Animal and veterinary sciences, Environmental sciences, Human health food and nutrition, Leisure and tourism, and Plant sciences.
Safari Books Online (ProQuest)

O'Reilly Safari Books Online features a curated library of over 30,000 technical books - including titles from Pearson, O’Reilly Media, and more - organized by the most popular subjects, from web development and mobile apps to entrepreneurship and UX/IA. The database also contains over 4,000 videos, as well as interactive tutorials, case studies, learning paths and audio books.
IEEE-Wiley eBooks Library - a partnership between IEEE and Wiley & Sons, Inc. - includes practical handbooks, introductory and advanced texts, reference works, and professional books with an emphasis on leading areas of research.

CAB eBooks: Ebooks covering literature in the fields of animal health, agriculture, human health and nutrition, and management and conservation of natural resources.
EBL contains popular, professional and academic ebooks from the world's leading publishers.
Books@OVID: provides access to electronic books available on the Ovid database search platform.
Wiley Online Library Books: Link to subscribed ebooks and journals. Browse by publication or subject.
ScienceDirect Books: Browse by title or subject e.g. Veterinary Medicine/Veterinary Science to access subscribed ebooks.
CSIRO Publishing eBooks: Topics covered include plant and animal sciences, farming, urban development and environmental management.
SpringerLink Books contains journals, books, series, protocols and reference works all aimed at supporting the research and academic community across all disciplines. The Palgrave Connect ebook collections were integrated into the Springer eBook collections during 2016.
Taylor & Francis Ebooks provides DRM-free e-book access to a selection of titles and chapters on equine, small animal and exotic animal medicine. Browse by subject and select Veterinary Medicine.

More ebook options

If you are looking for subject-specific recommendations for ebooks, see our Library Guides for more detailed guidance.

Library guides by subject area